We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern, Comfortable, Somewhat Convenient to Reagan National” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Modern, Comfortable, Somewhat Convenient to Reagan National”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

There's a lot to like about the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. This property has a modern feel to it, from the lobby area, with its set of iMac workstations for public use (there's a separate area for printing boarding passes), to the rooms that are contemporary and comfortable.

There's an illy coffeeshop just off the main lobby, and the breakfast buffet in the hotel's restaurant is excellent. The restaurant also doubles as a bar area at night, which is both efficient and well done.

There is a shuttle service to both DCA (Reagan National Airport) and the nearby Crystal City Metro station. The Metro station is walkable in good weather, but there are hotels much closer to the Metro station if that is a high priority.

Whether or not I return to this property on future visits depends on the price at the time relative to other options in the area. I like this hotel in every respect, but there are a lot of choices available in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of your experience at our hotel to TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate the feedback and your business. Although there are several hotels in the area, I hope our guest service will keep you coming back to us here at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We love our repeat guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    199
    48
    19
    17
See reviews for
133
109
36
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here one night during Inauguration weekend because my intent was to fly up before my mom came so i could visit friends. She ended up coming with me but we both agreed that the hotel was very nice and well-appointed. I also got a great price at a AAA rate and considering it was Inauguration weekend and I paid $89? Score!

Every person I came in contact with at this hotel was very nice and polite. I say this because not every Renaissance in the Marriott chain has people like that working there. Also, the beds are drool-worthy. I mean that by the fact that I literally wanted to stay in the bed and keep drooling because I slept so well.

The hotel is LEED certified.

They have apple computers for your use in the lobby and free wi-fi also in the lobby but it costs in the room. I really wish hotels will do away with this. This is one of the reasons they only have 4 stars and not 5. I don't understand why the cheaper hotels in the Marriott chains give you all free everything and the more expensive ones make you pay for everything. Sigh. Can't have it all I guess.

The other reason why they got 4 stars and not 5 is because the lobby was FREEZING! You couldn't really sit at the computers too long because every time someone came in the door all the freezing air came in behind it! I know they are trying to save energy and all that but this is January in DC for goodness sakes! lol

They have a shuttle to the Metro station. You could walk there but it will take you a good 15 minutes. The shuttle also picks up and drops off at DCA Airport. Self-Parking and Valet cost big bucks: Self parking is $24 and Valet is $29. So whatever works for you I guess...

I will make this hotel one of my regulars on my jaunts to DC. I will be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so glad you chose the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay over Inauguration weekend! We know there are several hotels to choose from in Crystal City and we intend to keep our guests coming back by winning them over with our wonderful guest service and the comforts our hotel has to offer. Thank you for your review. We hope you will choose us for another stay sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here during Inauguration Weekend 2013 and it was very tame considering the event. I was pleased with the maintenance of the hotel and how they accommodated the heavy crowd for the weekend.

The room was very clean and spacious. I actually stayed in a suite so I was very comfortable and the view was amazing. Whatever was needed we called and they would send someone up right away. I was also shocked to know how close to the city of DC it was. I took a cab in the city and spent $25 max from hotel. Traffic was in sane this particular weekend so it was good to know the hotel wasn't too far from city and events in the city.

Overall a very pleasant stay and will definitely consider it as a DC (although it's in VA) option in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkigfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for mentioning that we would be a DC option the next time you're in town. It is our hotel's mission to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC. That's right! We are that close to DC! That's the beauty of being Crystal City's gem hotel. Everything from nightlife to shopping to dining to sightseeing. We've got it all in our back yard. Thank you for giving Renaissance Arlington Capital View your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is modern and hip love the decor at the main lobby. The staff was excellent we arrived at 4 am and they settled us into our room quickly. Our room was spacious we stayed on the 14 floor across the executive lounge. The lounge was also a beautiful room we had breakfast on our last day, view was great if you enjoy the airport. Overall the food, room, and staff was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for spending the weekend with us. Inauguration weekend was a special time for us and we were happy to welcome guests from all over the world to our hotel. If your travels ever lead you back to the area, we hope you will consider us for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location is convenient to the Reagan National Airport. However, the hotel is priced high even for the Washington, DC, area. Serviceable, and would use again, but no reason to go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirdCoastFoodGeek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to rate our hotel and submit your feedback to TripAdvisor. We are glad that you mentioned our great guest service and the fact that we are near DCA. It is my hope that these values will steer you back in our direction the next time you're in Crystal City. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

What a refreshing change this hotel is from the traditional and generic. This places feels like a "W" hotel without all the attitude. Strikingly modern, yet inviting decor and excellent service help further distinguish it. The lobby, complete with art and sculptures in a "great room" with a bar, open kitchen and iMac computers sets the tone. The rooms, while not huge, are uber stylish and have great amenities such as bathrobes, lots of lotions and products from Aveda, mini- fridges and an amazing shower. And the bed is heavenly too.

The fitness center feels like a 1st Class gym with tons of equipment, including free weights, nautilus, treadmills, fresh fruit and water. There is a changing room but no sauna or steam room. The pool is on the small side but clean and new. The restaurant serves up a nice brunch with made-to-order omelets and waffles along with apple sausage, Yukon potatoes, fresh fruit, bacon, lox and bagels and other breads.

The service is polite, efficient and professional. Ask and they will deliver, or try and find a way.

Few hotels impress me these days but this place is first rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineBilleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. I am glad you had the chance to explore the hotel and to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer such as the restaurant and fitness center. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

It is not often I rate a hotel with five (5) stars but this one deserves it. I stayed there overnight for a morning flight out of Reagan National Airport and it was wonderful. The reception staff member was extremely professional, polite and went out of her way to make me feel like a special guest. The hotel lobby is beautifully appointed and the rooms were very nice and clean. I especially enjoyed the Executive lounge; the food was delicious and the airport/capital view was great. Every member of the staff was pleasant; kudos to the management of this hotel. One important point is the nearest Metro train stop is Crystal City which is about a 15 minute walk, however the hotel shuttle van runs every 20 minutes and includes a stop at the Metro station and the airport.

Room Tip: Try to choose airport view side of the hotel, otherwise you'll just see buildings on the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am delighted that you chose our hotel for your stay. We truly appreciate your business and hope that you will consider us for another stay in the near future. Surely your review of the hotel will encourage others guests to give us a try and for this, I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing