We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the worry, Great Location”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I grew up in Northern VA and so I am familiar with the area and this was a great location! It was a weekend trip where we didn't have to drop a ton to stay a short walk from the metro. The exterior of the hotel is certainly dated, but the room and bed were perfectly fine. After a long day of walking the mall and different areas of DC, the bed was certainly comfortable. Beds are all about personal preference and we both enjoyed the comfort. The guy working in the afternoon/evening shift during the week (I think his name was Chris?) was also extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a safe area too, no issues in this part of Arlington/Crystal City. The shops being close are also a nice option to grab dinner when you are too tired to think. All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your amazing review! We're really glad you enjoyed your return to the D.C. area and that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to everyone on our team, especially Chris, and hope we can see you again the next time you're in the area. Thanks again for staying with us!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

First trip to Washington DC, and were very pleased by this hotel. It's not in a very attractive area, but its fairly close to the Metro, and there are lots of shops under crystal city for most of your needs. Took a bit to find our way around and locate everything, but once done we realized it has all you could ask for.
Room was clean and well cared for, don't let the 60's look throw you off, it actually works once you adjust to it. Ran into some other clients that were staying for longer stays (one girl was house hunting) so looks like its good for those needing longer stays too. The pink bathroom took some getting used to though, we just chalked it up to the "ambiance" of a 60's hotel. No microwaves available in room, but they do have the bar fridge, and there is a small kitchen in the lobby.
Staff isn't the most friendly, but did provide all the help we needed when asked. Just don't expect happy smiles from front desk on your way to the sights.
I do recommend booking direct, we found like a lot of others that it is cheaper then using the online places like hotels.com.
All in all its a good stay for a fair price. Not a Holiday inn, but a long way from a dive...

Room Tip: Elevator on west side closes between 6pm and 6am, lobby elevator always active.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otterpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review! We're glad to hear you were pleased by the hotel and enjoyed our clean rooms, convenient location, and fair prices. We apologize for any unfriendliness from our front desk staff and have reminded them of the importance of being there 100% for our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to see you the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights there, over the Labor Day weekend. Comfortable bed, clean, comfortable room, FREE parking, friendly staff, shuttle service, great location, nice FREE continental breakfast - with fresh muffins, donuts, and bagels, as well as several cereals, juice, milk, coffee and tea. A great bargain AND a comfortable, safe place to stay. Short Metro ride into the city. Lots of reasonable restaurants a short shuttle ride - less than I mile - away. All this for a fantastic price - which would be reasonable in any city, but a great bargain this close to D.C.!

Room Tip: We booked via the Americana's own internet site and got a fantastic senior citizen rate, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you letting others know what to expect at Americana Hotel. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of our team and can't wait to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a long-time resident of the DC area returning for a new job, I wanted to give the Americana a try. For the rate, very well worth it. Clean rooms, well-located relative to the Metro, and at a great rate. I booked direct, since I'm not sure how well the hotel shows up on travel booking sites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Welcome back to the DC area! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll keep us in mind whenever making a recommendation to family and friends. Best of luck in your new job!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in August while touring DC. Free parking, internet, clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds, etc. What more could you ask for? For the price, you can't get much better. Also, the shuttle service was great. Took us to the Crystal city mall where the metro station and tour bus station was located. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood as well. We had one awesome shuttle driver while there. I wish I knew his name, but he was really friendly with lots of tips and help. He offered his service and advice on anything with his awesome Virginia accent! His slightest tips made a difference on our trip and we are great-full.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a review about your stay! We're really glad to hear you appreciated our great value and friendly service, and we will definitely pass along your compliments to our entire team--especially the shuttle driver. We hope to see you the next time you're in the DC area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.It is older but it is very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, there is free parking and wifi, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked, it is near a metro station,and the complimentary breakfast is satisfying. We traveled as a family and occupied three rooms. Everyone was satisfied with the accommodations. Crystal City is a short ride on the Metro to DC. The Crystal City Metro stop is in a mall. We found that to be very convenient. We tried one of the restaurants. The food was good and the prices were reasonable.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and are glad to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient location, and valuable free amenities! We love having small groups, especially families, and are honored you chose to stay with us while visiting Washington, D.C. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area!

Warm Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

They say don't judge a book by its cover. This is true of the American Hotel. My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in July, The hotel is very clean. Free Parking, Free Breakfast and Free transportation is fantastic. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The outside of the building does need some updating but the inside was great! The metro station is only about 2 blocks away. We went in though the Marriott which is a great short cut.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tabitha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

We really appreciate you giving us a try and are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your stay! Although we are an older property, we do our best to keep everything very clean and serviceable and are glad you found it that way. We'll pass along your kind words to the rest of our team and hope to see you the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#25 of 52 in Arlington
463 reviews
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#30 of 52 in Arlington
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $71 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing