We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Large room at a moderate price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large room at a moderate price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

5 minutes from Reagan Airport via hotel shuttle; Hotel, along with several other major names, near Crystal City Metro. Altho several reviewers have written that it is walking distance to the Metro-it is a bit less than a mile; Better choice: hotel has shuttles to and from every 20 minutes; Front desk very helpful; Hotel has free breakfast (so-so) daily and some dinner time snacks on weekdays only; Had problem with the TV in room-hotel engineer came up and fixed it in a few minutes.
Large room's furnishings a bit dated but comfortable bed;

Room Tip: We had asked for a quiet room on a high floor-and were given a room that met our expectations. Choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am glad you decided to choose us for your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We certainly hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    197
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
231
116
45
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,017 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 for a wedding that was being held in Washington DC. It was an enjoyable stay. We were able to walk to restaurants; we enjoyed Jaleo just a couple of blocks away. Staff was nice. Breakfast was good, but busy - lots of people. We parked in the parking garage.

We had a room with a sitting area, comfortable bed and small kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to take time to enjoy some of the local flavor. We hope you will consider us for another stay and perhaps you'll have even more time to discover Crystal City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very pleasant stay.
The good. Friendly staff. Clean, reasonably priced, easy access, free shuttles. Clean, well equipped rooms. Clean, work out area. Nice outdoor seating. Well supplied kitchen. (DO NOT FRY BACON) Vent system just doesn't work that well and everything you own will smell delicious. Area seemed safe

Ok. Breakfast...over run by people attending a conference. Eggs were very dry. Pool was small but seemed nice until we went to use it. 6 young kids yelling splashing and jumping unchecked by parents or lifeguard but I was approached (nicely) to get rid of the gum I was chewing. We tried to outlast the Brady bunch but had to get out of dodge when a piece of weave floated over to us.

Area is kind of desolate. Plenty around but things seem to close early as everyone returns to the hive. Quick shuttle ride to many restaurants and a huge sports bar.

Would certainly stay again just leaving home the swimsuits and the bacon.

Room Tip: We were high up facing a empty lot and airport but noise free from planes and hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough (and, at times, very visual!) review of the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We are currently in our peak season for leisure travelers and the pool definitely gets is share of use from our guests, but this isn't always the case. I do apologize for the lifeguard's unattentiveness to control the rowdy youngsters so everyone there could enjoy some pool time. I'm also sorry that your delectable breakfast with bacon lingered with you long after breakfast was over...although you did mention that you smelled delicious so I'm left wondering if you are a fellow bacon connoisseur. Best of all, I'm really glad that you will come back to see us again when you're in town. Perhaps the next time we will be able to offer you a room that has a better view than one that overlooks an empty lot...that's not going to be empty for long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin? First of all I love the word FREE:-), especially when traveling on a mini vacation. This hotel offers free shuttle services, wifi, and breakfast. The beds were very comfortable and the view was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I had a wonderful weekend...THANKS RESIDENCE INN!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NND9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for letting others know that when they come to the DC area, a stay at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View is a must! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we will certainly be glad to have you come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was very close to DCA airport. We flew to DC from Seattle and arrived there at midnight, so we didn't want to spend time on transporting to other hotel and could save some time for sleep.

Pros: nice location to DCA airport (actually also not far away from downtown DC); close to subway station (about 5~10 minutes walking); rich breakfast; clean room and various amentities.

Cons: airport shuttle operates until only 11pm; sort of nothing around the hotel; a railway nearby (but doesn't matter much if you keep windows closed).

Room Tip: If you want a free airport pick-up shuttle from them then make sure you arrive at DCA by 11pm - thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirklandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We know you initially chose us because of our close proximity to Reagan National, but now that you've had the Residence Inn experience, we hope you'lll come back for the warm and friendly staff and all the amenities that are included in your stay. We appreciate the review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just got home from a five day stay at this great hotel! It was me, my husband and two little children (ages one and two). The purpose of our vacation was to enjoy DC and take in the sights, so I was a little hesitant knowing that we would have to take a shuttle and the Metro to get around. Well, they could not have made it any easier! The airport shuttle picked up up right outside of baggage claim and got us to the hotel easily. Our room was ready early which made things so much less stressful, and we were impressed with how IMMACULATE the room was. The front desk staff, especially Tiffany, was so friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the Metro runs promptly every 20 minutes so you can really count on it being there. The breakfast buffet was INCREDIBLE and I was so stunned at how much food there was to pick from: waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, oatmeal, bagels... well above and beyond your standard options. There were plenty of restaurants around to choose from for dinner. We tried Ted's Montana Grill which was delicious and The Good Stuff Eatery which was a fun atmosphere with great burgers and frappes. All in all, our trip was awesome. The ease of commuting into the big attractions like the museums and National Zoo made this hotel a perfect option and I'm happy to write such a well-deserved review. Great job to this hotel for making traveling with two little ones so smooth!
PS also being close to airport, we heard no air traffic at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We're are so excited that you had "An Awesome Experience" at our hotel. Now that you've discovered us, you'll have to keep us in mind the next time you're in town. I'm sure Tiffany will enjoy reading your comments and so will the rest of our team. Thank you for such a great review. We appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here for three nights while on vacation for the Washington, D.C. area. The hotel is very business-like and there was lots of travelers there on our same weekend for a work conference. The rooms are very nice and come with a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, and dishes. The hotel is not very close to many shops, but they do offer a complimentary metro and airport shuttle which is very convenient. The staff was so friendly and if we ever needed directions anywhere, they would help us out. The maid service was wonderful and even ran our dishwasher for us, which was so thoughtful. The complimentary breakfast was just okay, very standard for hotels. In walking distance, there is a small grocery store named Harris Teeters which was nice to stock up fridge if you are staying there for multiple nights. About a mile of the hotel there is a little strip mall of Target, TJ Maxx, Old Navy, and other stores which is fun to walk to if you're looking for something to do an afternoon. The pool was a nice feature, a little small and no hot tub, which was fine. Overall, a nice experience and will consider staying there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for letting other TripAdvisor users know about our hotel. We are a good value whether you need a room for a night or for a week. There are actually some wonderful shops located underground just a few blocks away, so the next time you come to stay with us, you'll have to check them out. It's the Crystal City secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Address: 2850 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing