We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great camping weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds
Save
You added Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds to your Saves list
SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great camping weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We camp with family and friends every summer and this was a good pick for us.

The Positive:
Pohick is centrally located and accessible for folks in VA, MD and DC. The park is clean and we really enjoyed the waterpark. We stayed at the waterpark all day Saturday. At the campground, there is a large green area with a playground and lots of space for kids playing kickball and frisbee. We also enjoyed a wonderful nature walk down to the water.

The Negative: Although most of the sites are a good size and flat, a few on the outer ring are especially small and uneven. Our site was odd and we struggled to find a good level spot for out tent. The next time (and we will come back) we will look for a site on the inner ring next to the open green field.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at this campground for 2-3 day visits in spring, summer and fall. The staff was friendly, sites reasonably maintained. There are few options for camping in the D.C.area, and we are glad to have this one to turn to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bltc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here while visiting the DC area. I visited in the late fall / early winter and it was so vacant that it was spooky. Also, it gets dark so quickly and there aren't many lights throughout the park. The park staff were very unfriendly. However, the value is good, especially to be 20 miles outside of DC. Definitely do not try to drive into DC from this park between the hours of 8am - 11am. I was stuck in traffic for almost 2 hours. Instead, take the VRE from Lorton, VA which is a few miles outside of the park. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers left alot to be desired. However, they were warm, which was a plus. As a woman, I didn't feel very safe by myself, as there weren't many lights and it didn't seem that the park staff patrolled the campgrounds very much. The foliage was beautiful and it is a nice park, I just wish that the staff had been friendlier and that it had felt safer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pirategrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the Pohick Bay campground this past weekend. The staff at check in was more then polite and made sure we knew where our site was since we were checking in after dark.

The sites was clean and kept. We had a full hookup site.

The park is close to DC and about a 20 minute drive to Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummaiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took our kids (aged 5 and 2) on a camping weekend here and loved every minute of it. The camp sites are wooded, so much so that when it started to rain we hardly felt a drop. There is a very nice playground in the middle of the campground loop, and wooded walking trails down to the waterfront, where my kids had fun fishing and throwing rocks in the Potomac/Pohick Bay. The restrooms were very clean and bright. We had such a blast that the first words out of my daughter's mouth when we woke up was "When can we do this again?" We will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a campsite on the outer edge of the loop for a bit more of a secluded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SevillaNoDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great campground. Very wooded and plenty of room and trees between neighbors. Very comfortable tent camping. Several sites backed to the large playground/area which I would think would be very nice if you have kids. Even had a washer/dryer (but didn't use it). Perfect location, it is quite but only about 30 min. to the Metro stop. Then another 30-40 min. into DC. Kate in the camp store was very helpful and know's her DC sights.

The water park that is next to the campground didn't look that spectacular. It had a few slides but that is about it. It was large and wet - which is part of the point of a water park.

Room Tip: Sites 32-38(?) or so - the back loop for tent camping. Around the playground for kid camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We love this campground! We have a pop-up camper and love to kayak. Campsites here are spacious and wooded to allow some privacy. We usually get a site with electric and water nearby, but you definitely need to reserve in advance for hookups. Sites have picnic tables and fire rings. Bathrooms/showers are fine, nothing fancy (it is camping after all!) and usually pretty clean. The park is on the Potomac and you can walk trails through the woods to get to the water. There is a public boat launch area with a parking lot with a small fee to launch your boat. The location is an inlet/bay off the main part of the Potomac, with little boat traffic (except for the annoying person who lives nearby and water skis there). There are eagles and other birds and wildlife throughout the bay. The whole park is very natural and quiet - you would never know you are so close to a major metropolitan area. There is a pool/water park within the park that is great for kids - they charge a small day fee. When you get tired of nature, you can take the metro (about a 15-minute drive) into DC or anywhere in the area. It is also very close to Mount Vernon and worth driving there for a day trip. You can also walk the trail or drive to nearby Gunston-Hall Plantation for a tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leevin_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#74 of 112 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#35 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

Address: SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arlington
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#