We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbus
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I came here for a conference and I usually only stay at Hyatts but I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. There is a free shuttle to and from Reagan airport which is a 5-10 minute drive (depending on the stops). The lobby is very chic and modern with Mac computers available for guests to use. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and addressed any need I had immediately. The rooms are immaculate very clean and comfortable. I loved the decor in the rooms and honestly could have had it as an apartment. They use Aveda products which are available for you to use in your rooms. Top notch! The wi-fi was a bit pricey $12.95 per day but may I suggest that there is a discounted rate for guests who purchase more than one day instead of paying each day. Now to the food...AMAZING! Every meal I had from room service to conference meals and buffets all of the food tasted extremely good and they offered a wide selection. I will definitely consider staying at more Marriotts in the future. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Olympia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although you were here with us to attend a convention, I am delighted to know that we were able to impress you enough that you will consider the Marriott brand for future stays. I'm sure our culinary staff will enjoy reading your comments about the food that was served during your stay. We have an amazing team that never ceases to entice the palate! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    233
    54
    22
    18
See reviews for
145
125
41
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dauphin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

A very nice hotel , new , close to Reagan National airport. Very accomodating staff , good gym facikity, excellent conference site. bicycles are provided for guests to toyr the National monuments. Restaurant offers good food. Can be a bit pricy but offers specials on Booking.com

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenorZeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I'm glad you liked the location of the hotel and the service provided by our staff at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We certainly enjoyed reading your comments with our staff and we appreciate your business. Please think of us the next time your plans bring you to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Shuttle takes you right to the metro station, great restaurants on 23 rd- walk or shuttle there - the staff is VERY nice too ! Can't really see the Capitol though ! The little coffee place in the lobby is great and I had an exceptional stake dinner in their cafe at 11:00 p.m.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel. Our location is ideal for travelers who want to be close to DC without being in the middle of the city. We have so many amenities that our guests enjoy and, as you already know, the food in our SOCCi restaurant is fabulous. Please think of us for another stay the next time you're planning a trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

DH and I were invited to a function at The White House and booked a vacation package through Jet Blue. We choose The Renaissance - Capital View, which offered free shuttle service not only from the airport but also for the Crystal City area. Marriott has a number of properties in Crystal City so there was no wait for the shuttle from the airport. The Renaissance shares a parcel of land with the Marriott Residence Inn, separate facilities, but the hotels are next to each other. The hotel is immaculate, done in a modern, soothing motif which frazzled business types search out. The lobby is comprised of conversation groupings, comfortably seating from two to eight people. There are also a row of single chairs, which encompass you in a shell of privacy. Great for enjoying an expresso from the cafe and finishing your e-mails. Wi-fi is free in the lobby, plus there are four computers for guest use. The lobby morphs into the bar and restaurant, SOCCi. The food is very good. So good that we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. The turkey BLT was the best we have ever tasted! Freshly carved turkey, white and dark meat, not in uniform slices but home cut, perhaps even pulled off the bird. It felt like Thanksgiving! The Mercato Salad, porchetta sandwich and Parmesan and meatball soup should not be missed.
The room was comfortable, with a stuffed chair and ottoman to relax and view the sites. However, don't expect to see the Capital. We have a great view of an EPA building, ( so close, make sure you close the blinds). The hotel is near the airport and train tracks. We love trains so didn't mind watching commuter, Amtrak and CXS ones roll by. However it was soundproof so you were not disturb. The shower was not the typical bathtub/shower combo. But a walk in shower! Thanks, Marriott for realizing guest over three and under eighty don't take baths.
But what makes a hotel is the personnel. From check in to check out, we were always met with a smile and a can do spirit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I truly appreciate all of the wonderful comments you made about our hotel. Thank you so much for mentioning all of the delicious offerings available at our SOCCi restaurant. The turkey BLT is my favorite, too. Your description of our lobby is exactly what we want our guests to experience. Whether it's a small, intimate seating area for enjoying some quiet time or a place to gather with friends over a cocktail, our lobby has a place for you. The guest rooms are nicely appointed to help you relax and unwind and most importantly...rest. We hope you will remember us for another stay the next time you're in the area. I'm sure anyone reading your review will want to come and experience a Renaissance stay for themselves. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently reserved three rooms at the Renaissance Arlington and chose se hotel due to the complimentary shuttle service from DCA. The staff was professional and attentive, we were able to check in as early as 10:00 A.M. and my special requests (even though they were many) were honored. On Saturday night the pool was invaded with kids so we were unable to utilize it, however the facilities were modern and very clean.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I'm so glad you decided to give us a try! We are always striving to deliver a stay that meets the expectations of our guests and I'm glad we were able to do so while you were here. Please don't hesitate to come back to see us the next time you're looking for a place to stay in the DC area. Thank you for submittng your review. I appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Vermont, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I wasn't in a room with a view of the capitol building but I could see the Capital city. This hotel is clean and modern. Shuttle to/from DCA and metro runs every 20 minutes most of the day. Staff is friendly and helpful. There aren't a lot of attractions immediately surrounding the hotel but the shuttle will get you into the thick of things.
fitness room is larger than most, with a good selection of machines and 24 hour availability. I'm a Hilton diamond member so usually stay in that chain but Marriott is my second choice and this one is the equal of any Marriott.
Meeting rooms/conference center were well laid out and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I'm so glad you chose to stay with us, but would love to know what it would take to make our hotel, and the Marriott brand, your first choice. Please don't hesitate to come stay with us again the next time you're in the area and give us another chance to win you over for good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nts. From the moment we walked in I was impressed. This hotel has a super swanky boutique feel. You walk into the hotel and you are greeted with free internet access. The hotel restaurant has great food! The morning buffet is $18 pp free for kids. The bacon was the best!!! The rooms were great with plenty of extra towels. A short 10-15 trip to all of the attractions. Only downfall is the pool is so small. We loved this hotel and we will definitely stay here again. Literally across the street from Reagan Airport.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imtherunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps the next time you come, you'll be able to take one of our complimentary bicycles out for a ride. There is a fantastic trail nearby and it would be another way you can take in the sights. Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
1,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing