We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite”

La Union Restaurant
Ranked #169 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In an area with lots of first and second generation Latino immigrants, you've got to be good to survive and La Union is better than good. I had one of the house specialties, El Tipico, and my wife had the chicken enchiladas. Both were excellent. And I recommend the Pilsener, a Salvadoran lager. Service on a busy Saturday evening could not have been more attentive. We will be back - often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FSR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great El Savadorian!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Chose this on Tripadvisor, and weren't disappointed. A simple family/local cafe feel. Friendly helpful service, great selection. Food tasted great - definitely a keeper!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobtdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh and good Salvadoran/Mexican food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came to La Union for a weekday lunch, around 1:00 p.m. Simple but pleasant decor, soccer game playing (softly) on two TVs in the corners, very clean. There were some tables occupied, but it wasn't crowded; it was definitely quiet enough to hold a conversation, which I appreciated! We were greeted immediately by Joey, who smiled and made us welcome, and promptly brought us menus and water. We shared an ample "California burrito" plate which had two burritos, plus guacamole to go with the free chips (fresh, thin, crunchy!) and salsa. I also added a cheese and bean pupusa, which was served with a simple slaw with hot sauce splashed on it--delectable, perfect. We truly enjoyed the food, which was well-balanced, not too much nor too little, nor drowned in cheese/sauce. We'll come back for sure. I recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobtrotterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Freindly and good”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's not fancy but the food is very good and the service friendly and efficient. A popular spot with locals and visitors are make to feel welcome. Definitely worth a try for a quick lunch or diner and beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rca2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service in a casual family atmosphere”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We picked La Union based upon Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very glad that we did. It is a small, family place that is very relaxed. Our party of five was seated quickly and our server was friendly, courteous and very funny. Our party ordered a wide variety from beef tacos to the Chicken Piccata (which was excellent.) For those dishes that had rice we all noticed how it was light and fluffy. I enjoyed the Salvatorian beer. Several of us had the fried ice-cream for dessert, while two others shared the Flan (delicious). Overall a great value as well. Parking is a bit limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing