We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's To The Third

Ray's To The Third
Ranked #62 of 834 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped at Ray's after visiting Arlington National Cemetery and the Pentagon. There was a short wait during the lunch rush and we were seated within 10 minutes. The burgers we ordered were outstanding, as were the fried chicken strips/breasts we ordered for our son. Everything was prepared very well and the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    196
    83
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
632 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Free fries-what else do you need to know?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went here with all the hype and was surprised that it was very very good. The pepper coated burger had a zing to it and the quality of the meat was top notch. the free fries is a nice gimmick but they are not as good as the burgers.

Also-trip advisor---change picture at top of review . the place moved across the street and is now Rays Hellburger #3

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Even better than the old Hell Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Like many of the locals I was shocked when Ray's Hell Burger closed its doors. Not to worry, Ray's to the Third combines the best of Hell Burger and Steaks in one improved location. Still the best burgers I've ever had and now with unlimited fries and an expanded milkshake offering, in an improved environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaPeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“For burgers, this is the best place to go in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There are millions (OK, well certainly hundreds) of burger joints in the DC area that range from fast food to high end, super-pricey. Rays has high end gourmet burgers at a reasonable price, but be prepared for lines out the door and, if you go during high dinner times it will be hard to find a place to sit down, so be prepared to get it "to go". Thank god, they now have "mini" burgers of the fully sized behemoths that they are known for. I just cannot eat a GIANT burger any more and the "mini" burgers are about the size of a normal hamburger (not a slider, but more like a Whopper or Big Mac size). The variety of sauces and condiments you can have on the burger is fantastic and they have a reasonably large number of "signature" burgers, like one with blue cheese and some kind of sauce, another that is hot, hot, hot with chilis and i don't know what else. The burger is ground there in the store and is very high quality meat. I always wonder if it might be from the rest of the cow that is not steak (seeing as Ray's has a steakhouse just a block away). I'm good with that. Good beef is good beef. They give a nod to some upscale sides, like fried sweet potatoes, but also have the standard fries which are good, but nothing you can't get anywhere else like Five Guys. The best burger experience in the DC area by far. Hey, this is where President Obama too Vladimir Putin for the "burger summit" a number of years ago. Barack knows his burger!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Juicy Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Some great burgers and side dishes. Love the better atmosphere from Ray' Hell Burger which is gross and greasy. This is a much better atmosphere to enjoy a really super hamburger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmanhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's To The Third also viewed

 

Been to Ray's To The Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing