We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location to tour Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very convenient location to tour Washington DC”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

You can easily take the metro from this location. We had a car as we traveled outside DC to see Air & Space (near Dulles) and Lincoln's summer cottage. Parking is $12/night which is a bargain in DC. Very clean room and amenities included microwave, refrigerator, and coffee makings in the room. Good quality sheets and towels. Many local restaurants nearby (easy 5 minute walk). We were on the 8th floor. Very polite staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    287
    73
    29
    9
See reviews for
387
259
77
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We traveled to DC for two weeks to spend Thanksgiving with our daughter. We booked the Garden Inn because of its convenient location and excellent price on Expedia. The hotel is wonderful: large spotless rooms, free internet, free parking across the street, shuttles to the metro. Meals were not included in the price, but since our stay was long, the hotel gave us vouchers for free breakfasts (great buffet and eggs, pancakes, etc.). We will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We visited family in Arlington for the week of Thanksgiving and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 6 nights. Our room was spacious and quiet, and included an HD television and a small refrigerator. The hotel is located in a retail area with more than 8 restaurants, a Harris Teeter grocery store, a public library, and a movie theatre that is only a block away. The price is reasonable at about $100-130 per night. Parking is free in a nearby parking deck. The hotel shuttle offers free service to the airport and metro. Also, the hotel added a nice touch by setting out a bowl of fresh fruit during the day and a plate of fresh cookies in the evening. There is a jacuzzi and a small indoor swimming pool (but the pool hours were only from 5 pm to 10 pm on weekdays, and 10 am to 10 pm on weekends.) One small problem was that the nice, warm comforter on the bed had a slippery lining that caused the comforter to move around too much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent and helpful, guest oriented people. Great services, shuttlw to the metro and the airport, excellent restauranta around.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfonso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Recent visit to Washington DC for Marine Corps Marathon & stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The service was outstanding; from the 24 hour shuttle van, the very friendly desk attendants, and delicious cookies in the evening, we loved it all! Thank you for making our trip a truly awesome experience! God bless & I recommend your hotel to anyone visiting the DC area, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMILLE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

In a nice neighborhood with plenty of restaurants to choose from. Stayed for 8 days and the room was clean. However, the room had been smoked inn and the staff was not very friendly. Half the time the didn't understand the questions we askedvand the shuttle was unorganized. Made it into D.C. Much quicker with the rental car.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is nice, clean and in a good area. Many restaurants are located within a short walk of the hotel. Also, across the street is a market.

To catch the metro, you have to take a shuttle and the hotel offers a free shuttle to Pentagon City. The shuttle rides can use some organization, I had signed up for a ride to the metro but more people showed up for a ride and not everyone could fit in the van. I was just told that I would have to wait another hour for the next shuttle because they only had one van running that morning even though I had made a reservation.

The rooms are nice, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling2funxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206-3437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing