We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Old Time Gem At The Right Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of Rosslyn
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Old Time Gem At The Right Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Inn of Rosslyn is one of the few small independently run family motels in the heart of Rosslyn conveniently located next to the metro and vibrant restaurants along Wilson Boulevard. In terms of value, it cannot be beat. The price is right with simple rooms that are very clean with outstanding service. Even the towels in the bathrooms are carefully folded and ruffled inviting you in and showing an underling effort to attention to detail.

Built in the late 1950s, it brings back hints of old time travels and a microcosmic view of what Rosslyn once looked like with its many small businesses and restaurants mixed in with the brick houses. Most impressive are the bathrooms with their small ceramic tile interior finishes that are carefully maintained to include the grout retaining its spotless cement colors. Clearly, someone has taken a lot of pride maintaining this building over the years, to include the exterior walkways. After experiencing this old time gem one can take a five minute walk to Wilson Boulevard and enjoy sushi, a “hell burger”, Italian dishes, or Lebanese food at many of the modern restaurants in the new Rosslyn.

Every time I enter the front desk – reception area with its large windows, I have experienced a warm welcome from the staff and especially the manager, Judy, who has a pleasant non urban greeting making you feel comfortable and truly appreciated. If you need any support they are always willing to help.

I can say many more good things about this place and highly recommend it for families, couples, or individuals looking for value and convenience just across the river from Washington D.C. It is a five to fifteen minute drive to the Mall, White House, Georgetown, and Arlington Cemetery. For those seeking quiet, the low sounds of traffic from highway 50 are not that significant and can be overcome with turning on the TV. Also the traffic is all but gone by 10:00 PM to 6:00 AM.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    61
    29
    18
See reviews for
73
69
51
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We reserved a room here for one night on Memorial Day weekend, and it ended up being a disaster. We were running later than we thought and had been told earlier that there would be someone in the hotel's office until midnight. We were running late due to traffic and called the hotel's office at 11:30 pm, and the person there told us that they would wait for us. When we got there, the office was closed and we saw a sign on the door that said "Will return in 10 minutes." After waiting for about an hour, knocking on the door, ringing the doorbell and calling multiple phone numbers affiliated with the hotel, we saw that this sign was obviously a complete lie. At this point, we tried calling as many other hotels as we could find, and everywhere in the area was fully booked, seeing as it was Memorial Day weekend in the Washington, D.C. area. Therefore, we had to sleep in our car because of this place's horrible customer service. One of the phone numbers I was given by someone at a sister hotel affiliated with the Inn of Rosslyn was the cell phone number of a manager. Not only did this supposed "manager" not answer his or her phone that night, but he or she didn't answer the next morning either. Finally, after I got a text asking who it was, I sent a detailed message back explaining the situation and of course got no response. I called the main number for the hotel and made sure I got a refund immediately and didn't even get an apology from these people. Giving me my refund right away was about the only thing they did right. Do not go here unless you want deplorable customer service and to deal with people who don't want to take responsibility for anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjhereth1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Inn Of Rosslyn was dated but one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. Staff were friendly and organized. Wifi, TV, A/C etc all worked fine no problems and beds were cushy. Even the breakfast was pretty good (bagels and donuts). I was surprised at the quality of this little hotel.

Location is about a 5 min walk from Rosslyn metro station. Only downside is there is no CVS or anything nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daninjapanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights with my dad while in the area for a sightseeing trip. The hotel was clean and safe, our two biggest concerns. Adriana at the front desk was very helpful and provided directions to nearby restaurants. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaS8403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Inn of Rosslyn. I chose this hotel based on reviews on Orbitz and TripAdvisor. I really only needed a place to sleep that was clean and reasonably priced. In these regards, it hit the mark. There were a couple of issues though, once of which was resolved and the other not. I wasn't able to get any heat in my room until the last night - I asked on the second night about it and was told to put the thermostat up as high as it would go and in about an hour I would get heat. I did this but I didn't have any heat until the next night. Also, the wi-fi would not work with my iPad or iPod - it couldn't be found even when I typed in the network name. Those devices worked fine with other wi-fi networks, but there are some where it just won't work - so be aware if an iOS device is your only way to access the Internet via wi-fi.

Other than those two things plus the outside street noise and being in the landing path of Reagan Airport (noisey) the hotel was fine. Very clean both the room and bathroom. Very good shower water pressure and lots of hot water. No elevator for those who may need that. Lots of channels on the TV, small refrigerator in the room plus and iron and board. I didn't partake of the continental breakfast - coffer, bagels and donuts but it looked fine. It was a quick 10 min. walk to the Rosslyn Metro station, although they would have provided either a shuttle bus or taxi voucher if I didn't want to walk. Except for the noise, I would stay here again for sure. It could be the rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter - I would avoid rooms 1, 17 and 18 from a noise perspective.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 17, 18 and 1 to minimize outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DebbieinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Found this hotel on-line. The price was so much less than hotels in the same area. Reviews I read sounded good. It is definitely an old hotel but the room is spacious and clean. People working there are friendly and helpful. Martine spent a lot of time giving me directions and telling me what was in the area. Although it is on a highway, I slept fine, not noisy at all. If you are looking for something fancy this isn't the place. But it is a good night's sleep and a decent price. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarman200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at this motel because of the price and the location. It is very old, but clean. Martine works at the desk and is really kind and helpful. Donuts and coffee in the morning for free. There is a frig in the room but no microwave. I didn't mind as I at most meals out. Rosslyn metro is close by, within walking distance. I would absolutely stay here again when I'm back in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggmafrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#30 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#16 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#42 of 50 in Arlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Property: Inn of Rosslyn
Address: 1601 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3002
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of Rosslyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing