We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay in Arlington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Arlington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Great place to stay when visiting DC/ northern VA on a budget. I stayed there for two days instead of at the hotel hosting my conference, saving me $120 a night. Building is on the older side and rooms have some older style furnishings and decor, but furniture was in great condition, and the rooms were impeccably maintained. No chipping paint, torn cushions, uncomfortable bed, etc. Staff were young but very personable. Location was great - about 1.5 blocks from Metro entrance and shuttle took me to hotel straight from National Airport. Room was quiet and great spread for breakfast - unlike the nearby hotels that charge twice as much. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a good, clean hotel with great location in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlaposat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    592
    200
    51
    36
See reviews for
358
369
143
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Rude staff, very basic rooms. Not bad for subway and local shopping centre. Didn't have a great nights sleep due to inconsiderate neighbours.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dempsey_Family08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

Great place, friendly staff, comfy beds, wonderful (free) breakfast bar. Close to everything (mall, site seeing...)

  • Liked — Location, great rooms and wonderful staff.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank heathr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

This place is bed bug city! Cheapness clearly comes at a price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank LondonN1Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

I arrived late on Christmas afternoon, very tired from traveling. When I checked in, I was assisted by a young woman who seemed annoyed that she had had to stop whatever she was doing and wait on me. I asked about restaurants and she mumbled something about five blocks away, call a taxi. Then she gave me my room key and dismissed me. I had to ask directions to get to my room.
Hotel room was rather seedy looking. Battered furniture, old ac/heater combo that was so noisy that I couldn't hear the TV. I also had a hard time sleeping because I had to keep getting up and adjusting the setting. But the worst thing was the bathroom. The automatic exhaust fan (which ran whenever you turn on the light) was loud enough to wake the dead. So unnerving that I had to do my hair and put on my makeup using the mirror in the actual room. The hairdryer provided in the room was broken, and when I asked for another, that one was also broken, but when I told them there was a problem with it, they didn't follow up at all and so I had to use the room heater to dry my hair.
The breakfast setup was OK, but no hot cereal and no fruit, and only one kind of juice. But there was plenty. It would have been nice if they'd had a microwave because there are refrigerators in the rooms. I spent some time in my room working, and the internet connection was not too good, but I managed. I wished the management kept coffee and tea in the lobby for the guests.
Overall, I guess for $79 a night (and I stayed 3 nights) it was OK, but next time I will stay somewhere else. I think if I looked around more, I would have found something better for the price. If I were a business traveler I would have found the Americana unsuitable because it is rather run-down and would not give a good impression to business guests. But for someone on a personal visit and looking just for a place to sleep, you could do worse. At least it's clean.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — noise - noisy heater, noisy bathroom fan
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beautifulady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GER
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed at the Americana for two nights in December 2008. We looked for a non-expensive deal close to the National Mall in DC and found the Americana.

We were more than satisfied. The hotel and the furniture is somewhat dated, but everything is clean and nice. Staff is friendly and helpful.

We had a King size bedroom ($165 for 2 nights) on the 4th floor. Continental breakfast is ok, they offer a number of different doughnuts and muffins, bagels and cereals and so on. Very good: Parking on their premises is free.

Nearby are the Crystal City shops, an underground shopping and restaurant area (5-min walk). The Metro stop is also there, and the yellow and blue lines connect you to the National Mall in just a few minutes.

We'd definitely stay there again, a perfect location for a short and affordable visit to DC.

  • Liked — Free parking, very close to the Metro station
  • Disliked — Keys in our room door weren't working very good, you needed a while to open it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CannibalsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

We stayed at the Americana for 5 nights in November. It was our first time in DC, and we checked the reviews, and decided the Americana fit our needs. It was close to the Crystal City Subway. The hotel was indeed very clean, and we had no complaints about the room. We would stay there again, and I have been telling friends and relatives about how clean the room was. I just wish there had been someplace to eat within walking distance.

  • Liked — clean and convenient to subway
  • Disliked — not within short walking distance to someplace to eat
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oregonresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.4 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#16 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing