We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sad Memorial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pentagon Memorial

Pentagon Memorial
Book In Advance
$50*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Ranked #5 of 85 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad Memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was very sad to see, especially as the first victim encountered was a small child!! It was very unusual - I've not seen anything similar before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    239
    80
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poignant memorial but could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were here unescorted and really needed a guide to explain some of the intricacies of what is being commemorated and how.
We stood and looked at the memorial and think we worked out the significance of some bits but it would have been nice to have someone explain stuff. The absence of written explanations, for example, I think makes this a bit of a missed opportunity. We were left to guess where the plane hit. It would have Ben good to have more info about the circumstances on the plane and on the ground.
It was scorching hot and perhaps consequentially pretty deserted. The drinking water supply was badly needed. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank naab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The pride that the soldier takes in protecting this memorial and knowing all the names of those who were killed on 9/11 is an amazing tribute. The soldier tells how the book of names came about and a little piece of knowledge on each person. You really feel the overwhelming sense of loss there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pentagon Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A visit here is definitely worthwhile!!! A beautiful memorial that will bring you to silence and maybe tears! Do not miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kansas534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
287 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A must see and experience the feelings when you realize the sacrifices and losses of the 9/11 attack.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pentagon Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Pentagon Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing