We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent p[l;ace to stay”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Clean and comfortable, convenient, and cheap (by DC standards). What more could you ask for? Nice people behind the desk. Highly recommended. I flew into National and took the subway to Clarendon, and it's about a 5-10 minute walk from there. My meetings were in Ballston, and that was a 10-15 minute walk in the other direction. Great location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 208 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2009

I stay at the Highlander whenever I am in the area. The rooms are updated and clean. The service is excellent. The neighborhood is safe. There are many, many restaurants of all types to choose from in walking distance. For shopping you have the Pentagon City Mall; just a short bus ride away. Georgetown is just as close with all of its eccentric offerings. For my money there is no better deal in the DC area and I have checked them all out.

Ed Gautier
[--], ed@janelco.net

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the location is convenient for the DC area. For the area, this was the best price around. It's no frills, but I was there for sightseeing so I didn't spend a lot of time in the room. After a long day of sightseeing and walking, it was back to a clean, comfortable room before heading back out. Just what I needed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoJude6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed at the Highlander for a week and were very pleased with our experience there. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsmeraldaColombiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Can't beat the location or the price, $100 a night with free parking (Sheraton wanted $25 per night). They just upgraded the wireless internet access, I got 4 bars in room 57. Also, had a nice 32" flat screen TV with HD. The HD channels are down below channel 2 on the TV and you can't direct access them from the remote, you need to use the channel down button. Also, they had a mini frig in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diam0ndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Highlander Motel is lower-priced motel, 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station in a safe college/residential neighborhood area. One Metro stop from the 4-story Ballston Mall with restaraunts, food court, Cinema and Harris Teeter supermarket. Near motel: pizza, 7-11, Peruvian restaurant; at Virginia Circle metro exit: Starbucks, "quicky mart", etc.

Rooms are clean and simple: large HD-TV, mini-fridge, phone, AC, free WIRELESS INTERNET with decent speed. No other hotel frills. Lobby has morning coffee pots, fruit and muffins; ice. It's a small motel, but if you're having busy days, site-seeing or conferences, it's more than satisfactory to shower and rest.

Highlander is about a half-hour metro ride into DC so wonderful for site-seeing stays. Mixed guests: families, business people, a couple long-term tenants (one lady with a room of stuffed animals, odd but harmless). I am single white female and felt confortable there.

I would stay there again for sure. Reasonable price and convenient location. Contact: info@highlandermotel.com

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tdubita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I have been here a couple of times and had a similar experience to the NSF visiting reviewer. I'll add that they now have wireless internet, however it's a bit flaky (though almost every hotel wireless I've used has been unimpressive). The hotel is close to many government buildings (ONR, NSF, etc.) in Arlington as well as Virginia Square metro station. Rooms are generally available, even on short notice. On the downside some familiar things like ironing board in the room, closet door, closed hallways and the like are not here. Also when I arrived this time my door was closed but not locked, and the tv was on with a chair in front. Just a bit...weird. Another room with its shades open was filled with hundreds of stuffed animals, and the tv was on. Not necessarily bad, but certainly different. Anyway if there were any ~$175/night slightly nicer places that were as conveniently located I'd probably stay there, but it seems to jump from this (~100) to $250+, (at least what's available), so I'll probably continue to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ktraveller3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#31 of 52 in Arlington
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#40 of 52 in Arlington
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 52 in Arlington
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 52 in Arlington
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
#32 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $100 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlander Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing