We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Trendy,Great Location,very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trendy,Great Location,very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Love this property, nice open lobby with big Mac computers at tables for use, bar area and restaurant connected. Room was clean,bright and modern.
Free shuttle to and from airport-
Meeting rooms were spacious-- and comfortable
Walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner room gave me two decent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. I hope you will think of us again whenever your travels lead you to Crystal City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    189
    47
    19
    16
See reviews for
132
105
35
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My first time staying in Crystal City area which is across the river from Reagan airport. Very walkable area with restaurants and mall shopping nearby. Metro stop is less than a mile away and hotel offers free shuttle to and from the stop. Hotel is about one year old. Rooms are big as is bath. Big walk-in shower. If you need a bath tub, inquire. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a Marriott Residence Inn on the backside of the hotel. Large and very nice club lounge with great views of Reagan airport withplanes taking off/landing. A most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review about your experience at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We hope you will come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a very desirable area of Crystal City (Arlington, VA) about 6 miles outside of downtown DC. The hotel is a great deal as it gives you access to downtown DC and all the area attractions at a fraction of the cost of downtown DC hotels. The rooms are pretty spacious and the bathrooms are very nice, updated, tile floor, glass stand-up showers, mini-fridge in the rooms, etc. I've stayed here twice and will probably be back again soon. There is access to the Metro with a couple stations about .5 mile away, which is about a $4 cab ride. If you are driving to the hotel please be aware parking is kind of high at $22/night for self-parking and $27/night for valet parking. A little high for the area, but if you can pick the perfect time you can get street parking on S. Potomac street. I tried both days, but all the spaces were gone. Not a big deal as I knew the parking costs before arriving, so I wasn't too mad! Stay here when you go to DC or crystal city for business!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcperkins82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
As a repeat guest, thank you for your business. We truly appreciate it very much. It would seem that you have already discovered the gem in the heart of Crystal City when you discovered the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Quirky, modernistic lobby with special touches throughout. Oversized chess and checker sets there are BIG hits with the guests.

Nicely set on a small little side street. Fresh, bright, clean. Check out the view from the work out areas. And the patios are fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Well said! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. And our patios are fabulous, aren't they? We might be the new kids on the block, but you'll feel right at home when you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic staff, friendliest people I have met in a hotel for a long time, Room was very clean and comfortable

Food at the restaurant was top class, listen to the recommendations of the servers they really know what the best dishes are.

Front office staff are the most efficient I have met for some time

Coffee shop is 1st class

Bar is very classy and great bartender

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbits1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for coming. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Ranaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for only (sigh) one night. Modern yet comfortable vibe with top notch room and lobby decor and ambiance. Lobby restaurant very good as well. Recommended hotel when staying in the Arlington/DC Metro area. Front Desk manager Parker went out of his way to ensure a great experience.

Room Tip: Request room with an airport view if you enjoy seeing take offs and landings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardnerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We will share your comments with our team members and with Parker. No need to sigh...just come back and spend more time with us. We'll be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were originally looking for offsite parking for our vacation out of DCA airport and saw an option via an online airport parking website for valet parking at $8/day at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We were also considering finding a Park, Sleep & Fly package so we wouldn't start out the day tired from the 2.5 hr drive from Delaware. We called the hotel and inquired about such a package since we didn't find anything on their website, and were quoted $129 before taxes for staying over 1 night and parking for 7. That was well worth it for us to start the day only minutes from the airport.

On arrival, the valet parking didn't really know what to do with us and had to check with the front desk. We were a bit uncomfortable for a while as we felt that between the valet and the front desk they were very unclear about whether we should self-park or valet, and what our extra rate was for the 2 additional days we were away beyond the 1 week. It turned out to be $22/day additional, which we knew ahead of time, but is really excessive since you can otherwise park at this hotel for $8/day, and I had read some reviews from others that weren't charged extra if it was just a couple of days. After we arrived home, we found some scratches on the car rear bumper, as if the car was parked too close to a concrete wall, but that was our mistake that we didn't go over the vehicle on arrival and then departure with the valets.

Once parked and settled in, the hotel is very nice. It seems more suited as a business hotel, but we were comfortable, and enjoyed pre-vacation drinks and meal at Socci, the bar/restaurant off the lobby. Prices for drinks and food were high for an equivalent restaurant, pretty standard for hotel restaurants, and service, drinks, and food were excellent. My husband asked the server if they could add buttershots to his Appletini (it makes it into a Caramel Appletini!), and after the drink was brought to us, the bartender came over to see if it was to his satisfaction, and to ask about the recipe - a very friendly yet professional conversation.

We heard some noise in the room from the airport and train tracks, but then again we picked the hotel for the close proximity!

The hotel lobby and rooms are very well-appointed, elegant yet comfortable. The shuttle to and from the airport was very convenient and ran every 20 minutes. The shuttle stops at several Arlington hotels, and there are north and south loops, so make sure you get on the right shuttle at the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delacruzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for submitting a review of your experience. The feedback you have given will enable us to know what areas need attention to detail as we want all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed, not awkward. I apologize for the confusion caused by our valet team when you arrived at the hotel. We will use your feedback to instill further training with them so that they understand the procedures associated with the Park and Fly packages. We appreciate your business and hope that when your travels bring you back to Crystal City, you will think of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing