We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What you Pay for”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You Get What you Pay for”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Walked in the room and my first reaction was that I wished I had paid the $250 + charged by the other hotels in the area. The rate is great and the service was good, but the overall feel of the place was "seedy." Although it was probably well cleaned, it didn't "feel" clean. Sorry.

This would make a great investment property, however, if someone were to really update it, i.e. more than just new paint and carpet. The whole 60's motor inn, kitch is cool. And the location is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yosup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
37
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in May on a trip to visit Washington. We decided to stay here as the rates seemed very expensive in DC, we were on a long vacation so wanted to keep our costs down
The rates for the Highlander is $99 a night. I guess you are paying for the location. If the Motel was anywhere else I don’t think they could charge anywhere near that amount.
The location was great only 5 minute walk from the metro station so it was easy to get into Washington. I think the ride took about 20 mins.
The room was large with two double beds. The sink was outside the bathroom but that didn’t bother us, The room was clean, you could smell the bleach when you walked in but I personally hate the smell of bleach so it did put me off a bit. The motel also had free wifi so that was good. We had a room around the back so couldn’t hear the road, I would recommend asking for a room there, as the motel is on a busy road and the front rooms would probably be able to hear the roads.
About a 15 min walk away there is a great diner and there is also a shopping mall about a 10 min walk away with a good food court.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank startrax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed here with my teenage son, and was extremely happy with the stay.

This isn't a luxury hotel... no pool, no room service, no fancy restaurant or bar in the lobby, etc. That said, if your stay in DC is like ours was, you will be out and about in the nation's capital so much that those additional features won't be missed at all... you just need a quiet and comfortable place to sleep and shower between outings. This is exactly what you get at the Highlander.

The Highlander offers very comfortable beds, quiet neighborhood, friendly staff, free wifi, a short walk to the metro, a minifridge, a grocery store and a 7-11 nearby, and a price tag that won't give you a heart attack. I booked this hotel online at an extremely reasonable rate for the area, and arrived to find that they had a weekly rate that saved me even more. The TV in our room was a DVD combo set, so we used the DVD rental machine at the nearby store to get movies and watch them in the room. That cost a dollar, while watching the same movies on the in-room on-demand systems would have cost nearly ten at other places.

There are some really good eats nearby... the pizza at Mario's (next door) is excellent, as is El Pollo Rico, a Peruvian chicken place across the street. There's also a Starbucks and a Cosi Deli down near the metro station.

Bottom line, if you have the money to pay the $250-$300 per night that the chain places are asking and want to be pampered, this probably isn't the place for you. On the other hand, if you are on a budget (and who isn't these days?) and want to stretch a 2-3 night vacation in the DC area into a week-long stay for the same price, consider the Highlander.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayk1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I recently started using the Highlander when visiting the NSF, saving in the process a bundle. It is a short 10 min. walk, safe neighborhood. Perfectly correct little motel, if you are not a fancy kind of guy. Good sleep, no noises.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerXYZ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

At first look this hotel is not impressive, however it is clean, well-run, and in an excellent location. Rooms are modest but comfortable and very well maintained. The location is ideal for Arlington and access into DC. Service was excellent. There are also many nice dining choices within easy walking distance. Everything was good except there was some late night arrivals in the parking lot who were a little loud as they settled in and the pillows were VERY hard and uncomfortable. Other than that, the stay was great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SciTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Clean, no bed bugs, free parking, good location, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paranoida123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The Highlander Motel is an excellent option for a traveler on a budget, who needs a convenient location near the Clarendon Metro and within walking distance of many restaurants and bars in Clarendon. This is a classic motor lodge with updated features. It is clean and quiet if you get a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOVAGuy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#43 of 51 in Arlington
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 51 in Arlington
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 51 in Arlington
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#40 of 51 in Arlington
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Property: Highlander Motel
Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
#32 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlander Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing