We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality despite the weather”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I arrived the day after the 1st hugh Washington Blizzard. They had the parking lot plowed, although the streets were not. The staff was pleasant and assisted me with getting the room warmer as it was 19 degrees outside. Their van was available to take me to my conference at the Ritz and I only paid 1/3 the room rate. Lots of good restaurants within three blocks.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pafrugle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

I work in downtown DC a couple of days/week and I've stayed in ~10 hotels in the area (from Dulles to Greenbelt). My goal has been to find a hotel close to downtown, that doesn't cost a fortune. I think the I've found that in this hotel.

Key points:
-Hotel is older (still has keys, not cards to access rooms), but clean
-Updated TVs with straight cable access (not the usual hotel interface)
-Rooms are dated, but clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

I give this hotel a high rating because it combines excellent location with very low prices. I have not found anything comparable. It is located near hotels that charge two or three times as much. The room decor is like the 1950's but it is clean, comfortable, everything works, and they have even provided a small frig. The continental breakfast is fine and they have wireless internet. Parking is free. What more could I ask for in a location so close to downtown DC and Reagan National Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicurus444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

If you want a decent hotel room at a great price right in the middle of Crystal City, this is the place to stay. I have been using this hotel for 20 years and I keep going back there. Just can't bet the value.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbuddie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The Americana was a great hotel for the budget traveler. Most hotels in the area are twice the price. Although you can't expect Marriott amenities, the rooms are clean and have the basic traveler needs; iron, TV, internet, etc...
The shuttle service was extremely flexible. They will take you anywhere. The staff was friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobowillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed there for 6 nights. It's very good hotel, very good continental breakfast with donuts, milk, cereals, cream cheese, etc. The room is wonderful and clean, the furniture is old, but who cares?
It's a very good location, few meters from metro station, it's very quiet at night, with a good price.
My only complain its about the staff at the lobby. The woman didnt care about the fact that we were not english speakers, and spoke very fast all the time (no good morning, good night or even a single smile). But again, we were there for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulistaSorocaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

This hotel is really a great bargain. For $69 a night, we got a queen size bed, a mini fridge, cable television, free parking, a clean room, and free breakfast along with friendly staff! Parts of the hotel were being renovated when we went and were looking like they were headed in a more contemporary direction. Everything was very clean though and well kept. The hotel is also 5 subway stops from the Smithsonian stop (about a 10 minute ride). The subway is 2 blocks from the hotel. There are also 4 shopping centers within 3 blocks of the hotel and many places to eat. The walk is easy and in a safe area. If you are not looking for an updated room, but for a bargain within a close distance to everything you must experience while in D.C., this is the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelyladyoflaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $90 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing