We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked the Americana due to location, price, and free parking! I came across a recommendation for this budget hotel by accident and I'm so glad I did. For $63/night, we received great service, a clean room, A/C, mini-fridge, wifi, free shuttle wherever we needed to go, and a continental breakfast.

Our room was small, but that didn't matter as we spent each of our 5 days out exploring Washington, D.C. The hotel is only a short walk from the Crystal City metro station, where there are also tons of restaurants. It's also a four or five block walk to the restaurants on 23rd Street (I was able to do this walk at 26 weeks pregnant).

If you're on a budget and don't mind the short commute into Washington, choose this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyslota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great review! It makes our day to hear we were able to provide the right combination of service, cleanliness, free amenities, location, and price, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Warm Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    567
    194
    48
    34
See reviews for
344
344
139
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, free coffee and cheap! If you are looking for the latest on fashion, stay elsewhere. If you want a clean room , near the Pentagon and downtown Washington, in the heart of Arlington and crystal city- stay here. Rooms for several nights cost les than a single day in nearby competitors and free parking and continental breakfast. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Has both stairs and elevator access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience with us! We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, friendly staff, valuable amenities, and great rates, and can't wait to see you the next time you're in the area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

a wee bit difficult to find, but well worth the trip. rooms are large, clean. the furnishings are old ("vintage") but well maintained and functional. this is NOT the Ritz Carlton nor do rooms cost 400/night. the lobby staff were fabulous, very helpful and concerned for quality, polite and well informed. free shuttle service was also provided to local restaurants etc..
the breakfast in the lobby was quite impressive for such a small hotel. The parking was free- a big help in keeping costs down! bedding was comfy- not too hard or soft. Pillow good too. there were small fridges and TVs in each room and wifi avail if needed. quiet, clean safe and very very convenient for activities near the Pentagon. we will definitely book for Oct 2014!!!
overall an exceptional value-

Room Tip: no restaurant or bar, but lobby well stocked with breakfast items, coffee, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in hotel Americana during our visit to Washington, D.C. It is close to Crystal city metro. A great location. Pentagon City Metro and Pentagon Shopping mall both are close by. Ours was an early morning flight so we had written to them asking for an early check in. We were allowed to check in early and they also upgraded our room as the room we had booked was not available for early check-in. We stayed on the 2nd floor. The bed was super comfortable. Room was clean. Toilet is small but clean and we had no problem with that. Hot water is available all the time. Breakfast was good with quite a few options to choose from. Wifi was free and had excellent speed. They have a free shuttle which leaves every half hour. Staying in D.C can be very expensive so I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Going to D.C from Arlington was very easy, just few stops in the metro. This is the best deal I could ever get. Staff was also nice and helpful. Americana Hotel is value for money.
Just one suggestion to the Hotel guys. It would be nice if you can keep a clock in the rooms, I had to look for my cellphone to check the time. Rest all good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitiAgni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay while on our trip to dc. We found this place in a hotels.com book and had a coupon for 63 dollars a night now I know why they had rooms available on such short notice. The rooms are ok but very outdated. It was outside, the bathrooms are dated at about 1950 era, the beds are without fitted sheets, still had a 1990 TV set that was broken and had 47 channels the "heater" did not work. I didn't expect it to be perfect! You most definitely get what you pay for. The halls smell like mildew and the room smell musty and stale. The door has about a 2 inch gap between the door and the floor so with it getting colder we are without heat. There is an embassy right next door! Wish I would of looked a little further! Oh well thank god we are only sleeping in this room!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nessybabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Yours is not a typical experience at our hotel, and we hope you'll accept our sincerest apologize for the discomfort you detailed. As you mention, we are an older property, built in 1963, and our bathrooms are original; many guests enjoy this retro charm, and we are sorry to hear you did not. Many of our rooms have been updated recently, but considering the dated furnishings you mentioned, it sounds like you chose our most budget-friendly option. Even our budget rooms, however, should be clean and comfortable, and we apologize that you did not find your room as such. We never purposefully rent a room with a broken TV or heater and hope you were able to let our front desk agent know so they could move you to a room in good working order.

Again, please accept our deepest apologies.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Washington, everything is so convenient, food, Metro train station, free car parking, breakfast, clean large rooms where everything works and all at a reasonable price.

What else can you ask for? Helpful staff? They have that too.

This is a second time here, we enjoyed our stay last time and just as much this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a standard queen room. For the price on weekend nights ($63) we got more than our money's worth. I'm sure the updated rooms are lovely but for our needs it was not neccassary. Close to everything, friendly staff, coffee every morning, and we felt safe. Will book again when in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shyfunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing