We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in a big city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little oasis in a big city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We visited family in Arlington for the week of Thanksgiving and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 6 nights. Our room was spacious and quiet, and included an HD television and a small refrigerator. The hotel is located in a retail area with more than 8 restaurants, a Harris Teeter grocery store, a public library, and a movie theatre that is only a block away. The price is reasonable at about $100-130 per night. Parking is free in a nearby parking deck. The hotel shuttle offers free service to the airport and metro. Also, the hotel added a nice touch by setting out a bowl of fresh fruit during the day and a plate of fresh cookies in the evening. There is a jacuzzi and a small indoor swimming pool (but the pool hours were only from 5 pm to 10 pm on weekdays, and 10 am to 10 pm on weekends.) One small problem was that the nice, warm comforter on the bed had a slippery lining that caused the comforter to move around too much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    256
    63
    24
    5
See reviews for
350
231
68
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent and helpful, guest oriented people. Great services, shuttlw to the metro and the airport, excellent restauranta around.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfonso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Recent visit to Washington DC for Marine Corps Marathon & stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The service was outstanding; from the 24 hour shuttle van, the very friendly desk attendants, and delicious cookies in the evening, we loved it all! Thank you for making our trip a truly awesome experience! God bless & I recommend your hotel to anyone visiting the DC area, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMILLE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

In a nice neighborhood with plenty of restaurants to choose from. Stayed for 8 days and the room was clean. However, the room had been smoked inn and the staff was not very friendly. Half the time the didn't understand the questions we askedvand the shuttle was unorganized. Made it into D.C. Much quicker with the rental car.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is nice, clean and in a good area. Many restaurants are located within a short walk of the hotel. Also, across the street is a market.

To catch the metro, you have to take a shuttle and the hotel offers a free shuttle to Pentagon City. The shuttle rides can use some organization, I had signed up for a ride to the metro but more people showed up for a ride and not everyone could fit in the van. I was just told that I would have to wait another hour for the next shuttle because they only had one van running that morning even though I had made a reservation.

The rooms are nice, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling2funxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Be warned, if there are two cars in the "unloading" area, you are going to be circling this hotel for 30 minutes, because there is no where else to park. Actually, thre is in the deck which is a little walk, but they don't let you drive right up there (I would park and walk to check in and then place the tag in your car after). There are no gates to the deck.

Just a little frustration that turned into a very negative experieince. If you go in prepared, it is actually a great hotel in a nice walkable area.

Room Tip: If the valet drop is busy, go to the 4th floor of the deck and park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aschwegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here for four nights on business. The area that the hotel is in is nice. There are lots of restaurants to choose from in walking distance. The hotel is on the newer end. The room was clean and the sheets were crisp. However, for some reason, the room smelled like dust. It was as if the furniture sat in storage for a long time before being brought to the room. I'm wondering if this was just my room, so if you smelled the same scent, please write about it. It made it hard to sleep at night. Also, the parking garage is a huge hassle. You have to go all the way to the fourth floor and drive in a circle path that is not clearly directed. The elevator is very slow and the garage is not attached to the hotel, so if it's raining, you better have an umbrella.

The staff was not very friendly. One staff member, whom I believe is named Dhemian, was the worst. He was often checking his phone, didn't look up when people approached the desk or walked into the main entrance and answered my questions with one word responses as if he was too busy to really respond. When I asked for the phone number to call to catch the shuttle upon my return to the Pentagon City station, he merely pointed to the business card at the end of the long check in desk and went back to what he was doing.

Not sure I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnydays2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206-3437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing