We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay - location is just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a very new, very nice hotel in Arlington. The room was nicely arranged, with the one exception that the air conditioning register discharged directly toward the bed. I prefer to run the A/C at night, but the cold air blowing on my face was not comfortable. I put a bath towel over the vent. The bath area was very large with separate shower/toilette and sink areas. A small safe was in the closet. The room had HDTV with a good selection of channels. I love breakfast, and the breakfast bar was excellent, with hot items (eggs, sausage, etc), oatmeal, bagels, juices, yogurt, waffle maker, etc.
The hotel is about one mile from the Crystal City metro. The hotel has a free shuttle that circulates about three times per hour. I used it once about midday and it was fine. I don't know how busy it is early in the day. Waiting for the shuttle after a long day at work is not my idea of fun, and it makes you want to find a cab (the cab cost $7 for 2 people to get back to the hotel).
I don't think you will regret the time you spend at this hotel. If the metro location is not a problem for you and you get a good room rate, I think you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBoyBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 783 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is brand new and in great shape. The location is convenient to the metro to get downtown and next to the airport. Good for families or business travelers. No complaints.

Room Tip: Both sides are of the hotel are OK, but perhaps the view of Washington National is a little more int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanisinecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My family and I spent two nights at this property. It is within view of DCA Ronald Reagan airport and has a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport.
My room was clean spacious and very comfortable. The hotel offers a hot breakfast in the AM however the one drawback from a 5 star rating is that the breakfast is over at 9 AM Mon-Fri and it is done at 9:30 AM on weekends. The food was great tasting and had a nice presentation to the eggs etc... nothing looked old.
The winning amenity at this property is the complimentary shuttle to the Crystal City Subway station. It runs every 20 minutes and will drop you off at a restraunt area or the subway. Once by the subway you are 5 minutes to Arlington Cemetary or 5 minutes to Old Town Alexandria which has a awesome selection of restraunts and nightlife.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite and you could hear some traffic noise.. I recommend a room closer to the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartfordtravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Brand new Residence Inn just opened in March. We had a studio and it felt large enough for us with 2 kids. The staff were excellent and always willing to assist. They offer free shuttle to Reagan airport and to the Metro station. Located in a very safe and nice area and if you'd like to have a drink or a bite you can go down to the Renaissance next door. I highly recommend this place if you are visiting DC for a weekend or a long term stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I always preface my posts noting that I'm not only a travel agent but somewhat of a hotel snob. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, sans children and without. This trip is part pleasure, part business and I'm staying at both Crystal City Embassy Suites and Res Inn Capital View.

The Res Inn is PHENOMENAL. The rooms are large, airy, bright and pretty much new. They are literally apartments. Staff was nice and courteous. It is connected to a Renaissance in the farther reaches of Crystal City. Don't let the location deter you from staying here. They have a continuous loop of pick-up/drop-off at the Crystal City Metro stop. The only downsides I'd like to note, the Renaissance and Res Inn share a small pool which is always filled with children. This is great if you have kids that want others to play with but not for lap swimming or relaxation. There is no hot tub, which is critical to soaking your tired feet after a long day of site-seeing in the cold weather. Also, their breakfast, which is included, shuts down PROMPTLY at 930am, even on the weekends.

Other than the few items above, this place ROCKS! There's a Harris Teeter super market about 3-4 blocks walking distance which is a dream if you need groceries or ready to eat items. I'd stay here again when traveling with family to the DC area. The weekend prices are just below $100 per night.

Room Tip: If you miss the breakfast buffet at the Res Inn, just go to the Renaissance. Their buffet is even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here one night for business. I had a 1-bedroom suite. The property was very new, the suite was spacious with nice appliances, and the buffet breakfast was good with plenty of variety. This is one of the best residence inns at which I have stayed and I will definitely stay there again when I am in the area. Other things to know:

-I used the free shuttle both from the airport and to the metro. It was prompt and the driver was friendly and helpful. This is a very nice amenity.

-There is a grocery store within easy walking distance (Harris Teeter). It had a good selection of food and wine.

-It is very close to Crystal City shops and restaurants..

-The Mt. Vernon trail is less then a mile from the hotel. This makes a nice morning run.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IronChefNeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We usually stay at the Courtyard Rosslyn but their rates of $150 seemed a little high so we thought we would try a new place. What a delightful surprise! The room was spotless and beautiful--a suite with a kitchen, living room and lovely bathroom and king bed. It looked brand new. Front desk staff responsive, helpful and pleasant and smooth early check in. The parking fees are very high- $22 a night (compared with $10 at the Courtyard) but the $93 nightly rate made up for it. If you don't have a car, this would be ideal. I missed breakfast on Sunday so can't speak for the buffet, but the dining area was large and comfortable. The free shuttle to the metro is great, although we missed the last run at 11PM so walked back. It felt very safe and was about a 25 minute walk.
We will definitely make this our new hotel for our visits to DC. We couldn't ask for a more comfortable, quiet, spacious room.

Room Tip: Ask to get a view--our room overlooked other hotels, but believe the other side has the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22202-3592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $110 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing