We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for Mexican”

La Union Restaurant
Ranked #177 of 874 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Salvadoran, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good spot for Mexican”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I never would have found this place were it not for previous TA reviews, and I'm glad I looked. Not really near anything in Arlington, but not too hard to get to if you have a car. The service was very good, the food was wonderful (enchilada trio and beef nachos), and the atmosphere was appropriately casual. Dinner for 2 was less than $20 (no alcohol), which is hard to beat. An excellent choice if you want casual Mexican food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Great Food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

La Union is one of my favorite restaurants. The staff is always very friendly as they welcome you into the restaurant and take close care of you until you leave. The pork and cheese papusas are my favorite and I really enjoy the enchiladas too. During my last visit, I tried the sour cream chicken enchiladas for the first time and they were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cobmets8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Pupusas”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I ordered two kinds of pupusa, a taco plate, and a Pilesner and couldn't finish. They don't do things small at La Union, and the service is amazing; casual but attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to lunch at La Union with four co-workers. We had a fantastic lunch, it was enjoyed by all and rated highly by all. The menu was comprehensive; and the food was very good with generous portions. Most entrees in the $9-$12 range. The staff are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineaux FromAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat La Union for Mexican and Salvadorean within the city of Arlington. There are several places around, but nothing else even comes close. Nothing fancy here, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating, the food is fresh, authentic, and delicious, and it's inexpensive (by DC standards). Great service, highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flapjack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing