We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendliest staff ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance Capital View and I have to say that the staff, from front desk, to Paulette (the hostess in Socci), to the security staff are all so friendly and helpful. Always greeting us, with a smile, each time we entered. The hotel was well appointed and very modern with a nice restaurant and coffee bar. The only complaints I have are that on our third day we asked housekeeping to come back later (they knocked on the door at 9am and we did not leave the room until 10am) and they never came back. Later that evening, we asked the front desk for some coffee, splenda and half n half for our room, since we didn't get housekeeping service that day, they were not replaced and while told it would be brought to our room, it never was. Also, it was a long wait (over 30 minutes) for the shuttle to pick us up at the airport (I am finding this typical with Marriott hotels lately). Overall, it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is about a 15 minute walk to the metro station, most of which can be done through an indoor/under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nukefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and while we are pleased to be meeting your expectations with our friendly guest service, we will also heed your comments regarding our housekeeping service and will share your concerns with the staff. It is extremely important to us that we meet all of our guests expectations consistently with each and every stay. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    189
    48
    19
    16
See reviews for
132
106
35
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I picked this place because i needed a place to stay over night for an early flight from DCA. The hotel is not inexpensive (including $29 for 12 hours of valet and wifi wasn't free). But it was worth the cost in terms of cleanliness, service and convenience to DCA. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We know that you have a choice of hotels in the Crystal City area to choose from and we will continue to provide exceptional guest service to keep our guests coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. It's a modern and welcoming upscale hotel. I only stayed here one night this time around, but have stayed here before. The room was spacious and clean. Crystal City restaurants and Pentagon City Mall are a short cab ride away, or if you like to walk, a few blocks away. Highly recommended if you are able to pay its rates.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel for TripAdvisor. We appreciate the repeat business and look forward to seeing you again at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great upscale hotel at a reasonable price. We got the package with parking. Great amenities (bar, coffee shop, restaurant. We attended a wedding here. food was good tand getting in and out of DC was a breeze. Room are big with modern amenities. lots of wall plugs / respectales all around to plug in charging etc.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. we will love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Your submission to TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We take a lot of pride in how we treat our guests and are eager to share our great hotel with others. Please refer us to friends and family when they head our way. We would love to have them discover us, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was the very time I stayed in a Renaissance hotel, and I definitely wanted to stay more often since then. The hotel itself is close to DCA, and it's in next to Hyatt and a lot other hotels. In the morning you can grab a coffee at the illy place in the lobby or a Starbucks nearby. If was very safe and nice to walk in the neighborhood, compared to DC downtown. If you need to take DC Metro, there's a shuttle from/to Crystal City Metro Station.

The lobby is contemporary and I really enjoyed the ambiance of the fireplace and study-looking decoration. The rooms are perfectly clean, spacious and comfortable. Service is top notch too, especially the shuttle bus drivers. They are so helpful and kind to my family members who hardly know any English language. At a rate of $99 again I'll probably stay here again, if there's no cheap rooms near DuPont Circle or Alexandria Old Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am delighted that you had the chance to discover the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. Thank you for choosing us! We are situated in a prime location for our guests which makes it convenient for them to get to where they want to go without having to spend a lot of time doing it. Along with our own SOCCi restaurant at the hotel, the local area is chocked full of great places to dine and all just a hop, skip, and a jump from the hotel. We would be grateful for your repeat business if ever your plans bring you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Don't be alarmed by my review title. This hotel was GREAT. We really enjoyed our stay, and the hotel was clean and upscale. Loved the location, and especially loved the FREE bike loner program. We were able to bike to the capital in no time along the beautiful bikeway (ie we never had to tangle with cars on the road). But ... don't make the mistake of trying to park across the street in the parking deck. I parked there and was basically accosted by a guard for "not walking out the correct exit." The parking deck is not associated with the hotel. The deck allows parking but they get MAD if you walk out on the side facing the hotel. The incident scared me so bad that I left the garage (after paying $7 for parking there for a mere 10 minutes, 9 of which I was being yelled at by a guard who was pointing a GUN at me!) On the weekend, parking is ample on the street and I had no trouble parking for free.

Room Tip: Don't park in the deck across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGBfromRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for complimenting our hotel. I gather you had quite the scare when you parked your car across the street. Not that this explanation will make it any better, but the garage across the street happens to be located in a government agency building and the security for the building is tighter than Fort Knox. A sign of the times, I suppose. However, on this side of the street, at the Renaissance, we're aiming for relaxation, comfort and a stress-free environment. Don't get me wrong, the security of our guests is extremely important and we have our own security on the premises. However, the way we approach our guests when they exit the hotel's parking garage is a lot different than the experience you had at the garage across the street. I hope this incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

There's a lot to like about the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. This property has a modern feel to it, from the lobby area, with its set of iMac workstations for public use (there's a separate area for printing boarding passes), to the rooms that are contemporary and comfortable.

There's an illy coffeeshop just off the main lobby, and the breakfast buffet in the hotel's restaurant is excellent. The restaurant also doubles as a bar area at night, which is both efficient and well done.

There is a shuttle service to both DCA (Reagan National Airport) and the nearby Crystal City Metro station. The Metro station is walkable in good weather, but there are hotels much closer to the Metro station if that is a high priority.

Whether or not I return to this property on future visits depends on the price at the time relative to other options in the area. I like this hotel in every respect, but there are a lot of choices available in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of your experience at our hotel to TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate the feedback and your business. Although there are several hotels in the area, I hope our guest service will keep you coming back to us here at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We love our repeat guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing