We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel and GREAT Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and GREAT Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Americana for two nights in March. I loved how close it was to the Metro. The room was pretty nice. We got one of the renovated rooms and we all really liked it. The room was spotless and I LOVED my balcony, because I could see the Washington Monument. The breakfast area was small in the lobby, but it was still good. The only complaint that I really have was that the A/C was in the hallway so we weren't really getting fresh air. Oh and I didn't like that there was a window in the bathroom that also faced the hallway, yes it was frosted and no one could see through it, but it was still uncomfortable. The price was very good for the location that it was in and I loved the free parking. Next time we go to DC, we will definitely be staying at the Americana again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_footballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    609
    202
    51
    37
See reviews for
361
383
147
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were really impressed with the Americana hotel. Really good value for DC and close to Crystal City Metro, so perfect for getting straight into the centre of DC. When we arrived the guy on the front desk, Quentin, was really friendly and helpful and went out of his way to make suggestions for nearby places and gave directions. They offer a free shuttle to the Metro (I think) and Ronald Reagan airport (definitely). The bed we had was, without doubt, the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Breakfast is a little bit limited but still ok, hey it's a free breakfast so no complaints. I would definitely recommend the Americana to anyone going to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbutleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I give this place a 4.5 out of 5. The only bad points are the corridors and breakfast area are just not very clean. However our room was spotless, it had a very very comfortable king size bed, plenty of towels and toiletries and hot water, the donuts and cereal for breakfast was great and the owner was very very friendly, she told us all about the history of the property and you can tell the hotel means everything to her.We loved the retro sign, such a shame it can't be at the front of the property where it can be seen better from the road. The location is perfect and it's very easy to get to all the attractions.in DC.

We will be returning next year with our children.
Donna & Matt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donna1981xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Very accommodating with check-ins ( our flight got into BWI at 8 pm and we did not get to the hotel til after 11 pm). The bed was comfortable as was the room. The bathroom was very retro. I am only 5'6 and the sink was really short as was the shower head. But for the price is great and if you are not going to be hanging out in your room definitely worth it. Really close to the Crystal City metro station which will take you in to DC. Free breakfast can never go wrong with that and very accommodating, also provided late checkout at 2 pm which was good because are flight was not leaving until late in the afternoon. Would definitely s

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayLexicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, accommodating staff, convenient location, great price, and valuable freebies, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from 2 nights at The Americana. The location was great. An easy 5 min walk to the Metro. The free shuttle service was great. Took us to Crystal City for dinner and then came back to pick us up when we called. The price was great. Free parking. Free breakfast. The hotel is clean, safe, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're really glad to hear you appreciated our great location, free shuttle service, free parking, free breakfast, great price, clean, comfortable rooms, and friendly, helpful staff, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our entire team. Thanks again for the kind words--we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you want luxury with a high price attached, this is NOT the place. If you want a comfortable bed, a quick Metro ride across the Potomac, friendly and helpful staff, a great shuttle service, and a reasonable price, this is the place for you. We stayed here for four nights a couple weeks ago and were so pleased with our choice, which we based on other Tripadvisor recommendations. Shuttle service was excellent, picking us up from Reagan, driving us to dinner on a rainy night, and dropping us off at our car rental location when we left. The convenience of a nearby Metro stop was wonderful; plus, we found a couple of places by the Crystal City stop, which were perfect for Happy Hour at the end of each of our busy days. The breakfast is limited in its choices but all we needed to get us going each day. We would definitely stay here again!.

Room Tip: Our third floor King room was quite spacious and included a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teacherperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words! We really appreciate your kind words and will be sure to pass them along to the rest of our team. Thanks for pointing out all the benefits of staying with us as well as the price considerations of staying somewhere else. We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a flight to catch in the Morning from Washington DC and wanted to stay someplace close by the airport which had a Free Shuttle service. Americana was the cheapest at $69 a night.
I had to call the Hotel for the shuttle which arrived in 10-15 min. The check in was smooth since I had done online booking. The room was a single queen size bed for 1 person. I was a little surprised to see how small the room-bed was. But since I had to spend one night ( rather few hours) it was OK.
The bathroom door did not shut properly (till I gave a big push)- Bathroom was ok... not dirty - but not clean either.

The windows were dirty ...I mean really dirty ..the windows were locked/jammed I could not go out of the balcony. The heater in room worked for 10 mins then use to switch off only to come back again after 15-20 min.

The bed was decent...sheets were clean... small CRT TV in room... free Wi-Fi, Iron and Iron board, small fridge, a small study/work table with chair.

Overall the cheapest in the locality , I think. Had a normal B'fast in morning with some fruits, cereals, milk coffee juice. The shuttle again in the morning to drop me to the airport


Overall only good if you want to stay for 1 or max 2 nights and someplace near to the airport and don't wanna spend to much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitinmalik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing