We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Classy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Classy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a classy hotel near the airport and near many good restaurants. I was speaking at a conference in the hotel and was given an Executive Suite by the conference organizers, which was a real treat. The suite overlooked the airport, yet was quiet, and overlooked the Potomac River with a small view of the Capitol dome in the distance. The conference facilities were excellent as was the parking. The hotel has a shuttle bus which took you, for free, to the nearest Metro stop and to the restaurant area near the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The only food I ate at the hotel were the lunches at the conference and they were all excellent. My wife highly recommends the coffee bar in the lobby.

Green Features: The hotel had really good "green" policies and recyled well.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We're so glad you were able to come and stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. It sounds like we met your expectations and I'm delighted you were able to take a little time aside from the conference to enjoy the locale. It sounds like your wife found a new coffee hangout when she comes to town! Illy's will be here waiting for you the next time you're here! Thank you for letting others know about this "gem" of a hotel in the heart of Crystal City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    180
    47
    19
    16
See reviews for
126
103
34
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This very nice upscale Marriott hotel has one of the highest charges for guest room WiFi internet use I have seen. Yet, around the corner, in the Courtyard by Marriott, guest room WiFi is complimentary. Evidently the corporate decision has been made that those who can afford the more upscale Renaissance hotel can, and will, absorb the high daily fee. Since TripAdvisor rules may not allow me to post the amount, I will only say that, at these levels, home internet access would run into the high-three figures/month. Multiply that by the number of rooms, and you quickly realize that this fee is an enormous revenue generator for the hotel. Use the lobby where access is free, and avoid this scam.

Ironically, in my travels to other countries on business, sometimes to countries one might consider third world or certainly less advanced (most recently, Greece and Brazil, for example) hotels routinely provide free WiFi, and at faster speeds than US hotels.

Outside of this irksome detail, the hotel is a very nice place to stay. My room was on the third floor on the side facing the Amtrak tracks, yet noise from trains were minimal, and nights very quiet. Hotel staff very accommodating and friendly. Within walking distance of several great eateries, and a 15-minute walk to the metro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brachiopod251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We offer the latest in WiFi to our guests because we understand how important it is for our guests to stay connected. We have found our rates are in line with other full service hotels and it is never our intention to insult our guests by charging them for this service. As you mentioned, we do offer free access in our lobby. However, to offer our guests premium service in the guestrooms, we do apply a fee. We do appreciate your business and hope you will consider us for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
317 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a really nicely decorated and new(er) hotel in the DC area. It is in Crystal City, so a little inconvenient if you don't have transportation back into the city.

There is a shuttle to Reagan national airport which runs every 20 minutes.

The hotel is very nice! Super modern design and function. Great lobby restaurant and small cafe.

I didn't get to try out the concierge lounge or fitness center but I assume it was pretty nice as well. The rooms themselves are nice, the only thing is the sliding bathroom door - just not a fan of those marriott, what's the deal?!

Would definitely stay here again, especially if the rates hover around $130 per night, great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the capital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. I'm sorry you didn't have a chance to work out in the Fitness Center or grab a bite to eat in the Concierge Lounge. Perhaps the next time you're in town, you'll have a little more time to do so. Did you know we also have free bike rentals? Now that the weather is warming up, you can get about and explore the city whenever you want. Please think of us for a future stay. We would appreciate an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was a nice, clean, wonderful place to stay. The staff was friendly and professional. While we were there, we wanted for nothing. I would tell everyone that if they are going to stay in the area, this is the place to stay!

Green Features: There was a bag in every room so that plastics could be easily recycled.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for letting others know about the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel! We ARE the place to stay in the DC area! We hope to see you back with us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. The rooms are very clean. There is a spacious parking area which you pay 24 $ a day. But if you are a picky hotel customer: no smell, no bugs, no surprises. THe sheets and towels are really clean. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We appreciate your review and your business. Thank you. Please think of us whenever you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful, new hotel when we visited Washington, D.C. last Christmas. Because I am disabled with special needs, I did extensive research to find a property that could accommodate Them. The Renaissance Arlington Capital View fit the bill perfectly. I made my reservation directly with the hotel so I could be certain it provided everything I needed and wanted. The hotel's Manager Kieran could not have been nicer or more understanding. She assured me all would be taken care of. AND IT WAS!!! From the moment we checked into this sleek, modern, "green" hotel, we were warmly welcomed and made to feel right at home. We were delighted to learn that the we had been given a corner room on an upper floor which afforded us a beautiful view of the Potomac River and parts of Washington, D.C. (beautiful at night!) Our well designed room and bathroom were spacious, immaculate and fully accessible to a someone in a wheel chair. Every detail had been carefully planned and executed. Initially, we were going to stay there for just one night, then move on to a different hotel. Those plans changed because we fell in love with the hotel and its great staff. Arrangements were made to stay there again the night before our return home. Again, we were treated with the same courtesy as before. We were welcomed by name and again all of our expectations were exceeded. We used the hotel's courtesy shuttle to take us to Reagan Airport, about 1/2 mile away. The shuttle arrived on time and everyone was so very helpful in transferring me and my chair into and out of the shuttle---not an easy task. This hotel far surpasses any other near the airport. I know this because I "did my homework" then experienced it first hand. The next time we travel to D.C., there is no doubt we'll return to the warmth and friendliness of the Renaissance Arlington Capital View.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonna2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We enjoyed sharing your review with our staff. They are elated to see that their hard work is paying off and they can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel. Thank you for choosing us for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this property while attending a conference on-site. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and relaxing. The lobby was great for hanging out and networking. The conference space was beautiful and comfortable as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celestearia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Now that you've had an opportunity to experience our hotel for business, I hope you will also consider us for a leisure stay, as well. Thank you for taking the time to let other TripAdvisor users know that they can rely on us for a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing