We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great "Vibe" in Crystal City, VA !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great "Vibe" in Crystal City, VA !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

From check-in to check-out, this business week long stay at this ultra-modern (Mon-Fri) was EXCEPTIONAL. I travel a lot in my job, so staying in "not just another business hotel" can be a treat. THIS hotel is worth the stay ! Efficient, CLEAN, and HELPFUL in all the basic things needed when one is "on the road". The gentlemen who are the bellmen out front are eager to help you EASILY get ---- a Limo, a Taxi or the FREE shuttle and SAFE shuttle to President Reagan National Airport (DCA) or the Crystal City METRO. The neighborhood is safe and some GREAT restaurants are within an easy stroll from the hotel. Around the same area, other big chain hotels are present, but I recommend staying at this Renaissance. Period. The other guests were interesting, as well.

For those of you who travel once or often to Northern Virginia and want GREAT lodging --- STAY HERE !

Room Tip: Pay for an Upgrade to have a "Capitol View"---worth every US Dollar you pay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Loves_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We're glad you like the "vibe" of the hotel and that you will continue to come back to see us when you need a place to stay in the city. We appreciate your recommendation to other TripAdvisor users and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    199
    48
    19
    17
See reviews for
133
109
36
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything was great; the service in the restaurant, registration, etc. The food was very good as well. There is a fridge in the room-which most high-end hotels don't offer. The roof-top garden is nice change of view versus concrete buildings. Reasonably-priced by DC standards. It was a delight.

Room Tip: Views are the roof-top garden or the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are proud that you have chosen us to be your favorite hotel in the DC area. Thank you for letting others know about some of the characteristics of our hotel that makes us uniquely Renaissance. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you check into this hotel in the evening, you feel like you're in a New York City boutique hotel, or even a night club that happens to have airport shuttle service. It has a very trendy feel without being pretentious. You won't think you're at a Marriott. However, when you check out in the morning, this feels much more like a regular hotel. It's like having 2 hotels in 1.

The room had a nice modern layout. The shower was terrific. I also really liked all of the counter space that comfortably held toiletries for 2 people. There was also an extra shelf under the sink to hold more items which really came in handy.

Breakfast is served in the hotel's restaurant called Socci. This is a very interesting setting where steam punk meets art deco. The buffet was very tasty. The complimentary mini-smoothie at the beginning of breakfast was a pleasant surprise and a nice way to start the meal.

In addition to the airport shuttle which runs every 20 minutes (National-Reagan airport is about 5 minutes away) this hotel also runs a shuttle to the Crystal City Shopping Center. We really enjoyed staying here and we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your "experiences" at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and that you'll be back to visit again. Your feedback is appreciated very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best hotel in the area, from my exploration -- it's updated and clean, and the staff is very attentive. Had the room service soup - fast delivery, tasted good at the late hour. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Got a room far from the elevator for most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank business_traveler008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate your business and thank you for letting others know that the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel is the choice hotel for their DC area stay. We would be grateful for a return visit should you ever come by this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel next to DCA. Bright, airy, with a great view from the upper floors. Clean rooms and comfortable beds and a good sized fitness center. Wonderful staff; Amy in the Club lounge went above and beyond after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass along your compliments to Amy. I'm sure it will make her day. Please think of us for another stay whenever you're in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Long time since I've stayed in a hotel with a totally great experience. Nice rooms - and no, the airport noise won't bother you - with enough space. EXCELLENT staff who were all kind and went out of their way to be helpful. Marriott has changed the term "concierge" to "navigator", and these folks really helped us navigate a great time. Food and bar were excellent, as well. We were there for a vacation and business conference; the conference area is one of the best I've ever been in. Altogether, a great hotel with wonderful people!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the third floor away from gym, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyforward03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for the review. Our team looks forward to hearing from our guests through TripAdvisor and they work very hard to receive comments such as the ones you have given. We understand that if we keep up the good work, our guests will keep coming back. We appreciate your business at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I attended a conference for two nights and traveled alone. The hotel was clean, safe, and the staff was extremely friendly. The parking garage has designated parking near the elevators for my hybrid car. Bathroom amenities and bathrobe were a nice touch. A hotel safe located in the room. The brief walk to nearby restaurants had plenty of options in terms of type of food and pricing. I would stay again!

Room Tip: I was on 12th floor and could still hear some sirens. Suggest an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I am pleased that your conference allowed us a chance to show you what we're all about here at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We have a tremendous team onboard, waiting to greet our guests upon arrival and eager to start them on their discovery of all things Renaissance. We are very proud of our hotel and it shows. We can't wait for your next visit with us. Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing