We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food, negated by consistently poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Bernie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thirsty Bernie
Ranked #281 of 840 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: American, Bar, German
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, negated by consistently poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Been coming here for years despite poor service because of their good food and location. German items on the menu are the best - service level is below some fast food restaurants. Slow delivery, unapologetic management, indifferent (to the point where they seem blind) bartenders...done forgiving them and leaving them good tips in hopes of better service next time. I guess it was the wrong reinforcement for that behavior.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank currahee506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sports Bar in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I go to this place all the time to watch sports games. They have ok food but they have great rootbeer and LOTTS of TVs with games on it. Great place to go

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celtics500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Service was horrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Yes, the half-priced burger on Tuesday was good. No, the Old Bay encrusted fish in Fish and Chips war too encrusted. Yes, the fries, onion rings, and sweet potato fries were good, BUT nothing can repair the horrible service by the waitress. She was less that friendly at the beginning. They used to be dog friendly. We sat outside with our dog. Asked if they had a plate to feed her the purchased burger. The waitress said no, they didn't have anything. I asked for a styrofoam container to use. She didn't bring it. I had to flag her down to ask for it again. We never saw her again after the food came. We waited quite a while to see if she would come outside again. She didn't. I needed more iced tea. I had to get up, go inside, couldn't find her, so I asked the Bartender for more tea. He came out and brought me more tea and saw that my mother also needed water. He brought that out too. I guess he couldn't find our waitress either. We asked for the bill. The waitress finally came out with the bill and was real sweet. I guess she thought that might help her tip--not!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dog-loving place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

They try to use organic and even cure their own meats. We mainly go because they are dog-freindly. It has a nice but, small seating area outside. They also have specials like 1/2 priced mimosa on Sundays--always nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey sportsbar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ballpark prices on draft beer. A quick bite out turned into an $80 tab for 3 people. The food was mediocre. Will not return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hatmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Bernie also viewed

 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Thirsty Bernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing