We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Americana!”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have stayed there quite a few times over the years and always a pleasant experience! Love the staff, who have been there for many years, it is nice to see their friendly faces year after year! Rooms are always clean! Love the fact that you can get up and go for a morning run, or walk to shopping and feel safe!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words! We sincerely appreciate you staying with us over the years and are glad you've enjoyed your stays. Thank you also for taking the time to write such a lovely review; we agree that it's wonderful we've been able to retain so many great people for so many years and will pass along your compliments to our entire team. Thank you again, and we hope you'll get a chance to come back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the Americana many years ago, so when we decided to visit DC again we were able to remember the name and checked to see if it was still in business. Lucky for us it was. It is still a wonderful place to stay. Within walking distance of the metro, great selection of food for breakfast, clean rooms and the employees are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We're so glad you remembered us! Our repeat guests and their referrals are our life blood, and we sincerely appreciate every one. Thank you for pointing out our convenient location, clean rooms, and super employees; we couldn't agree with you more and will pass along your kind words to the rest of our team.

Thank you again for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review. We hope it won't be so long before we see you again!

Sincerely,

Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Take it as it is, but the location and price cannot be beat! It's clean, awesome location to the Metro (the stop is located a block away, under the Marriott), friendly staff, and after staying here yearly for the past 17 years, cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your kind words about our clean hotel, great location, friendly staff, and unbeatable price and will surely pass it along to the rest of our team. As for staying 17 years with us, all we can say is WOW! You've been with us through thick and thin and we can't say enough how much that means to us. We hope the changes we've made over the years have been welcome and that you'll certainly let us know what we're doing right and wrong as we continue to do our best to earn your loyalty!

All the best,
Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our daughter and granddaughter had a flight cancelled out of Washington in December and were directed to the Americana due to price restrictions. They were greeted warmly and given a room for two nights. The front desk personnel were very helpful throughout their stay and provided them with a phone charger and information about the area. It certainly put our mind at rest to know they were safe and warm and had people they could count on if needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NenuPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We're glad we were able to help your family when their plans were disrupted. Many times, people don't know where to turn when something like this happens and they just need a clean and affordable place to stay, so we do all we can to offer the friendly welcome and comfortable stay they need at such a time. Thank you so much for writing a review and hopefully we can see you all the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from July to Oct 2012. Our daughter lives 2 blocks from here and was undergoing chemotherapy and we maintained a room here on a nearly permanent basis during that time.

Here's the short take: Not fancy. Reasonably clean and decently furnished. The employees were usually polite and once aquainted with me, they were friendly and helpful. This being across the river from the nation's capitol, I was surprised by that. It's close to the Metro (a biggie) and Reagan Airport (another plus). The cost? Excellent. I will stay here everytime I'm back in the future.

Plenty of parking at the Hotel and you are within easy walking distance of a large (read expensive) shopping area called Pentagon Row. Lots of good eats over that way also.

Note: If your network connection is important, see tip.

Room Tip: Tip: The internet emitters are located at each end of the guest floors. The closer to the middle t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobytronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing a review! We're glad we were able to help your family during a difficult time and sincerely appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We all wish you and your family the best in the future and certainly hope to see you again when you're in the area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was here for Giants game Dec 2,3 and chose the Americana purely for price and location to the Metro and DCA Airport.
Unpretentious hotel where everything works - WI-FI , shower etc. If being in Arlington is neccessary and you don't plan on spending much time in your room - the Americana is fine.

Note; 'Juan' the maintenance man was both handy and very nice to deal with.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad you were able to enjoy our great value and convenient location, and will be sure to pass along your compliments to our entire team, especially Juan.

Since you ranked us only "average" compared to similar limited-service budget hotels, we would really appreciate hearing from you on what we could do to be among the best of affordable lodging options--we're always looking for ways to improve!

Thanks again, and we hope you can join us in 2013 as we celebrate 50 years of clean, comfortable, convenient, affordable, and friendly accommodations for D.C. travelers!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in November and were picked up promptly by the shuttle from the airport. The room we booked had been given away but they quickly upgraded us to a renovated King room with no fuss. The room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom dated but we knew all this when we booked.

We stayed here 4 nights for less than the price of 1 night in Singapore on the way home. So it really is a bargain. Close to the metro and restaurants on 23rd St where we had a couple of really good meals. The breakfast items of muffins & bagels aren't our usual fare but fruit and cereal were available along with coffee, tea and juice.

We found the staff polite but not overly friendly, I think it's nice to be greeted when we come back in after a day out but most times we were ignored. They just didn't seem to want to engage and us Aussies are a friendly lot.

Would we stay again? - You bet!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing a review! We're really glad you found our value, location, sleep quality, and cleanliness exceptional and will pass along your compliments to our entire team, along with the recommendation for our front desk staff to be more engaging and welcoming :-)

Thank again, and we hope to see you the next time you're in the area!

Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
2.4 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#11 of 52 in Arlington
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
3.7 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#42 of 52 in Arlington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $73 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing