We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great, consistent food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyon Hall

Lyon Hall
Reserve with OpenTable
Lyon Hall is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 836 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, French, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Near Clarendon Metro on Orange Line
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, consistent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Lyon Hall is always a favorite to take out of towers to. You can eat in it out and pub style to more formal if you choose. The menu has charcuterie and cheese as well as the full run of seafood to steak. It offers all of this and keeps a primarily European feel to the dishes. Great atmosphere too. Good for dates or business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    93
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very good brunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family wanted a lazy brunch and Lyon Hall was a very good experience. The food was superb; the nicoise salad was quality all the way and the eggs benedict was high cuisine but hearty. We had bloody mary(s) and mimosas, and in general all our troubles were swept away. We had kids with us and it didn't seem to be problem at all. Everyone was catered to, and the waiter got everything we needed and struck the correct balance of service. He was never obtrusive, but we never had to raise a hand. All in all, the staff, including the manager, was very nice.

If I had to point out a negative, it is the noise. We had a fellow next to us who gassed on about "big data" until we had to move, and it is like an echo chamber. Don't let this stop you, though, after we moved tables everything was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VicBrennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hip Hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Been to Lyon Hall multiple times for lunch and dinner. Food is great but some what of a short menu. Great for lunch, but its a popular hangout for happy hour (with many outstanding beers on tap) which creates a packed restaurant for dinner.

This is a great casual restaurant to hangout for a good meal and brew.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmanhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Dear Lyon Hall, I am so sorry I did not look hip enough or trendy enough. Maybe it was my children (ages 14 and 11) who were too well-behaved? Maybe we weren't dressed exactly right? I am really at a loss why we were ignored and scowled at during our lunch in your nearly-empty space. Even though our group of 6 obviously wanted to spend a ton of money, you treated us like we did not exist. I would be more forgiving if the food were better - the portions are generous but average. My daughter's steak was inedible. Not that we could stop you to tell you that - it literally looked like you were running past our table with your ears closed. And the kicker was the ice cream that came with the kid's meal - that never showed up. The spoons showed up. No ice cream. After waiting about 10 minutes we walked out and you didn't even notice. Next time I will pick a different place to spend my money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilene80111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific, affordable brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My go-to brunch in Arlington now: $9-13, diverse menu, delicious and creative. The omelettes and eggs benedict are incredible, and OH MY, the brussels sprouts! Really top-notch drinks too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlrBear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Hall also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing