We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good aspects, some bad aspects...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some good aspects, some bad aspects...”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good:

1. Location: You didn't need to go outside to get to the Metro stop; the Crystal City Metro is located on the Blue and Yellow lines. This was great after a long day; you could take the elevator from the Metro level all the way to the room (Don't worry about random people being allowed into the hotel - you need a room key to access the elevators from 7 PM to 7 AM).
The Crystal City area is also great if you visit Washington during the weekday; there are many great restaurants that are open that cater to the business clientele of Crystal City.

2. Rooms: Very clean, the beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked very well

3. Lobby: very sleek and modern (even though it's a bit small)

4. Service in the lobby: Although there was no concierge, the front desk staff was very helpful with directions, airport information, and luggage information.

5. Price: for just $119, we received breakfast for two, free wi-fi, and a late checkout of 2 PM.

Bad:

1. Breakfast: although the breakfast was included in the room rate, you had to use the buffet breakfast. The buffet was not very good; the hot food was somewhat cold and the cereals, breads, fruit, etc. did not seem fresh. Furthermore, the wait staff at the restaurant downstairs were rude.

2. Airport shuttle: on the way to the airport, the hotel has to stop at 3-4 other Marriott property hotels in the area. This was not announced to us, and we had to rush to catch our flight. The shuttles run every 20 minutes.

3. Lack of shops in Crystal City: they advertise Crystal City as a wonderful shopping hub; however, it is just an indoor strip mall. There are a lot of doctor's offices and beauty salons, but not mainstream retail stores like in Pentagon City.

4. Lack of a bathroom on the lobby floor: There was no bathroom on the lobby floor; instead, you had to take the elevator to the conference/mezzanine floor to use the restrooms, which was a bit annoying.

5. Lack of Metro service on weekends: Although this is not the hotel's fault, it certainly influences where one should stay. During the weekends, the metro trains to and from the DC suburbs are much more limited, so choose your Washington DC Marriott hotel wisely.

TO SUM UP...

If you are a business traveler in Crystal City for the week, a family who is looking for an affordable hotel close to Washington DC, or someone who does not mind sacrificing quite a bit to save some cash, then the Crystal City Marriott is for you. This hotel is not good for weekend travelers or travelers who need to reach Washington DC quickly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cabo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    364
    130
    38
    22
See reviews for
239
134
76
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Spent 3 nights here for a conference & would seriously consider staying here for pleasure next time I visit the DC area. Hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to/from Reagan Washington National Airport every 20 minutes. Front Desk staff courteous & professional-checkin was a breeze. Despite the hotel's location in a busy metropolitan area, my 5th floor room was quiet-no noise from traffic below nor was there any noise from from adjacent rooms. Hotel appears to be family friendly- I noted several families with kids of varying ages who seemed to be having a good time whether they were sightseeing or hanging out at the indoor pool. The hotel recently underwent a major renovation so everything is fresh & clean. My room was immaculate, wonderfully comfortable bedding, air conditioning worked well though a bit noisy. Not much of a bother-I slept well. Bathroom small compared to similar properties but clean. Hotel just a couple blocks from the Crystal City Rapid Transit Station-perfect for catching the "Blue Line" to Arlington National Cemetery & National Mall. Hotel has "Happy Hour" with some pretty good specials on drinks & light food fare. Didn't have dinner in the hotel but there are great restaurant choices within walking distance from the hotel. Try "Legal Seafood", the "Sports Bar" or the Thai restaurant just 2-3 blocks away. Arlington is a great value access point for the DC area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vineyardchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I just checked out after a wonderful three-day stay for work. This hotel is very nice for the business or leisure travelers. The service and rooms were exactly what I expected on all levels. This Crystal Gateway Marriott is centrally located to the Metro and many shops/restaurants.

The hotel surprised me the last night by sending up a very nice piece of cake, milk, and birthday card signed by the staff. The lady checking me in noticed from my ID that my birthday was later on in the week. She mentioned it but I had no idea about the surprise. This was truly a touch of class and the tray was even decorated.

You really can’t go wrong at this hotel. The pool and gym area are not as elaborate as other Marriott’s I’ve been at, but that isn’t a deal breaker. Having direct access to the Metro and places to eat is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Crystal City Marriott for 4 nights 5 days in July. The room was very clean. It was the middle of a horrible heat wave and the AC worked perfectly. We had a roll away bed and were not charged extra for it. The pool area was great. Very large pool, we pretty much had it to ourselves Monday-Wednesday. There wasn't a crowd until Thursday. Best part of the hotel is that is lies above an underground shopping/restaurant system. It takes about 5 minutes to get to the metro and then you can go anywhere through D.C. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a family or even a couple going to visit the D.C. area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badapple71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I love it when you check in and you are treated like the only guest at the hotel! I had GREAT service from the moment I arrived until I checked out. The entire staff was courteous and professional, and exceeded my expectations. The room was clean and very comfortable. This was one of my best business trips -- accomodations included!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have stayed at Many hotels before but this one was pretty bad. We stayed for 4 nights and during that time the Lobby printers were not working, the guest laundry washing machines were out of order and the dryers never got hot enough to dry clothes. I bought a juice from the Bistro and it was expired and tasted awful. They gave me a refund but were not kind in the process. The internet was not reliable. The room service was early on some days and late on other days.
When I checked out I asked to speak to a manager and they said they didnt have one available to talk to me. I personally didnt believe this because any self-respecting hotel always has managers ready to help. When I told the front desk about my problems, they simply smiled and did nothing to help solve this issue. I am not the type of person to start yelling and cursing but I can see where someone in my shoes might feel the need to do so in this situation. I felt totally dismissed. There are other options close by, find a better place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asdfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the Crystal City Marriott for our family vacation to D.C. in July 2011. We were able to get a great last minute rate which was awesome. We drove to D.C. so we were not sure exactly when we were going to arrive. I called the hotel on the way and they were very accomadating in getting our room ready for an early check in. When we arrived the front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was ready right away and we were able to drop off our bags and head right into the city. The Metro is a short walk in a tunnel/ mall area underneath the hotel. It was very easy to access! The pool stays open until 11:00pm so we were able to come back and swim before going to bed. There is also a lifeguard on duty. The next day, we left a note for the maid saying that we needed an extra towel. When we came back we had four more! Every one we encountered in the hotel was very friendly, including the other guests. This must be a reflection of the staff's friendliness. This was a great hotel and we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We booked our room the weekend before and the Marriott website gave us the same deal other websites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#16 of 51 in Arlington
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Property: Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Address: 1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#21 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy style and substance at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport. Our hotel is conveniently located in Arlington, VA - near the attractions of downtown Washington, as well as shopping at Pentagon City. We're also a short walk from the Crystal City Metro station. Our well-appointed rooms and suites are ready to meet the needs of today's travelers, with wired and wireless Internet, Marriott's Plug-In technology panels, and evening turndown service. Soundproof windows and deluxe bedding in every hotel room ensure a peaceful night's sleep here in Arlington. Hosting an event in Northern Virginia? Our hotel features almost 10,000 square feet of meeting space, including the delightful Potomac Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 400 guests. Last but not least, our knowledgeable and intuitive staff is on hand to assist you with anything you might need during your Arlington, VA visit. Book your stay at the Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, and enjoy an innovative blend of work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Marriott At Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing