We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated property, a few issues though...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Updated property, a few issues though...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The public areas here are great - huge lobby, nice coffee shop that isn't a Starbucks, thankfully. There are public computers to use, and you will do so, because the WiFi is only free in the lobby. My room had a nice view and updated furnishings, but it was a good thing I was staying alone becuase the bathroom design lacked privacy. It was a sliding glass door that had sound and light leakage - as if there as no door at all. If you're staying with someone and don't want to share all your hygiene habits, make sure you ask for a room with a regular bathroom door (avoid corner rooms?). In-room fridge was great though, and it was quiet at the end of the hall. My other complaint has to do with the way front desk staff handled a registration snafu that appeared to be their error. I was asked to check out of my room and move to another hotel at $100+ more. Maybe other travelers can brook that sort of expense and inconvenience but I had been there 3 days already and had received confirmation for a reservation for 4 days, which is what I wanted. That said, the other staff were phenomenal. One woman did a lot of running back and forth between coffee shop and restaurant (which was really good for a hotel resto, by the way) and was unfailingly cheerful and helpful. Finally, if you're a snacker, you may want to bring food with you, as anything besides the hotel Resto will require a walk and/or planning (nearby convenience and other stores can be closed on Sunday and/or early Sat afternoons).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet part of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayMickeyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. I apologize for the confusion caused regarding your reservation and we will share this information with our front desk team in order to look for better ways to resolve or correct issues without inconveniencing our guests. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    172
    46
    19
    15
See reviews for
119
100
34
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a newer hotel in the hotel rows. While it is a stone throw away from the airport, it is not easy to get into. There's also no food easily walkable from the hotel, which makes you the hotel's restaurant's target audience. Luckily, food isn't bad and they make a stiff drink. Unfortunately their coffee shop closes early, which is not convenient for us. But it has nice seating area for you to check your email or chat with friends.

You have parking with in-and-out privileges and you are billed to your room. It is shared with another hotel so it's not as spacious as one thinks. It is a short drive to Del Ray or Old Town for food. Bring your patience as there's 3 very slow elevators to service all the guests that are there for conventions or events.

The hotel does have a laundry mat in the gym area, which is also attached to the Resident's Inn, which is attached to the same building. Cost $3 to wash and free to dry.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floors, but again the elevator might be a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabefoodieHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding your experience at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and we will use your comments to address the efficiency of the elevators when we are experiencing a high volume of guests in the hotel. I hope you will consider us for a future stay so that you can see that there are several places to dine within walking distance of the hotel. Anyone at our Reception Desk will be happy to show you where they are and we also have a Navigator on duty to pinpoint an option you may prefer. Don't forget our free Metro shuttle that also makes a stop on 23rd Street where there are dozens of places to grab a bite to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

While working in DC, my family joined me at this hotel. The upscale atmosphere of the hotel really impressed the kids. The lobby bathrooms and lobby layout was unique and enjoyable. I enjoying staying in the crystal city area because of the many restuarants within walking distance. The pool at the hotel was a bit small for the kids. The concierge lounge was nice, but we really enjoy bacon with our eggs and not one day did they serve bacon - small complaint. The rooms are nice and quiet. Definitely return when I am working, but may find something with a larger pool and a bit closer to the metro if returning with the family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the amenities of the hotel and your comments will be shared with the rest of the team. We are constantly striving to create an atmosphere that can be enjoyed by all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to Reagan National Airport, Metro, and Crystal City. I think it would be a great place to stay for people doing business in this area. This neighborhood is right across the river from Washington, DC, so you get a beautiful view of the city and avoid many of the negatives. It's also convenient to Metro, so you can easily get around for sightseeing and entertainment.

We stayed here for a dance competition, and this property was absolutely perfect. They can put together one enormous ballroom. They catered and served a lovely midnight breakfast buffet for our group. My only comment about that was, given the large number of people they had, they really should have set up more than 2 buffet lines. Things went at a glacial pace.

Most of the staff was very friendly. The hotel restaurant was actually pretty good: we ate there twice over the weekend (Steak salad, pizza, meatball sandwich). The salads were fresh, the pizza had a nice crust and fresh toppings.

This is a really beautiful property, very well-maintained, very clean, and with a clean smell. The beds were delightful. Even though it's right next to the airport, we never heard a plane go by. There are many inviting public areas to sit and socialize in: the lobby has ample seating, and the restaurant/bar are open to the lobby, so you can see people you know when you come in. The conference rooms on the second floor also have good congregating space both inside and out.

I hope our competition returns to this hotel next year, because I would love to stay here again.

The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is about 95% businesses, so most of the restaurants and shops close after working hours. It would not be a good neighborhood to stay in if you want to be in the middle of night life options.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank featherfan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our hotel while attending a group event. We certainly anticipate hosting the event again next year and we hope to see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed on the 10th floor and had a view of Reagan airport, the water and trains. So much to see in the daytime and beautiful at night as well. Ask for a room with a view. Rooms were beautifully appointed, underground parking was convenient, albeit pricey. Loved the ultra modern lobby, the deck next to the pool, and the proximity to restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking airport!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I think it's fabulous when guests stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View and get a chance to discover new and wonderful places to relax and unwind while at the hotel. I have to agree with you. The rooftop, outdoor lounge area next to the pool is a great place to unwind. And have you taken one of our complimentary bikes for a ride on the nearby trails? It's a great way to get some fresh air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from July, 14-17 and at check in I was notified that there would be a 75 per night charge for incidentals such as room service, Internet which would be taken off the held amount however at the end of my stay. I received a receipt with the charges on it and the front desk explained that the held amount that was put on my credit card would be credited back to me. But as I get my aug credit card bill there is a 300 dollar charge still by the hotel even though I paid in full through Travelocity and only incurred a total of 50 dollars in one room service and one day of Internet. Why is this the case?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucks94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. I have also received your message from Marriott Customer Care regarding the hold that was placed on your credit card and we are working to resolve this issue. Please contact the hotel directly if you need to speak with me. I will be more than happy to assist you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing