We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic clean rooms at an unbeatable price”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“Basic clean rooms at an unbeatable price”
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Americana is a bit of a throwback to the 1960s (50s?) but has basic clean rooms at an unbeatable price.

One negative is that there are keyed locks that don't lock automatically. In other words, when you leave or enter your room and close the door behind you, it will NOT be locked unless you actively lock it.

The Americana is located close to the metro (3-4 blocks), though you do have to walk on a dirt trail adjacent to an empty lot and then underneath the Jefferson Davis Highway to reach it.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank beeArm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    639
    213
    55
    37
See reviews for
381
408
150
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2005

We used to live right next to the Americana when we lived in Arlington, and we referred family there all the time. It's inexpensive and very clean. I needed to stay in the DC area on short notice for two nights in March, so I went with the Americana. Yes, it's inexpensive and clean. But the furnishing are really old. The phone looked like it was 20 years old and the sound on it kept going in and out. But the real dealbreaker was the door lock. Someone could easily break into your room. The hotel is not in a bad part of town by any means, but I noticed some homeless people out and about at night. My wife was thinking of staying here in a few months on her next trip to DC, and there's no way I would feel comfortable with her here given my concerns about safety. I'd much rather that she pay an extra $100 to stay in a nice, secure location.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank everglades_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 10, 2004

Looks kinda scary from the outside, but the hotel was clean inside and the rooms were nice enough. Good breakfast. FYI...the walls are a little thin.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2004

While looking for a place to stay for our vacation to DC, I almost booked a room for $150 (and thought this was going to be a good deal). At the last minute I checked out the Americana Hotel and am glad that I did. It was only $75 a night, which is unreal for that area. The hotel was nothing phenomenal, but it served the purpose. It was a nice, clean, comfortable, place to sleep at night. While on vacation, you don't spend much time in the hotel, so why spend a ton of money on a room. Here are the details:

1. Very affordable, only $75 a night
2. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the Metro (best way around the area)
3. Shuttle to pick you up from the airport and to bring to some local places.
4. Nice breakfast of donuts and muffins.
5. Clean and comfortable rooms with refrigerators.
6. Friendly staff.

Our stay there was fine and I would stay there again. They would probably do better if they had a web site with more information and pics.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ybnorml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2004

We just returned from a visit to Washington, D.C. On the recommendation of a frequent visitor to the area we stayed at the Americana Hotel in the Crystal City area of Arlington. We couldn't have been more pleased. It was exactly as expected. Very clean. The beds had Marriott names on them, so I know they were second-hand but they were the most comfortable motel beds I have slept on in years. We paid half the price of the "brand" hotels. The metro was a five minute walk down the street. If you didn't want to walk, the shuttle was always available and for the return trip just a phone call away. I think the longest we waited for a shuttle was about 15 minutes and they were very apologetic about that. I will be recommending this hotel to anyone going to the D.C. area.

Helpful?
11 Thank karen99403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2004

I recently stayed at the Americana based on the high ratings that others had given. From what I had read, I was expecting something basic, but clean. What I discovered was that while, indeed, the rooms were pretty clean and everything worked, the word "basic" is an understatement. It is REALLY dated, REALLY no frills. Built in the mid-60's, it appears never to have been upgraded since. The lobby is spartan with a bare terrazzo floor. The complimentary breakfast was donuts, bagels, juice, coffee.
Also, while I believe the area around the hotel is basically safe, on the night I stayed, I was awakened at 3am by a group of people loudly carrying on outside my 2nd floor patio window. Whether they were guests, employees, or locals, I am not sure, but it was disturbing and made you wonder what kind of security the place had. Another security concern: the place still uses old fashioned room keys rather than magnetic strip card locks that can be reprogrammed after each guest.
SO, ....why stay there? 1.) great location (2 blk from metro); close to Reagan Nat'l Airport 2.) cheap price: Americana $75 vs the Marriot one block down $275.
If you are looking for just pure utility value and can keep your expectations low you might be happy at the Americana. If you are looking for contemporary style and comfort, I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NPFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
2.5 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing