We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delicious Burgers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's To The Third

Ray's To The Third
Ranked #58 of 840 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This restaurant is a little hole-in-the-wall place but boy do they know how to make a delicious burger. The burgers were juicy, flavorful and cooked to order, the topping selection was great, and the sides (fries & onion rings) were crispy. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    199
    86
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“philly cheesesteak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I went there for a cheesesteak since I am from philly it was ok needs good bread like in phila jersey and ny

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
278 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Burger the Way You Want It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My son and I were in DC on business and had heard of Ray's Hell Burger, so after a meeting with a client up the street we decided to try it out. First we got to where it was supposed to be, but the building was empty and for rent. Luckily we saw it down the hill and on the other side of the street. It's moved to 1650 Wilson Blvd, so you'll find it there. You can order your burgers cooked in different ways. You can select what you want on your burgers from a wide variety of greetings. I believe whatever you choose, you will love. My burger was very large (10 oz) and very tasty. They also have a smaller burger if you aren't as hungry. The skin on fries were also great. You can also get sweet potato fries and others. If you are in Arlington and like burgers, this is the place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mmmm......bison burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ray's III encompasses all three Ray's options into one, especially now as the cheesesteak and burger joints across the street are temporarily closed I guess? You can choose from the steakhouse options or grab a burger or cheesteak. I opted for a bison burger which was pretty good. There are many burgers to choose from from regular beef to bison with several different toppings and sauces. I also started off with the seafood crab cakes which had a mixture of lobster, crab, and shrimp. Everything I had here was delicious and the service was pretty good. I hear the fried chicken is good as well, but didn't get to try maybe next time as I would definitely head back here again when in the Arlington area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLGAPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scouseville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great burger joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's no wonder that Pres. Obama took Vladimir Putin here for lunch couple years ago! The quality of the burgers was sublime, and the beef itself was absolutely first class. I was a little confused about how to order at the beginning, however I didn't get my food ordered and delivered to my table. I was lucky enough to find somewhere to sit as it is a small place, especially during the winter when the patio isn't open.

There's a map on the wall showing what nations people have come from and eaten at this burger joint. It is amazing to see! And it is no wonder that they come here, based on the quality of food. I would highly recommend that you make a stop here when in DC or Virginia - treat yourself to a little unhealthy food, but at least you know it's the best around!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grouse4scouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's To The Third also viewed

 

Been to Ray's To The Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing