We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive and Scary”
Review of Pentagon Memorial

Pentagon Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #5 of 102 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Forsyth
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressive and Scary”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was not hard to be impressed by the Pentagon itself. We did not expect it to be so huge. We were on a tour bus and told about the 9/11 day and the memorial. It brought back the details and how scared we all were when it happened. To really see the area and how it happened brought tears and pride too in the U.S. and how simple and beautiful way to remember the people there. The bus we were on could not go into the area but we were shown it from the outside and later drove back. All the memorials in the area remind us of so much that has happened and our driver from Columbia had such respect and knowledge of this and all of our history. He is a proud citizen and so are we .....But do be careful if you are driving there because it is very secure and if it says do not enter...Don't...as we saw a car try to go in and was surrounded very quickly......

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    278
    94
    23
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Keansburg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was truly a beautiful memorial however it could be better if there was a description as to the meanings of the individual names/monuments listed for each victim. I did not understand the direction of the "wings" until I read another's review here. Please be aware that if you go to this sight from the Metro that you still have a walk of about a mile to get to the sight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Memorial of reflection”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Memorial is designed so that the nation may remember and reflect on the events that occurred on September 11, 2001. Quite a sad memorial, however a very nice and moving tribute to those who lost their lives in this horrendous terrorist attack.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tricky to find if driving”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was a bit tricky to get to memorial, don't rely on your GPS directions. Where parking is permitted and where it is not is also rather confusing. The memorial is mysterious and if you don't read about it before you go, you may miss some of the details. There wasn't anyone there to answer questions or give directions. There are signs indicating no photography all around the site but not at the site itself. Now reading what others have written, it appears that you can photograph the memorial itself but not the Pentagon building. It is a worthwhile quick stop if you are in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad Memorial”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was very sad to see, especially as the first victim encountered was a small child!! It was very unusual - I've not seen anything similar before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pentagon Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Pentagon Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing