We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit NSF without the sticker shock”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“visit NSF without the sticker shock”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

If you are in Arlington for a NSF panel, and are upset about paying large sums for an average room in a high-rise hotel near Ballston, Highlander motel is a good economical option. My colleagues paid more than twice as much, and also were charged for WiFi access. At Highlander WiFi is free and gives a strong signal.
The rooms are reasonably clean if a little threadbare. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept as well as at home. The friendly staff are attentive. The shower was fine. The free breakfast was pretty basic, but there is a Seven-Eleven very close, to stock the fridge in the room.
The neighborhood is nice. There is no real street noise overnight. The 12-minute brisk walk to NSF is a good way to wake up before a day of sitting around. I will definitely stay here again on future trips. Closest Metro stop is probably Virginia Square-GMU on Orange line.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
37
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

As other travelers have said, this place can be off-putting on the outside, but the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom looked freshly renovated; all the plumbing works flawlessly. Fridge in the room. Free internet works well also. On an absolute scale, it would be nice to have a coffeemaker in the room, and real instead of plastic glasses. But for the price of $99.95/night weekdays, when everything else in the neighborhood is well over twice this price, this one is a gem!

Room Tip: Probably best to have a room at the back; front facing on Wilson Ave could be noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stars4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Va
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Don't be put off by the Ugly Duckling appearance: this is a clean, well-run, well-maintained establishment and a terrific bargain for the price. While living in the DC area I had seen it many times, but never took it seriously until I had to visit on my own personal dime. It was only the good reviews on line that made me consider it, and I'm very glad I did. My room was on the top floor (yes, walkup); clean, quiet, with two beds, a desk, a nice TV and cable, WiFi, a mini fridge, and a renovated bathroom with a big walk-in shower. I asked for a microwave, which was delivered very quickly. Parking is, of course, included. Two blocks from the Metro, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Real coffee, real orange juice, real fruit and bagels in the morning. Can't be beat for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting DC. The metro station is a super easy 2 block walk away and the motel is in a great location within Arlington itself. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom looked recently renovated, great water pressure in the shower. The room came with a nice fridge. It had some quirks, like the air unit blew super cold or just as a fan. The whole place looks a little outdated, but was clean and a really inexpensive stay. The staff was great, and super friendly. We will definitely stay here again on future trips!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I don't think one can beat this for a frugal trip to D.C., especially at the weekend rate. We stayed on a Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, so we got the $79.95 rate for each night. Clean rooms, good beds, everything worked. Free parking. Nice modest little continental breakfast (one day with fresh strawberries), including yoghurt. A short walk to the Metro, and then a very short, and inexpensive, Metro ride to the Mall. (We actually walked to the Mall the first day, but finding the right route was a bit difficult, and this wouldn't be for everyone, I know). The neighborhood is fine. My only suggestion for the motel is that they get the breakfast out by 6 am rather than their scheduled 7 am. They actually did do this when I made a special request, but I had to ask three different people for each of the three nights, as the over-night person on duty changed each night, and finding the right person was a little difficult to do.

Room Tip: We got a room on the back side, so traffic noise from Wilson Blvd. wasn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classicaphilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Highlander Motel is inexpensive yet the rooms are clean and the stay comfortable. The Motel is near a subway station and a pretty active neighborhood. Really can't complain and a good place to stay when visiting DC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have stayed here many times and will be booking again later this year. It is very close to GMU Law Library (which I use) and walking distance to the Metro (which I use). People are nice; no frills but if you want to get to DC or No. Va. and get some work done, without spending a ton on lodging, this is the best value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqDC96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#26 of 51 in Arlington
443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#43 of 51 in Arlington
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 51 in Arlington
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#40 of 51 in Arlington
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 51 in Arlington
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Property: Highlander Motel
Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
#32 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlander Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing