We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely NOT what you expect when you are a paying guest!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although this hotel is relatively new, I found the security manager at this hotel to be one of THE rudest, arrogant man that I have ever met. My family and I were on the Club Level floor and were sitting watching TV when he came in and 'escorted us out', even though our key allowed us access to the area. Apparently the room should have been locked, something which I assume he should have done, but didn't. As a guest, you don't know the workings of the hotel and as with the previous night my family went to sit and watch the TV. This man was SO rude and he should have handled this in a more respectful and professional manner. I have NEVER experienced such deplorable service or rudeness in my life. It was so bad that we cut short our three night stay and moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Select another Hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belle8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

First, I would like to apologize if you were made to feel disrespected while staying at our hotel. We certainly do not condone behavior from our staff members that would make any of our guests feel unwelcomed or uncomfortable. Please know that both our department managers and I have been notified about this matter and that action has been taken to rectify this from ever happening again in the future.

Finally, should you wish to discuss this matter further, I encourage you to call me at your convenience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 847 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Love this property, nice open lobby with big Mac computers at tables for use, bar area and restaurant connected. Room was clean,bright and modern.
Free shuttle to and from airport-
Meeting rooms were spacious-- and comfortable
Walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner room gave me two decent views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. I hope you will think of us again whenever your travels lead you to Crystal City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My first time staying in Crystal City area which is across the river from Reagan airport. Very walkable area with restaurants and mall shopping nearby. Metro stop is less than a mile away and hotel offers free shuttle to and from the stop. Hotel is about one year old. Rooms are big as is bath. Big walk-in shower. If you need a bath tub, inquire. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a Marriott Residence Inn on the backside of the hotel. Large and very nice club lounge with great views of Reagan airport withplanes taking off/landing. A most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review about your experience at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We hope you will come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a very desirable area of Crystal City (Arlington, VA) about 6 miles outside of downtown DC. The hotel is a great deal as it gives you access to downtown DC and all the area attractions at a fraction of the cost of downtown DC hotels. The rooms are pretty spacious and the bathrooms are very nice, updated, tile floor, glass stand-up showers, mini-fridge in the rooms, etc. I've stayed here twice and will probably be back again soon. There is access to the Metro with a couple stations about .5 mile away, which is about a $4 cab ride. If you are driving to the hotel please be aware parking is kind of high at $22/night for self-parking and $27/night for valet parking. A little high for the area, but if you can pick the perfect time you can get street parking on S. Potomac street. I tried both days, but all the spaces were gone. Not a big deal as I knew the parking costs before arriving, so I wasn't too mad! Stay here when you go to DC or crystal city for business!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcperkins82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

As a repeat guest, thank you for your business. We truly appreciate it very much. It would seem that you have already discovered the gem in the heart of Crystal City when you discovered the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Quirky, modernistic lobby with special touches throughout. Oversized chess and checker sets there are BIG hits with the guests.

Nicely set on a small little side street. Fresh, bright, clean. Check out the view from the work out areas. And the patios are fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Well said! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. And our patios are fabulous, aren't they? We might be the new kids on the block, but you'll feel right at home when you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic staff, friendliest people I have met in a hotel for a long time, Room was very clean and comfortable

Food at the restaurant was top class, listen to the recommendations of the servers they really know what the best dishes are.

Front office staff are the most efficient I have met for some time

Coffee shop is 1st class

Bar is very classy and great bartender

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbits1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for coming. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Ranaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for only (sigh) one night. Modern yet comfortable vibe with top notch room and lobby decor and ambiance. Lobby restaurant very good as well. Recommended hotel when staying in the Arlington/DC Metro area. Front Desk manager Parker went out of his way to ensure a great experience.

Room Tip: Request room with an airport view if you enjoy seeing take offs and landings.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardnerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for the great review. We will share your comments with our team members and with Parker. No need to sigh...just come back and spend more time with us. We'll be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 52 in Arlington
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: $107 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing