We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Value & Wonderful Family "Camping"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds
Save
You added Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds to your Saves list
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value & Wonderful Family "Camping"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I just got back from two nights at this great campground with our 8 month old daughter. The cabin was really clean- LOVED that it looked like a lincoln log house! There was plenty of room for our pack 'n' play. The double bed and bunk beds are in the same room. (The 'mattress' is about 2.5-3 inches thick....NOT cushy at all, so be prepared. The value of the cabin, the atmosphere, and the location to Mount Vernon totally make up for the hard bed. (This is 'camping' so you can't expect a perfect night's sleep!) We loved the porch swing and cooking over the fire. The restroom facilities were clean. Note: You can't bring your own firewood- unless it's from their county- they sell 6 pieces for $6. We would totally recommend this campground to others! Lots of memories await!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickledSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. We had two excellent sites on the inner loop adjacent to the open field in the center and the playground. We had one travel trailer on one site and a Class B RV and tent on the neighboring site.

Campers tenting across the road and even those further down the road from us felt entitled to walk through our sites at any time - alone, with their kids and/or their dogs. Some walked within a foot of the Class B RV and then by the tent between 7 AM and 8 AM waking those sleeping. A kind request to avoid cutting thru our sites was loosely honored but mostly ignored.

Speed limit of 10 mph was posted but campers drove around at will at 20 to 25 mph. Very dangerous for kids.

While the CG was superb, the staff was casual and helpful, it was a generally unpleasant stay given the rude neighbors. I don't get the sense of entitlement those people had. Had we walked thru their sites to walk oyr dog I am sure they would have gotten upset.

Was very convenient to Mt Vernon and the bike trailhead there....our real focus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisfromSEPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The trees and well maintained grounds of the RV campground are beautiful and seem to call me to wander through them. A nice large playground in the center with swings, slide and all manner of devices for kids to crawl over make it friendly for small kids as well. The Waterpark wasn't open while we were here, but it looked fun from our vantage. We camped here in a 38 foot motorhome and had no problem getting around and into place. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and there is a metro station about 6 miles away.

Room Tip: Get a reservation early as the Full Hookup sites can fill up fast over busy weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Overall a nice campground, though beware that about a third of the campsites are ridiculously small (no idea how you'd even fit a tent onto some of them). Also, some of the tiny sites are right on the edge of a semi-steep ravine, so having a toddler could be interesting (there will be almost no where to play, except on the edge of the ravine). In our opinion, the good sites are (roughly in order, starting with the best): 56, 35, 119, 37, 34, 36, 113, 112, 62, 8, 11, 7, 5, 58, 33. That's ranked based on size of the site, privacy, and view. It's not taking into account proximity to bathrooms, playgrounds or other amenities... We would rather walk to that stuff, and have a nice, big site, with a good view. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, mi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was perfect for myself, my 11 year old son, and my 8 year old niece. The water park close by (in the camp ground) was great for the day of our arrival. The restaurants near town were great for the kids to try some new food and familiar cuisine (spaghetti at the Italian place). The 30 minute drive to DC was good as well. For a little over 50.00 a night, what a great bargain! It has a fridge and AC, a fire pit, restrooms nearby, and clean showers. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Choose any cabin, there is a minimum stay required. Choose a cabin near the back side, closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taggy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We camp with family and friends every summer and this was a good pick for us.

The Positive:
Pohick is centrally located and accessible for folks in VA, MD and DC. The park is clean and we really enjoyed the waterpark. We stayed at the waterpark all day Saturday. At the campground, there is a large green area with a playground and lots of space for kids playing kickball and frisbee. We also enjoyed a wonderful nature walk down to the water.

The Negative: Although most of the sites are a good size and flat, a few on the outer ring are especially small and uneven. Our site was odd and we struggled to find a good level spot for out tent. The next time (and we will come back) we will look for a site on the inner ring next to the open green field.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at this campground for 2-3 day visits in spring, summer and fall. The staff was friendly, sites reasonably maintained. There are few options for camping in the D.C.area, and we are glad to have this one to turn to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bltc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#66 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#21 of 37 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#48 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

Property: Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds
Address: SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Arlington
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing