We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overall, recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Overall, we really liked this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights with our baby. We were on the 11th floor, and the baby enjoyed the views of the planes landing, trains, cars below, etc. The crib was set up in the room when we arrived. The room appeared to be clean. The staff was very accomodating including bringing up whole milk for the baby that they obtained from the hotel next door. We did not have a car, but our relatives (who were also there) did, and they said parking was 24$ plus tax per night. That is very steep. Luckily, I believe they found street parking. I also have some minor gripes such as there was no luggage rack in the room and the shampoo and soaps were not replenished after the first night. The breakfast was quite good as far as buffet breakfasts go, and there was plenty of seating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAF32082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View and for submitting a review of your experience with us. I will share your feedback with our staff as we are always striving to accommodate the needs of our guests and improve our service to ensure that every guest will not only want to return to our hotel, but will also refer us to friends and family. Our future depends on your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    182
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
218
102
38
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed six nights at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We stayed in a one bedroom corner suite on the 11th floor overlooking the airport and the Potomac River. The noise from the airport was negligible and really isn’t an issue. There are train tracks nearby and The Metro runs near also. You can hear the trains but we didn’t find them to be a big deal. The room was spacious, modern, clean and quiet.
The front desk staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. They really seemed to want to do their job correctly. The staff that worked the breakfast/ dining area deserved to be commended for their friendliness, hard work, and always trying to keep the food plentiful and the tables clean. We found the room service and housekeeping staff on par with the rest of the staff. This is a well run hotel!
We paid for daily parking which is located under the building. The spaces were a bit tight but there were always some available. It looked like there was also free street parking in the area but it looked pretty full most of the time. The hotel offers a free shuttle about every 20 minutes to the Crystal City Metro stop. They also offer a shuttle to the airport.
This hotel is in a newer developing area near several other big hotels and shopping, restaurants, etc. Riding the Metro into D.C., depending on the exact destination, ran about $6.00 round trip. Taking a taxi to Union Station in D.C. ran about $18.00 each way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side may hear the trains a little less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank profrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate your review of the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel and your business. Our hotel staff take a lot of pride in what they do and they care how our guests perceive our hotel. After all, we want our guests to come back again and again. We know you have a choice when it comes to lodging needs in the Crystal City and DC area. We need to do it right the first time in order to earn a second time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was our first trip to US. We stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms were beautiful with comfortable beds and stocked. There is a shuttle to Metro station. Location is great (about 15 min. to Downtown). Staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rezaei_saeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We appreciate your review with TripAdvisor. We know there is a choice of hotels to choose from in the Crystal City and DC area, so it's great when they can rely on the feedback from our previous guests to lead them in the right direction. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Residence Inn was a great stay. The hotel is beautiful and up to date. The rooms were wonderfully stocked and clean. They have a good breakfast in the morning. Eggs, waffles, sausages, etc. with the standard cereals, toast, etc. I noted some people complained about the shuttle service to the metro. True, it stayed busy during our stay, but the staff made the rounds more frequently when the volume increased. I noted they even provided a larger van to accomodate the influx. All in all the wait was only 10-15 mins at the max. I saw nothing wrong with this service. If we had to come and stay again, this would be my pick!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shandra205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a reivew to TripAdvisor and for mentioning the improvements we have made to our shuttle service. We understand that our guests have places to go, things to do, and people to see, and waiting for a shuttle to get them there is an inconvenience. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest satisfaction and that is why forums like TripAdvisor are helpful. We hear you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Residence Inn was very friendly, helpful, clean. We would always stay there when possible. Very convieniently located by the airport and the best part is there is a complementary shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Our friendly staff will be here for you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Pros:
- Room has a full-sized fridge with ice maker, plenty of utensils and cooking tools.
- Ample breakfast.
- Need a midday snack? There are sometimes apples available in the fitness room.

Cons:
- The free shuttle to the metro is perpetually full, so they often had to leave people behind. This is the reason I gave this hotel four stars instead of five.
- The pillows and mattresses weren't to my liking, and there was an exhaust fan over the bed that wouldn't quit.

Advice: The Renaissance Inn is on the other side of the building. Get on the shuttle here instead, and you'll have a greater chance of getting a seat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. We are taking measures to add an additional shuttle during peak times to ensure our guests of an efficient means of transportation to the Crystal City Metro. We never want our guests to feel left behind and by adding the shuttle, we hope to earn that extra star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights while attending a business event down the street and can't say enough good things about this place. My initial concern was its distance from the Crystal City Metro station (and restaurants and shopping); however, the hotel runs a shuttle service to the Metro station every 20 minutes which was very convenient. It's also not a bad walk if the weather's nice (10-15 minutes). The breakfast and evening meals were fantastic, the rooms were spotless, and staff were friendly and helpful. I've stayed in numerous hotels in the D.C. area, and this was by far the best for the price. Being so close to Reagan National is a big plus, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the building (facing the Capital).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are very proud to represent the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We enjoy taking care of our guests by presenting them with a great hotel, fantastic amenities, and friendly guest service. We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Property: Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Address: 2850 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing