We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Flawless stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Just a perfect stay from arrival to departure. Only one night, but staff and facility are top notch. Very convenient to DCA. Lots of restaurants just a short walk away. We valet parked as it was just a few bucks more than self park. Concierge Lounge is very good if you are a gold or platinum elite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m88shuttleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for letting us serve you with a "flawless night" at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. Perhaps you will be able to visit again and stay a little bit longer so you can check out our Fitness Center or relax and enjoy the great entertainment that is featured every Thursday evening in the lobby lounge. We hope to see you soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    224
    53
    22
    18
See reviews for
139
123
39
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went for a conference at the Hyatt, but stayed here at the Renaissance, and was rewarded for a good decision. Room was very comfortable, with a "ottoman" included, which is a dying feature among most hotels. Was able to read my book a couple of nights with my feet up. Very modern shower vice bathtub, with glass doors and nice marble like tile. The fitness center is probably the best in industry and the main reason why I keep coming back to this hotel. Incredible amount of cardio machines and large amount of weight machines. Great workout every morning. The hotel restaurant (Socci) was fantastic. I took my co-workers out of the Hyatt each day for lunch and over to this hotel. Used the shuttle service one night for dinner. Worked great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We're so glad that a nearby confrence afforded us an opportunity to show you what a Renaissance experience is all about. Thank you for coming on over and spending some time with us and for bringing along conference companions to patronize our restaurant. We appreciate your review and I hope you will continue to recommend our hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had a room on the "capital view" side and enjoyed watching the planes at National Airport -- not to mention the Metro trains, the river, the cars on their curving roadways, the bicyclists on their paths. This was a great room for lovers of "the romance of transportation." Even we, however, should choose a high floor, because the main tracks to Norfolk run very close to the hotel and there are commuter and CSX trains going by frequently. More romantic if you're looking down at them than if you're looking out at them. My room was beautiful and well-kept.

Next time I will understand better how the free airport/Metro shuttle works. There is one loop route to the airport and another to the Metro. They go every 20 minutes. I would keep alert for shuttle arrival and departure, because on my visit they were not always announced and it was easy to miss a trip. The rides take about 10-15 minutes to their destinations, depending on traffic. The drivers are friendly and professional and drive safely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaucerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
The review of the Renaissance Arlington "Capital View" was so eloquently stated as the place for lovers of "the romance of transportation". Oddly enough, we have a number of repeat guests that request a particular room just for the type of transportation view they can get from the window. It would seem that you have already decided that the view you would prefer would be that seen from a higher floor window...looking down. I never tire of looking at the hustle and bustle of the city that's taking place just outside of the hotel and wondering where people are going to or coming from and what their story is. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Upscale design - nicer than other Renaissance places I've stayed - 5 minutes from National. Rooms are large and nicely appointed. They also have a good chef turning out really good food. Free airport shuttle is a nice touch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for making a "solid choice" by choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We appreciate your review and the compliments given on the food served in our SOCCi restaurant. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope you will extend a recommendation to family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel, clean fresh, modern decor, great amenities, gym, indoor pool, terrace with view!
The staff is excellent, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, very well trained in hospitality. Shuttle took us to metro station and pickup every 1/2 hour. Great location with a view of DC Capital especially from the Club room on the 14th floor, fun to watch all the activity of the airport and metro trains. Breakfast and happy hour was delicious, lots of variety to choose from, healthy choices, hot and cold, fully stocked with juices, water, sodas, and milk. Coffee was excellent as well, and helpful hosts to attend to any questions or needs. Lots for the kids to do as well. Illy coffee store attached to hotel has great lite fare, sandwiches, snacks, fruit, baked goods.
Would definately return again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the hotel with a view of the Capital. Room at the courner ends of buildi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very interestiing to learn the building was Leeds certified, and progressive in using environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for ringing in the New Year with us at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View! Our staff is eagerly awaiting your next visit and we appreciate that you took the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've been to a lot of meetings and been served a lot of banquet food over the years but the food here was some of the worst. Conference room was nice but lights kept going out during the meeting. Heat in hotel room didn't seem to respond to the thermostat.

Room Tip: view was great looking toward capital and airport but had to listen to Metro and airplanes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunniRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review. While we consistently receive great reviews and comments regarding the banquet food that is served at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View, it is disappointing to know that you were not satisfied with the quality. We use the freshest ingredients to make our dishes and everything is prepared by and under the guidance of our award winning Chef. I sincerely apologize if the dishes that were served while you were attending your conference were not to your liking. Our hotel and several other buildings in the area were subjected to a city-wide power outage while you were here. However, it was a brief outage and the hotel's generator quickly restored power to the building and our staff acted swiftly to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. While situations of this nature are beyond our control, we regret any disturbance caused to you and the other attendees at the meeting. Your review matters to us and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wow what an experience! I have stayed here two times now, first for business, but later returned for DC tourism with my wife. We can't wait to go back. All staff are warm and hospitable. The accommodations are modern, the rooms are bright, clean, and comfortable. We were on the airport side and I could not hear one plane. The view is amazing. There is a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. The food is delicious and the drinks are ice cold. The restaurant, SOCCi, has the best food. You must try the meatballs. I was told that the recipe was from the chef's grandmother. The fresh mozzarella is also a must. This hotel, shared with the neighboring Residence Inn and Courtyard, provides two different free shuttles to DCA (Reagan Airport) and Crystal City Metro every 15 minutes so if you want to tour DC, you do not need a car. However, some of the drivers are quite dangerous, so please speak up to the driver and management when they run stop signs and red lights. As a Marriott Gold, I was upgraded to the club floor on 14 which included a free buffet breakfast. When the club was closed, breakfast was provided in SOCCi. The SOCCi breakfast was the best I have ever had. They have well above the standard hotel breakfast buffet with custom made waffles, pancakes, and omelets and even have smoked salmon! For non-club members, the breakfast buffet will set you back about $16 per person. The pool, fitness center, and guest laundry are shared by the Residence Inn which is in the same building. Even though a lot of rooms share these facilities, they are large enough to handle everyone. The fire alarm went off during one night of our stay because of a guest [over]cooking in the Residence Inn. We came down to the lobby to wait for the all clear. We found the Renaissance GM visiting with the guests that evacuated their rooms and it was nice to meet the man behind this great hotel. He even offered a free movie for our "inconvenience"! It was no problem really, only 10 minutes of our time, but it showed us the commitment of service this hotel has. I plan to stay here when I am in the area and have already referred my coworkers to this hotel.

Room Tip: The city side is great, but I prefer the airport side to watch the planes land and take off!
See more room tips
Green Features: Participates in bed sheet and towel reuse program. CFL light bulbs in use. Plenty of natural light in room.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
WOW! What a thorough review of our hotel! We appreciate all of the great comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the dining experience at our restaurant. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Your concern for your safety while onboard our shuttles has been addressed with the shuttle drivers. The safety of our guests is of utmost importance and it is our responsibility to make sure our drivers understand and obey the driving laws at all times. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing