We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to the other high priced hotels in the Crystal City area”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was attending a conference and the major hotels in the Crystal City area were all fully booked. I was fortunate enough to get a room at the Americana Hotel for about $50 a night less than the others. Americana looked like a 60s era motel with external corridors. It was aged but obviously very well maintained. The bathroom had porcelain fixtures. The floor tiles were gleaming and I could not find any dust in the corners. Always a good sign of good housekeeping. The window air condition gave out an artic blast. The wifi connection was strong and allowed me to do my work. Americana was also conveniently located a couple of blocks from the Metro station and within a few blocks from the other convention hotels and to restaurants. There is ample free outdoor parking. The hotel provides a continental breakfast which is simple but on par with other budget hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it! We're glad to hear you noticed the huge price difference between us and other area hotels and that you didn't find our accommodations or service lacking because of it. We'll pass along your kind words, particularly regarding our housekeeping and maintenance, to the rest of our team and hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is an immediate neighbour to such names as Sheraton, Hyatt, Hilton etc, in an area which has over 10 years gone upmarket in a big way. If you find it hard to be without the luxuries of these hotels the Americana is not for you. It is a basic but acceptable motel (free parking) which fulfils its motto as "the best rates in town". You won't find the frills but the room is a good size, beds are very comfortable, sheets crisp, towels OK. There is no guest computer but the front desk will print your boarding pass. There is no tea and coffee in room but there is always coffee and hot water available in the Foyer. The bathroom is old-fashioned with free standing washbasin/sink and nowhere to put toiletries. Cleaning is good as it is throughout the hotel. (Coffee someone had spilled in the lift was soon removed). The problem with the Americana is that it looks as though it is simply being left to run down without much investment in updating, for example furniture is worn and lighting is not particularly good in rooms. The Reception area could do with remodelling with a nice front desk and tidy appearance. And staff could smile! This would give the hotel a lift immediately. Disabled travellers would find difficult getting up the steps to the elevator. Hardboiled eggs would improve the carbs only for b/fast. There are plenty of eating places nearby at Crystal City and Pentagon City. We needed to travel to Dulles airport. The shuttle took is the the Metro at Reagan Airport where we boarded the train to Rosslyn and then changed to West Falls Church. From there the Washington Flyer (with dedicated carriageway when busy) will take you to the airport for $10. The whole journey takes about an hour and a quarter, but, the advantage is that this way there are no escalators or steps. You can do all the changes and up and down by elevator.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a very helpful review for other travelers! We're glad you found our accommodations comfortable and affordable. Regarding some of your suggestions for improvement, we agree with you and are doing what we can while simultaneously trying to keep our rates affordable. Here is a bit of information on some of the issues you mentioned:
*We are trying to find a good location for a guest computer / business center within our limited space.
*We actually do have coffee makers for all the rooms, but unfortunately we do not have enough electrical capacity to power them along with the lights, hair dryer, and air conditioner/heater without blowing the breaker, so they are in storage. We have been working with vendors to see what options we have to address this problem, but so far we haven't found anything we can afford.
*Our new deluxe rooms feature a granite topped vanity area with considerable storage space on the top and on shelves below, which we hope will help alleviate some of the issues with our classic bathrooms.
*The deluxe rooms also feature some updated furnishings and we are trying to do more as funds permit. We think many people would probably be surprised to know that one new room (including headboard, frame, mattress & box spring, bedding, night stands, lamps, artwork, draperies, carpet, vanity, desk, chairs, dresser, tv, etc.) easily costs $5,000 for commercial quality items and with 100 rooms, that turns into quite a big project! We promise to keep at it, though, and will always try to offer the best combination of accommodations, amenities, and price to provide the best value in the area.
*We have renovated our lobby quite a bit over the last few years with a refinished floor, new color scheme, new draperies, new furniture, new breakfast area, and new seating, which we hope you enjoyed, but we agree we still need to do something with the front desk and have it on our radar.
*Our apologies for any team members who weren't smiling. We'll remind them!
*We also apologize for difficulties for disabled guests. There were unfortunately not as many considerations in 1963 when we were constructed and we have problems because of it. We do have the elevator available to access the ground floor and our front desk are trained to be as helpful as possible to anyone needing additional accommodation, but for those guests needing ADA rooms and access, we unfortunately have to recommend selecting another lodging property in the area.
*Thank you for the suggestion of adding eggs to the breakfast. We too would like to have a larger offering, but without a kitchen, it is difficult for us to provide anything we cannot have delivered fresh. We will look into it, however, and you never know what you may see in the future!
*Thank you also for the great suggestions for local transportation. We second them.

We hope this has addressed some of your concerns and that you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for writing a review!

Warmest Regards,
Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located, 15 min by foot from Metro station, rooms are large and well equipped, altough old fashioned. the bathroom is clean and functional however could experience a renovation. the breakfast is good.. The price is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EGLERIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our great location and unbeatable rates, and will pass along your compliments to our team. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It's the best bargain you will find. The Crystal City Metro is less then 2 blocks away which makes it easy to get anywhere in the Washington DC area. They have a shuttle that picked us up and returned us to the airport. They also took us to restaurants. It runs until 11pm each night. The staff was very helpful. I will for sure be staying here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you SO much for staying with us and for your great review! We're glad to hear you found our combination of great location, helpful staff, free shuttle, and affordable prices to be the best bargain in the area and will pass along your kind words to the rest of our team. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Heres my feedback on our hotel
1) They have finally upgraded to the newer style of hotel locks with the Card Keys and deadbolts. 2) Breakfast is included but its cereal/ bagels / donuts but stocked and refilled.
3) The next upgrades need to be the bathrooms. Mine had a couple of broken tiles near the tub.
4) Beds are very comfortable. A/C felt great in the rooms. My TV was not that great of a pic but you are not there to watch TV.

We know that this is a budget hotel and that is all that we need. If you don't want luxury and can tolerate small rooms that may need some minor upgrades, this may be the place for you. All of the employees have been great.Showers have been fine. Its in a great location with a shuttle if you need it. I have stayed here a few times now and have not had an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tchoiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again and for writing another helpful review--we sincerely appreciate it and are glad you enjoy our accommodations as a budget option in a high priced area! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the upgrades we are making and look forward to your continued feedback as we try to improve even more. We'll pass along your suggestions for the bathrooms and the breakfast, as well as your compliments on the employees, showers, and location, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned yesterday from our trip to DC. We stayed here at the Americana Hotel for 5 nights. Like everyone says in the other reviews, it is dated. However, our room was very clean, comfortable, quiet, and the staff couldn't have been nicer and accommodating. The location is ideal, 1 block to the underground Crystal City shops and the Metro. It is a very safe area and we were comfortable walking any time of day. The Americana also provides a free shuttle service to places you want to go, including the 23rd street restaurant row, (about 8 blocks or so from the hotel) and, if you get too tired from walking, will even pick you up that 1 block away from the Metro. (helpful when it is raining!) Just call from the airport and they'll pick you up, and also take you back when its time to go home. We will definitely stay again, will also recommend to friends and family!! It was really hard to leave!

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise at all. It almost felt like we were the only ones there! See if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babykit1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate your kind words and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It makes everything we do seem worthwhile, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our entire team. We can't wait to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area and hope to see your family and friends here soon as well!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent several days there last week, and if you do not require assistance from the front desk, you'll do okay. I had asked to use the laundry one night and they said it was busy, but would call when it was available. I waited for three hours and fell asleep. The next several days, their bottled water machine ($1.00 per bottle) was not stocked and I had to purchase it down the street.

I accidentally left my sunglasses behind, When I called they said they would mail them back to me, but that never happened. I guess someone there needed them more than me.

Location was good, and if you just are seeking a back to basics motel like we were, then you should be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear you appreciated our convenient location and great value and apologize for the problems you experienced. We've addressed them with our staff in the hopes that we'll do better if you stay with us again. Thank you again for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $80 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing