We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean and modern property near DCA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Clean and modern property near DCA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is a brand new Renaissance hotel. It is very clean and has a modern decor. Rooms are smallish but efficient and are very nicely finished out. Feels like a new European hotel. Shower stalls with no tubs, which is terrific. The lobby was lively on the Thursday night I stayed at the property. The restuarant in the lobby is good. Good by the glass wine list. The Illy coffee bar in the lobby is great (notwithstanding the surly service). Wish more hotels would opt for Illy over the standard Starbucks.

Overall, a great hotel of you need to be in Arlington or close to Reagan.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltogetherDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    171
    46
    19
    15
See reviews for
118
100
34
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

New Marriott (opened in early 2011) practically walking distance from Reagan National Airport. Lobby has a youthful and trendy vibe without feeling pretentious - caught me by surprise when I walked in. Room was quiet and comfortane and gave me the good night's sleep I now expect from Marriott. I was impressed with the fitness center ... hotels that give me more than a treadmill and a few dumbells will always get me back. Although the location is almost a mile from the Metro station (not a bad walk when the weather is nice), a van heads there every 20 minutes. I visit the Arlington area frequently and may very well become a regular.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here for the Marine Corps Marathon, Saturday October 29th. The rate was very reasonable, around 140. Once I arrived, I felt that for such a nice hotel, it must have been a teaser rate to get you to try it. This hotel is twinned with a Residence Inn, and is so new it is not on the map. The lobby decor for both hotels whimsical and contemporary. The check in process was fine, they set us up for late check out without a problem. Self parked under the hotel, $22 a day. Bell staff was really nice. The rooms were magnificent. Spotlessly clean, beautiful decor, lovely toiletries, amazingly comfortable beds. The only problem during our stay was a broken elevator in the garage, which really was inconvenient. Since my son was a wheelchair user, we had to find our way to the other elevator in the garage, quite a hike over to the other hotel side. (hence noticing the decor of the Residence Inn lobby) It also took a really long time for the staff to even get a sign on the broken elevator, we noticed lots of other guests trying to use it, and we had help direct them. SInce the hotel is so new, I think there might be a learning curve on staff training, however, the friendliness of everyone we encountered was top notch. If this was a more expensive room, maybe I wouldn't be quite so effusive about my praise of the hotel, but at the rate we paid it was just wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momtokande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I just attended a 3-day conference at this new hotel. Great site for our conference. Exceptional hotel design & decor - "flowing" and "movement." Staff very customer focused without being overbearing. Check-in and check-out were both accomplished in a matter of 1-3 minutes. Several staff positioned in the lobby at the end of our conference to ensure quick luggage pick-up and assistance with catching the airport shuttle. FREE shuttle service to Reagan National Airport added bonus. Regular room rates are pricey, but conference rates were within reimbursable rates by my employer.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shar_right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This isn't the kind of place I would choose to stay (it was booked for us by relatives), so I wasn't disappointed - I knew I wouldn't like it. I am not into all these different club levels that people buy into to make themselves feel important, so being able to have an average buffet breakfast in some special lounge that you can only access if you have the right level of room card seems laughable and pointless. If you enjoy that kind of thing, this place is for you!

Our room was average, glitzy US style - nothing special. I hated the fact that the windows don't open and so we had to run the air conditioning all night to stop the room becoming unbearably hot. This was in October when it was pleasantly cool outside. Meanwhile they have those "we care about the environment so we'd like to save money by not washing your towels so often" cards. They could save energy by designing hotels with natural ventilation rather than hermetically sealed cells instead.

The lobby was interesting if you like night club decor. It was good that they had Macs you could use when you liked. The piped music was ridiculously loud and annoying - they even had it blaring outside.

All in all not somewhere I would go back to, but then I wouldn't have gone in the first place by choice!

Room Tip: If you like fresh air this place is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiggiewiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I bid on Priceline for this hotel and won at $78.00 which believe me was a bargain for this property. I was traveling with my 11 year old son. The hotel was a boutique style if that means modern, cool and hip. But, by all mean meant for all. The lobby had imacs with free computer access. Always available, I checked my stuff while my son played games. Also, chess games,tic tac toe and interesting books throughout. We arrived early from NJ about 4 hours before check in. No problem we parked the car (additional $22.@day) then the complimentary shuttle brought us to the metro. It runs every 20 minutes and for the two days we stayed it was always right on schedule. I never touched the car again until I left. The pool although on the small side was perfect as it was truly heated which is usually a biggy for me. We ate at the restaurant on premise. Pricey for sure but the food and service were both excellent. The next night I found out by the bartender they do have a happy hour. We were given the option of a king or 2 doubles. The room was very clean, the coffee was decent and the walk in shower was fabulous. Also, they deliver USA today in the am which I always find a treat. We stayed on the 8th floor and had no noise issues at all. I asked for the highest floor available. The surrounding area know as crystal city had alot of ammentities in terms of dining and shopping. We had pizza delivered the second night. We were going to arlington and the zoo the first day.
Washington the second. It was perfect. Metro so easy!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesliessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The calming theme of the hotel was nice in the midst of busy Crystal City and DC Metro area.
The meeting facilities are first rate with attentive staff and good food.
Rooms are very modern , but in a comfortable way. All the latest technology and a very good bar as well.
On site dining was wonderful, and there were plenty of dining choices in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing