We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just like Italy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria

Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria
Ranked #15 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Just like Italy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My son who lives near this little spot knew how much his Mom likes real Italian style pizza so he treated us last night for Morher's Day. Didn't care for the appetizer sampler we ordered (still don't know what it was), but the salads , pizza and Chianti were excellent. Other than being a bit overwhelmed by arugula on the salad and one of our pizzas, the place was we worth the trip. Four of us split the appetizer sampler, two full size salads, three pizzas, and a bottle of the house Chianti and all left satisfied and full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    60
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I went to this place over the weekend and the food was outstanding. I ordered the meatball panini and it was truly amazing. The sauce on the sandwich had slightly smokey flavor and the bread was crispy and chewy and the same time. I think they use some type of basil oil on it and it was amazing! I also tried the pizza which I loved! $10 off a bottle of wine if you order 2 pizzas.....what could be better? :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfreder96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crowded and Crazy on the weekends but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I made the mistake of visiting this place on a Saturday. It was insanely crowded, ordering at the counter was a circus. Good thing their pizza is outstanding. They have great pizza combinations and ingredients taste fresh and delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BPandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Soggy Pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The pizza has a nice char and the toppings were fine but it is a limp soggy mess when you try to pick it un. We had two different pizzas and they wer both the same. Also if you don't mind waiting in line to place your order, then jocky for an open table then bring your receipt to the bar and wait in another line to get your drinks then go here. I found the whole process annoying and to top it off the pizza was sub standard. Also there are VERY FEW parking spaces.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IggyandTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved the prosciutto and arugula pizza. Crisp crust with great flavor. Got there 6:30 on Fri evening and it was 20 minutes to get pizza, but no problem finding a table.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbt4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria also viewed

 

Been to Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing