We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel close to DCA airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel close to DCA airport”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was very close to DCA airport. We flew to DC from Seattle and arrived there at midnight, so we didn't want to spend time on transporting to other hotel and could save some time for sleep.

Pros: nice location to DCA airport (actually also not far away from downtown DC); close to subway station (about 5~10 minutes walking); rich breakfast; clean room and various amentities.

Cons: airport shuttle operates until only 11pm; sort of nothing around the hotel; a railway nearby (but doesn't matter much if you keep windows closed).

Room Tip: If you want a free airport pick-up shuttle from them then make sure you arrive at DCA by 11pm - thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirklandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We know you initially chose us because of our close proximity to Reagan National, but now that you've had the Residence Inn experience, we hope you'lll come back for the warm and friendly staff and all the amenities that are included in your stay. We appreciate the review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    206
    27
    16
    7
See reviews for
248
127
46
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just got home from a five day stay at this great hotel! It was me, my husband and two little children (ages one and two). The purpose of our vacation was to enjoy DC and take in the sights, so I was a little hesitant knowing that we would have to take a shuttle and the Metro to get around. Well, they could not have made it any easier! The airport shuttle picked up up right outside of baggage claim and got us to the hotel easily. Our room was ready early which made things so much less stressful, and we were impressed with how IMMACULATE the room was. The front desk staff, especially Tiffany, was so friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the Metro runs promptly every 20 minutes so you can really count on it being there. The breakfast buffet was INCREDIBLE and I was so stunned at how much food there was to pick from: waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, oatmeal, bagels... well above and beyond your standard options. There were plenty of restaurants around to choose from for dinner. We tried Ted's Montana Grill which was delicious and The Good Stuff Eatery which was a fun atmosphere with great burgers and frappes. All in all, our trip was awesome. The ease of commuting into the big attractions like the museums and National Zoo made this hotel a perfect option and I'm happy to write such a well-deserved review. Great job to this hotel for making traveling with two little ones so smooth!
PS also being close to airport, we heard no air traffic at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We're are so excited that you had "An Awesome Experience" at our hotel. Now that you've discovered us, you'll have to keep us in mind the next time you're in town. I'm sure Tiffany will enjoy reading your comments and so will the rest of our team. Thank you for such a great review. We appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here for three nights while on vacation for the Washington, D.C. area. The hotel is very business-like and there was lots of travelers there on our same weekend for a work conference. The rooms are very nice and come with a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, and dishes. The hotel is not very close to many shops, but they do offer a complimentary metro and airport shuttle which is very convenient. The staff was so friendly and if we ever needed directions anywhere, they would help us out. The maid service was wonderful and even ran our dishwasher for us, which was so thoughtful. The complimentary breakfast was just okay, very standard for hotels. In walking distance, there is a small grocery store named Harris Teeters which was nice to stock up fridge if you are staying there for multiple nights. About a mile of the hotel there is a little strip mall of Target, TJ Maxx, Old Navy, and other stores which is fun to walk to if you're looking for something to do an afternoon. The pool was a nice feature, a little small and no hot tub, which was fine. Overall, a nice experience and will consider staying there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for letting other TripAdvisor users know about our hotel. We are a good value whether you need a room for a night or for a week. There are actually some wonderful shops located underground just a few blocks away, so the next time you come to stay with us, you'll have to check them out. It's the Crystal City secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in April, 2014. The proximity to DC was great and VERY affordable if you get one of their weekend rate packages. The hotel has a shuttle to the Metro or you can walk 15-20 minutes (just under 1 mile). The hotel is not far from plenty of restaurants including Ted's Montana Grill, Subway, Chick-Fil-A and it's just a few blocks from a grocery store so you can stock up on supplies (Target is also not far away and there is a Regal Movie theater less than a mile south of the hotel). If you are really adventurous you can take the Mount Vernon Trail just north of the hotel (not far from the Metro stop) and it's 5 miles from the hotel to the Lincoln Memorial by way of the end of the runway at Regan National (super cool watching the planes take off / land), Jefferson Memorial, FDR Memorial and MLK Memorial. If you include the Reflecting Pool, WWII Monument, WA Memorial, White House, State Capital, Supreme Court, and Library of Congress and back to the hotel it's 15.5 miles (for anyone who wants a good run or walk) or you can hop on the Subway by the Smithsonian Capital (Blue Line) to return back to to the Metro station that the Shuttle Bus picks up at (I think the shuttle runs from 7a.m. - 11 p.m. daily but confirm at the front desk). I did order room service and that was more than fine. No complaints. The sleep quality was perfect for me. The room was very clean. The city view rooms are awesome. I was on the 10th floor overlooking Regan National (if you are bothered by trains be aware that the hotel is close to train tracks but that didn't bother me at all as they didn't seem to run at night or I was too tired to notice). I watched the planes come in an take off. I could also see the Capital from my room lit up at night). The Fitness Center is one of the best. There are a lot of treadmills, ellipticals, and plenty of weights / weight machines (I think this is the largest fitness center in the region according to the hotel). The pool is a little on the smaller side which is okay for kids not great for adults and all the kids. It is very convenient to Regan National and about a $80 cab ride to Dulles. I was very pleased with everything about this hotel and would highly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqlynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful and very detailed review of the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's amazing as to how much you were able to explore both in our hotel and the surrounding area. We can't wait for you to come back to see us again. Is there any chance that there was something you didn't get a chance to see?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed on a Friday night in conjunction with attending a show at the Warner Theater in Washington. We got lucky and found free parking on the street and we got a great rate at the hotel.

This hotel makes it very convenient to get into and out of Washington with their shuttle that takes you to the Metro stop (and also to restaurant row in Crystal City).

We were given a room with a great view of the airport and Washington DC itself in the distance. The rooms are very comfortable. We also enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. It was nice to be able to sit by the fire in the lobby area on a cold and rainy January morning.

The next time we need an overnight stay for a DC function we will definitely make this hotel our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are thrilled that you will come back to see us the next time you're in town and just wanted to let you know that the Cherry Blossoms have arrived (in case you wanted to come back sooner than planned). The warmer weather means more outdoor fun and we would love to hear about your new adventures! Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel while visiting DC and Arlington. The Staff there were more than accommodating and so full of information that helped us select restaurants in Crystal City, which the hotel shuttle transported us to and they gave us tidbits for the metro and our city visit. The Manager was so helpful and friendly! The metro was a short ride into the city which we used for 2 days. It was great to have the shuttle meet us take us and bring us back too. We were able to track the shuttle online to avoid waiting on the colder evenings! This was a great option that the hotel offers this. Our room was very clean and tended to each day. We had no trouble getting additional items either. The lobby is very homey and the included breakfast had every imaginable item one could ask for. Our Room and Parking were 1/2 of what the Hotels in DC were. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area! We will definitely use it again when visiting our nations capital.

Room Tip: We had a King with Kitchenette and found it Spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanuaryS95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for letting everyone know that Residence Inn Arlington Capital View is an excellent value with an excellent location and an excellent staff! We appreciate your business and are delighted that you chose us for your DC stay. I hope you were able to accomplish everything you set out to do while you were here, but if you didn't...we hope you'll come back and stay with us and continue your DC Adventure, Part 2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for three nights while my wife and I attended a convention in DC. We were quite pleased with the overall condition of the hotel, the room and the customer service. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, on site parking was easy to use, convenience items for sale attached to lobby were also nice. There is no restaurant in this hotel but the Socci Restaurant in the attached Renaissance was great - we had several meals there and were pleased every time. Sheets were soft, room was completely spotless, towels were satisfactory (my only complaint is that one washcloth we were provided during the trip had several stains on it), Indoor pool was clean, had nice evening hours, and was monitored by a lifeguard. Main lobby is beautiful with its modern design, comfortable, stylish furniture and elegant fireplace. We will definitely come back the next time we return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs during your conference. To be able to offer amenities such as free Wi Fi and complimentary meals for our guests makes the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View an even greater value. And, to have our sister hotel right next door providing a full service restaurant and bar is the icing on the cake! On another note, I have shared your comments regarding the linen with our housekeeping department. It is important that our guest's expectations are exceeded and we are always striving to do just that. We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.8 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Address: 2850 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing