We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were in the D. C. area petal peeping , Cherry Festival, and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for
three nights. The room was large and comfortable, fridge, flat screen t.v. Although the location is a bit away from D.C. proper, the shuttle which runs between the hotel and Pentagon City is convenient and hassle free once you learn how to buy metro fare cards! We enjoyed coming "home" to the Village at night because of the many good restaurant choices outside our front door.
The room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The shuttle ( from the hotel) was easy, a phone call away when coming back at the end of the day. Would definitely recommend staying at this Hilton. Once you park the car you don't need it 'til end of stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    240
    57
    21
    5
See reviews for
331
217
65
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I took our 2 grandsons for a visit to DC in April. We chose to stay in the HGI Arlington/Shirlington, and it was a great choice. The room was comfortable, well decorated, and very clean. The breakfast was excellent, and free for the grand children. The hotel is located in the charming Village of Shirlington with many restaurants with outdoor seating and a grocery store in easy walking distance. The hotel offers a free van shuttle to the Pentagon City Metro station, which made travelling into DC very easy, and parking at the hotel is free in a covered parking deck across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpm0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stay at a lot of Hilton Garden Inns because they are generally of nice quality for the price. This hotel is no exception. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly related to the parking situation (see below). Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel is located in a walkable little village with lots of restaurants and a few shops. It seems to be conveniently located to DC; we were here to go to Mt. Vernon, which is about a 25 minute drive. Some things to note before deciding to stay here: 1) The parking garage is free, but not attached to the hotel, and it's a bit of a walk. Drop off your bags in the lobby before parking your car. 2) The pool is just a narrow little lap pool (the picture on the website is a bit deceiving). When we went to the pool, people were literally just sitting in it because that's all you can do in it. 3) The beds in our room (with the sleep number adjustments) were just not comfortable. We've had these types of beds before and they were fine, so perhaps it was just our particular room (which is why I give the hotel 4 stars instead of dropping it to 3).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Background:
Stayed here for a night with 3 other people for Cherry Blossom festival in DC. We drove to DC with our own vehicle.

My background is pretty important because I really like this hotel for the particular situation that I was in.

Positives-
Location- roughly 10-15 minutes from downtown DC by car because it's right off the highway. Not sure how long it would take by public transportation. (I don't know for sure but I would imagine you can make it back by using metro/bus combo).

Size of the room- We had 4 people, and it's hard to find a room in downtown DC with 2 Queen size beds. The room itself is pretty plain with average Hilton garden inn standard.

Value- very good price considering the location & room size. Hotels in Dupont circle are farther from Tidal Basin yet they cost a lot more.

Cookies- They had complimentary cookies at the lobby. By far the best cookies I've ever had. (other people agreed too). I generally don't expect much from complimentary snacks at the lobby, so this was a pleasant surprise.

Negative
The positives I outlined could be negative for others. For instance, if I took a bus to DC for a night, I don't think I would've booked this hotel because the idea of taking multiple public transportation or taking a cab among all the tourists just to get back to my bed is not worth it in my opinion (especially after all the walking around the mall).

In summary, very good hotel for families on road trip. If I were to drive by DC, I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came here on business and had a fantastic experience. Usually stay in DC but my client suggested this Hotel. The staff is outstanding and the accommodations clean and comfortable. Outstanding breakfast choices offering both buffet and cooked to order meals. Had a wonderful business dinner at Carlyle s within walking distance of the Hotel. Town is even better at night a must see. Had such a good experience brought my family back two weeks later thanks to some help from Kirsten in the front office.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best thing about this property is the location! It is very convenient to National airport, it's in a very nice, upscale shopping/dining area and parking is free. On my visits to the NOVA area, Shirlington is a favorite area for dining with a variety of restaurants. The hotel is very well maintained with a very friendly and helpful staff.
Parking can be tricky on your first visit for check in - a tip would be to park in the free public parking structure across the street and not to park in front of the hotel, only to move your car into the structure after checking in. It's a very convenient stopping point if you will be visiting around the Arlington/Alexandria area with a car. The downside is that it is not close to a Metro station, but a shuttle can be arranged for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bromeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We usually stay in Alexandria when we go to DC for a weekend and decided to try something different. After a long day of walking around Museums it was great to go back to the hotel and relax in the whirlpool and pool. There are at least 10 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and we enjoyed three diffent cusines. I highly recommend the hotel. They also have a 6th floor roof deck to enjoy the sun.

Room Tip: We are ex-smokers but for anyone who still smokes request room 641 which is close to the rooftop dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing