We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great staff, room and breakfast! Awesome value at $89.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
OK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, room and breakfast! Awesome value at $89.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Capital View was almost perfect for our trip to DC. The staff could not of been more helpful. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The shuttles to the Metro were always on time. The Capital View is worthy of its #1 ranking on TA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbowlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are proud to be No. 1 on TripAdvisor! Thank you for the wonderful comments. Since our opening in 2011, we have worked hard to become the choice hotel for travelers coming to the DC area. We'll warmly greet you at the door and extend our guest service to you throughout your stay. It's what our loyal Marriott guests have come to expect and it's what they deserve. We appreciate your feedback and your business and hope you will come by again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    197
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
231
116
45
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our recent trip to DC. I picked it thinking that with the name - Capitol View - we might have a great view of DC. Nope... too far away. But, it was a nice hotel. This is in the Crystal City area with lots of shops and places to eat. We used the hotel shuttle to the Metro each day and took the easy ride into DC. My husband would have preferred a closer hotel but the prices sky rocket as you get closer to DC. This hotel was expensive but a good value in the expensive DC market. We had breakfast each day and did enjoy dinner on Wednesday evening. Everyone was super nice and offered assistance when asked. The hotel is new and the rooms were very nice and clean. We stopped one day at Pentagon City and loved that area. The mall was great and the Metro stop is easy to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indygal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View and for sharing your feedback with other TripAdvisor users. While we are on the other side of the Potomac, across from DC, it is possible to get a glimpse of the city views from the upper floors, especially at night when the city is lit up. It is more of a Capital view (city) and not so much of a Capitol view (the Capitol itself). I apologize for any disappointment. However, it is wonderful to know that you still enjoyed your stay and that our staff was attentive and friendly. I hope you will return for another stay with us soon and enjoy a little more of what our locale has to offer. Until then...safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice new property with spacious rooms, great lobby and modern amenities. Some kinks still to be worked out -- the 'every 20 min shuttle' doesn't run that often to DCA. The room service kitchen and the front desk don't connect efficiently (room service is served by adjoining Renaissance). The breakfast and dinner buffets were 'ok' but not exceptional. In the overpriced DC market, this hotel represents a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we care about what our guests have to say about us on TripAdvisor. We want to make sure that guests return to us for the quality of our guest service and not just because it's a good value compared to other hotels in the area. I apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations, but I want you to know that your concerns will be addressed with my team and we will continue to strive for excellence throughout our hotel. We want to be your "go-to" hotel and we will continue our efforts until we have achieved this goal. Thank you for your business and we hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

First of all I want to say Majda at the front desk was amazing! She greeted me upon my arrival and made me feel welcome from the moment I walked in. The staff is very flexible - For example, they told me that if I needed a spare mattress for the pull-out couch, they could bring that up for me - AND THEY DID - no hassle! They answered my questions and provided me with information about the nearby Crystal City area. They gave me info on the free shuttle that took you to and from downtown Crystal City, as well as the Crystal City metro. There is also a free shuttle to take you to and from National Airport. Bonus! They have a little market downstairs that you can buy water, soda, snacks, wine, and beer. Oh - they have free microwave popcorn in the room. That was a great bonus! There is a pool and a fitness room, but I didn't use them, so I can't speak to them, but if they're like the rest of the hotel, then I'm sure they're top notch!
Free breakfast too! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff helped you and your family feel welcomed. Our staff truly cares about guests who stay with us and it's the attention to the finer details that sets us apart from other hotels in the area. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of some of the amenites we offer and perhaps the next time you stay with us, you'll be able to squeeze in some time for the pool and fitness center. We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is new so it's very clean. The bed is super comfortable and rooms are very specious. Staff is very friendly. There's lots of restaurants a block away on 23rd street, walking distance. Definitely recommend it for business or family.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linette1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for telling others how "awesome" our hotel is. We are the perfect choice for anyone coming to the DC area on business or traveling for leisure. The Residence Inn Arlington Capital View welcomes you with friendly service and extends all of the comforts that make a stay with us memorable. We appreciate your TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

n short this is one of the best hotels in Arlington. The rooms are awesome, the service is outstanding and the location is superb. The one thing I'd change is breakfast options. The buffet was great but lacked bacon. We were there Friday and Saturday mornings and neither time did the buffet include bacon.

Also if you plan on having ice when you get to your room you should ask them to turn on the ice maker before you arrive., there are no ice makers in the hotel because there's one in the fridge in each room.

Overall we had an awesome time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterSargent1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. I'm sure your feedback will encourage others to give us a try and we thank you for the review. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I just stayed for 3 nights at the Residence Inn Capital View in Arlington. It was a great value! The folks at the front desk were all very helpful and friendly. Was here during the shutdown so they had a list of all the attractions that were still open available at check-in. They let me check in several hours early and called up to my room after a few minutes to make sure I had everything I needed. The room was very clean and had a great kitchen area. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a complimentary hot breakfast every morning that has several choices. They also offer complimentary dinners a couple of evenings during the week if you want to take advantage of that. I didn't use the fitness room or pool but it looked nice and had lots of machines. It is located conveniently close to Reagan airport and they offer an all-day shuttle to and from the airport as well as a shuttle to the Crystal City Metro station and shops every 20 minutes. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Green Features: The hotel has a recycle bag located in the kitchen area of the room which makes it easy to recycle paper, newspaper, bottles, cans, etc.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spingirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We appreciate your business. Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. In today's economy, we feel the Residence Inn has a lot of value included in the room rate. With a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, internet, and a shuttle service to the Metro and DC Reagan National Airport, our guests can enjoy their stay without having to worry about emptying their pockets. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Address: 2850 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing