We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treasure”
Review of Air Force Memorial

Air Force Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Day Tour of Arlington Virginia
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Morning DC Small-Group Bus Tour
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Ultimate Washington D.C. Area Tour by Luxury SkyVue Convertible Van
Ranked #6 of 97 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My dad was a fighter pilot in two wars, Korean and Vietnam. He also was a Tuskegee Airman. Somehow I missed that this had even been created. To stand under the centerpiece sculpture was very very powerful because it captures a pinnacle part of my dad's flying in service of his country. There's a great view of DC from here too, and it overlooks Arlington Cemetary.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank northstarvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    131
    57
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful vista”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Make sure you add the Air Force Memorial to your list of must-sees when you're in the Capitol city, particularly if you're visiting Arlington National Cemetery and/or the Pentagon 911 Memorial. You won't need more than 15 minutes to stand in awe at the soaring structure, and you will take loads of terrific pictures of DC.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paswaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“It's nice...”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

but not worth going out of your way to see. It is convenient to Arlington National Cemetary, the Pentagon, etc, but there really isn't much there. With the vacating of the nearby FOB2, parking is easy. No metro though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Off We Go. Into the Wild Blue Yonder.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

What is it about flight that is majestic? When I visited this sight, I though how we went from the Wright Brothers from Ohio to breaking the speed of sound in less than 100 years. I though of Maureen Dunn, POW/MAI a military wife who kept looking for answers about her missing pilot husband during the Vietnam War Era. A place of reverence and reflection.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial and View of the City”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a beautiful memorial both by day and at night. There is a parking lot (free) across the street and I've never had a problem finding a space here. It's just a short walk across the street to the base of the memorial.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Force Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Air Force Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing