We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new hotel near Reagan Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely new hotel near Reagan Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family spent Friday night at the Renaissance Hotel. This property recently opened and it is stunning! The lobby is modernistic and check-in was done quickly. The rooms were lovely and the bathroom was fantastic. We were able to get a $94 rate for the night. The bed was so comfy, I hated to leave the next morning. This hotel is near Reagan. The hotel shuttle will take you to the airport, as well as Crystal City. If you are interested in going sightseeing in DC, the shuttle will take you to the Crystal City Metro station. I would stay at this hotel again. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teach2travel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    189
    48
    19
    16
See reviews for
132
106
35
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We found a greatdeal for his four star hotel for staying for the weeken of under 100$. Our room was pristine and the service was nothing short of spectacular. They have an amazing restaurant and a great lobby bar and chill areas. There is free wifi downstairs but it costs to use it in your room. How 2010?! That's pretty much the only drawback. Well not really. It's far from any metro stops and taxis are hard to find and not cheap. They do provide a free shuttle to and from the metro though, which makes up for the lack of decent location. While t is at least a half hour metro ride from dc, it's in a perfect position for the airport.

One of the downfalls of the good value is that there are seemingly always kids running around and screaming and occupying the indoor swimming pool. Not my kind of thing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and the conference venue. The catering was exquisite.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sister_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family and I stayed here on a Friday night in July. Since the hotel is new and just opened in March of 2011, it was very fresh, clean and modern, which we all liked. The lobby was full of activity the entire time we were there and the staff was kind and accommodating. There aren't many restaurants close by, but the hotel runs a complimentary shuttle to take you to the neighborhood that has restaurants (about 7 blocks away). It is the same way with the metro station. We visited the hotel's indoor pool and while it was small, my two kids really enjoyed it. Overall, the hotel was perfect for us and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollykatesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Brand new and a little rough around the edges for service, but this is a great place. Was a toss up whether to stay here or the Ritz Carlton in Pentagon City. Glad we stayed here although the service at the Ritz is impeccable. Nice concierge lounge and great fitness room. High floor facing the airport is very cool with no noise at all except from the occasional train that goes behind the hotel. Minor problem with my bill was fixed quickly and I received a nice point bonus for the inconvenience. Once they hit their stride, this will be the best place to stay in Arlington.

Room Tip: get on the airport side of the hotel as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucedavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel is very nice and even though is a bit far from the area where most dc attractions are located, the metro station is within walking distances. Restaurant food is good, but service is a bit slow.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler11595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family and I stayed two nights here while on a quick trip to the DC area and nobody wanted to leave! If we didn't already have plans in NJ following our stay in DC we would have extended our trip. The service was exceptional and everyone seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. It's conventienly located down the street from several restaurants with everything from fast food to Ruth's Chris.

The hotel decor is very chic and modern and the lobby is amazing and also very inviting. My teenage sons were very impressed with the four apple computers in the lobby for your use.

Our city view was so beautiful we kept the blinds open all night, which is something we never do.

If you're looking for a place to stay convenient to DC but far enough from all the hussle and bussle this is a great hotel! They also offer free shuttle service to the MARTA station which is right down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamika1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Address: 2800 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing