We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service but annoying A/C” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, FL, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good service but annoying A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for a week in Unit 801, a 1BR suite, in July, 2014. It is a great location on a plaza connecting to the Courthouse Metro station. Lots of restaurants and nightlife and grocery stores in a walkable radius. I asked for a high unit and the front desk staff complied with my request and gave us a 1BR suite on the 8th floor on a corner overlooking Clarendon Ave. Noise level was fine, but probably would have been quieter to be on the inner plaza side, the higher room numbers. My only complaint was the screwy airconditioning system, which really affected my comfort. Basically, you could not use the thermostat to set the a/c only--it is a combined heat/cool system. So, it would blast the cold air until the temp dropped below the temp on the thermostat, and then, instead of just turning off the cool air, it would kick on the heater! In the middle of the summer! We tried to set the thermostat a little higher, but would find that the heat kicked on. We often just turned off the hvac and opened the window, which only opens 2 inches. To make matters worse, the vents blast the air directly onto your face while you sleep in bed, or right on you while you sit on the couch in the sitting area. I got a head cold while staying here, and I think it was the a/c system.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior side (away from Clarendon Ave) are quieter -- they have the higher room number...
See more room tips
Green Features: Frankly, not a big concern of mine when choosing a hotel room
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Jill S,
Thank you for your positive comments on the location of the hotel and the service provided by our staff.
I sincerely apologize that you had problems with the air conditioning unit in your room. The unit in your room was not functioning correctly. If it had been, once you initially set the thermostat to cool, the heat would have never come on.
I am confident that had this issue been brought to my attention, we would have been able to correct the problem in your room. If not we would have moved you to a room where the air conditioning was working correctly. We also could have adjusted the vents in your room, if we had known that they were directed in a way that was making you uncomfortable.
We strive to insure that our guests enjoy a comfortable, trouble free stay while at our hotel and I apologize again that we failed to provide that experience for you.
If you would give me a call at 703-312-2101, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with us.
Sincerely,
David Ofiesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My experience with this Residence Inn is a very positive one. Most notably, the hotel's general manager was very professional and accommodating in handling a special request of mine. Besides the good management, the hotel was very comfortable and I was pleasantly surprised by how big the rooms were (really, they more like suites). We also really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which was not your typical "continental breakfast" comprised of a few donuts and cereal. In fact, there is a full buffet-type island area with a lot of good food including (make-your-own waffles station). I had only stayed one night for a wedding but would definitely come back when I am visiting the area.

Room Tip: Stick with a standard room, it is very spacious with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGLT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I spent a long weekend at this hotel with my kids. A perfect location, very clean rooms, welcoming staff. Breakfast was typical of Residence Inn. Proximity to restaurants, whole foods, metro. Pool was clean and had a lifeguard.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. The service is top notch. It is a quick walk to the courthouse metro station and there are no shortage of restaurants and the cvs drugstore are within walking distance. The free breakfasts, and dinners three times a week are great although the dinners are hit or miss for my liking. The free wifi is reliable and easy to use.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The most delicious, varied complimentary breakfast buffet I have encountered at any hotel, ever. Waffles, pancakes, eggs, sausage, fruit, yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, cereal...it was unbelievable.

Steps to the metro (orange line). Free wi-fi was nice. Hotel room was good (standard). I still can't get over that breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealcanuck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I had a wonderful stay. Immaculate room (even kitchen was not sticky) huge fridge for small groceries. Love the fresh warm cookies given upon checkin. "Full breakfast" served with everything you can think of and varies slightly from day to day- from yogurt to fruit to eggs, ham sausage, danishes, bagels, toast custom waffles with fruit toppings too-Something to suit everyone's taste. It's in a great quiet and safe neighborhood and DC attractions are a short train ride away. Train station about 2 short blocks away. I went for a business trip but I'm bringing my family back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlythebest4usall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a great place to stay when in Arlington.. Close to the Metro to get into DC, also many restaurants within walking distance ( a mile or so).
You will have to pay extra to park in the underground garage,, that's standard for hotels around here. a wonderful breakfast each morning for the guests.Staff is friendly and helpful.
Please hang the "do not disturb" sign on your door..once in a while the room make up folks like to get an early jump.. no big deal.
Coffee is always available downstairs..
We felt safe here and staff was friendly.
We will choose this hotel when we next visit.

Room Tip: I like the upper floor rooms.. Only a personal preference
See more room tips
Green Features: They will only remove towels that are on the floor. If you leave it some on a towel racj they will remain.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank August M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#15 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.7 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Business Hotel in Arlington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing