We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2010

CLEAN. This hotel costs less than half of what others in the area charge and they don't layer fees on you once you get there. Hotel is old but CLEAN. They ought to rename it "The Time Warp." Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is better than what I get at home. A very quick walk from the Crystal City metro stop if you go through the Marriot Crystal Gateway hotel. You can walk to the Pentagon in less time than it takes to walk to the metro and ride it in. Guests here are friendlier and seem to interact more than at other hotels; kind of like we all belong to the same Time Warp club or something. Free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockyTop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in January while I was driving a School group into DC. I had to stay here because of easier parking for a 24 pass. bus that I was not able to park in DC easily. This hotel is definitely from the 60's and almost frozen in time. Lobby is almost original and sign out front is original. The room keys are old school and you have to remember to lock the door since there knob does not stay locked. Door knobs should always be able to require a key every time you walk in your room, but they don't. My room was ok but needed some attention to detail such as wall work and light fixture having paint drops on it. The phone in room has got to be from the 70's even though it is touchtone. Located in a weird spot where you had to stand and talk.
For folks in wheelchairs, the lobby is not easy to access. You have to step up from the driveway and step down from hallway and elevators. You can get to room from the parking lot elevator which is closed from 6pm to 6am. Otherwise you have to come in through lobby after 6pm.
Note that when you see hotel on Rt. 1 south, you have to exit off onto 15th street turn rt. then next rt. on Eads st. then right into driveway where 2 white brick light posts are. Hotel has an exit ramp in front of it after Rt. 1 got turned into a freeway in the late 80's.
The comp breakfast has some great pastries, bagels and Kashi Cereal in the dispensers and donuts that would put dunkin to shame.
Ideal hotel for a bus driver and bus, airline personnel being close to Reagan National, and anyone wanting save money for DC travels. They have a courtesy minivan that will take you to eat, Airport and shopping.
If you park a bus there, leave it there during your entire stay. They have Day parkers there that will make it difficult during business days to park bus there. There is the Metro stop nearby at Crystal City that can take you to DC and Arlington Cemetary and Pentagon.
I would gladly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguinlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Hotel was old, but clean and comfortable. My room was very small, but had a desk for working on the computer and all other necessities. Refrigerator came in handy, a microwave and coffee maker would have been nice. Bed was very comfortable, stong heater in room which was good for the cold winter days! Free parking and free wireless internet a plus! The bathroom was tiny! Only a few inches between toilet and shower and the tiles were Peptobismol pink which was a little hard to take. Door had a metal key (how retro) and a door knob with a simple old fashioned lock like you'd have in your home, so if you forgot to turn the lock it wouldn't lock behind you. Didn't feel very secure. But the neighborhood seemed very safe and the metro was a 5-10min walk away. It was by far the cheapest hotel I could find in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, but if I had more money I would certainly look for another hotel.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank szafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This is an odd little hotel, a motel almost from the '60's, but very well run. Extremely clean, attentive service, decent breakfast, free wireless, local transportation. A surprisingly good value only a few metro stops from DC.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRP456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My son and I just returned from a stay at the Americana and we were pleasantly surprised. The location is extremely convenient - just a block from the Crystal City Metro station, so it's very easy to go into DC. There is also a hotel shuttle which will take you to the Metro or other Arlington locations. We never used it, but the staff offered it to us several times. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating.
This is an older hotel and not fancy, but it was very clean, and our room was spacious. Our room faced a busy road, so it was a bit noisy, but not enough to keep us up at night.
The Americana's prices are about half what you'd pay at other hotels in the immediate area. Free breakfast and free parking are included in the price. We will definitely stay at the Americana again the next time we visit DC.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pattycakes726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is a small hotel (looks more like a motel) in Crystal City that provides all the basic services that a traveler needs. It isn't fancy, but it is clean and comfortable. The staff are quick to provide anything that is needed. Parking is easily accessible and free. A shuttle takes you anywhere you need to go in Crystal City, or to the airport or Pentagon City mall. The metro takes you right into DC or Alexandria. If you are looking for an inexpensive, safe, clean and convenient hotel then this is the place for you. I will definitely stay there on my next trip. I paid less than half as much for two nights as I would have paid in the next least expensive place in Crystal City for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I arrived the day after the 1st hugh Washington Blizzard. They had the parking lot plowed, although the streets were not. The staff was pleasant and assisted me with getting the room warmer as it was 19 degrees outside. Their van was available to take me to my conference at the Ritz and I only paid 1/3 the room rate. Lots of good restaurants within three blocks.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pafrugle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
3.7 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#41 of 52 in Arlington
219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#32 of 52 in Arlington
292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 52 in Arlington
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $72 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing