We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Stay at an affordable price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at an affordable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My family and I arrived July 16 and stayed until July 19. This hotel is located in a very upscale new neighborhood that has lots of amenities, including a 24 hour supermarket across the street and many restaurants to choose from. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the room was very clean, big and the bed was comfortable. While the hotel is not located near a Metro Station, there is a hotel shuttle that is very accommodating and will drop you off / pick you up at Pentagon City, which only adds a few minutes to your travel time. The shuttle driver was also kind enough to make a special stop for us to the Pentagon 9/11 memorial! Be sure to check out the terrace on the 6th floor... Not very big but a nice place to relax after a long day of walking in DC. The hotel does have a pool and a hot tub. The pool is not large but our 11 year old daughter enjoyed it anyway! The breakfast buffet is wonderful....made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes, fruit bar, bagels, danish, etc... make sure to get breakfast as part of your hotel package! This is a great hotel to stay in that is much cheaper than most hotels in the DC area and I would definitely recommend and stay at again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom2Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    252
    60
    23
    5
See reviews for
341
227
68
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is our new Washington DC are hotel - period.

The hotel is exceptionally clean and comfortable. Our room was fantastic (tip - check the rate for a 1 BR suite - it wasn't much more and 1 BR, 2 bathrooms / fridge ... NICE!) The bed was awesome, the views were stupendous. I usually put pros & cons, but there are no cons.

There is a 24-hour grocery store across the street, and awesome restaurants (Caribou Coffee and Best Buns early, then Guapos in the evening). There is also a library and movie theater in the complex.

It's not walking distance to Metro, but there was an ultra-reliable shuttle with a terrific driver.

Their breakfast was terrific! (Not free, but awesome...)

Free parking - in a garage no-less!!

I honestly have nothing to say that is negative at all! Highly, highly recommend...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professorroyhinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Hotel was in a very nice area. Free parking and good shuttle service to the Pentagon City Metro station. Great selection of restaurants literally right around the corner from hotel. Nice place to stay for visiting DC attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is in a super neat location for starters. The streets are beautifully landscaped and lots of outdoor cafe's. People are out every night. It has that home away from home feeling. The hotel is super clean and really nice. The hotel staff are very accomodating. They offer a free shuttle anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Their price is a little high, but keep negotiating with them. We got our room for $97.99 a night. It was totally worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I checked in Saturday 07/09/2011 for a week. Although we are here on business, we couldn't have picked a better hotel. The hotel sits in Shirlington Village which has a grocery store and many resturants to choose from. I am able to work from the room while he is at his conference during the day. Everyone is extremely nice and helpful from the Fron Desk Staff to the Shuttle Drivers. There is a guest laundry which is always helpful for those that pack light. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We used my wife's Hilton Honors rewards points for a quick midweek getaway to D.C. and couldn't have asked to find a better place to stay. You have to give up a little travel time into the city but the hotel has a shuttle service to and from the nearest Metro Station. We thought the free parking and shuttle was an easy trade off to spending more to stay in Washington. The Front Desk, housekeepers and shuttle drivers could not have been any more welcoming or helpful. Room was clean and quiet. Only issue our kids had was the tiny pool. But as I pointed out, we were not there to swim.
The Village at Shirlington area where the hotel is located, is one of the neatest places we've ever stayed. Small two block area with a lot of different dining options, a grocery store across the street, a theater. I said if I had to move to DC for work, this would be the ideal place. All in all, great 1 night stay. Will definitely be on the list for our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdonmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a really nice hotel that is very close to lots of great places to eat within walking distance. Since I was on business travel, have good convenient places to eat close to the hotel is important. Check-in was easy, but the front of the hotel was a little tricky to find especially since the parking garage was across the street, so drop off your luggage first so you dont have to drag it all the way back to the hotel. Upon getting to my room, I had a nice note from management welcoming me to the property. The room was spacious and clean, but the bed was not as comfortable as I would like. Another inconvenience was that the metro was not within walking distance, but the hotel has a shuttle available to take you to the nearest station as well as other nearby stops. Parking was free, but you have to park in the higher floors and also was an inconvenince to drive all the way to the top of the garage and all the way down every time. Overall a good stay for business travel, but I probably wouldn't stay here if I was on leisure travel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtee733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206-3437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing