We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hilton but 'by' the airport, not 'at' it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
RI, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical Hilton but 'by' the airport, not 'at' it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's a few minute shuttle ride to airport. (If there is a way to walk to and from airport, it is not apparent.) There is a Chili's, Legal Seafood and a few non-chain restaurants across the street and a7/11 a stone's throw away. Other than that, the whole area (Crystal City) is pretty dead at night. Hotel is modern, clean and near Metro (but there are others closer). Front desk staff was very helpful. Bathroom in my room was small but fine for 1. Housekeeping will greet you with a friendly hello.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    280
    126
    64
    30
See reviews for
137
101
51
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A two night stay for a conference at a nearby venue (the Hyatt Regency). The walk each day was not far (about five minutes along a quiet street). The area is filled with all manner of restaurants and some shopping too, with a metro station nearby for trips across the Potomac. The room was clean and comfortable with the usual Hilton amenities (wifi was fast too). There is an indoor pool, so be sure to bring swimwear. I was grateful to have access to the executive lounge where a buffet breakfast was served daily and evening canapes some evenings. Most importantly, the staff throughout shone - from check-in, to bar/restaurant/lounge, to housekeeping, there wasn't a single interaction that didn't leave me feeling happier. There are dozens of hotels in this area. I have stayed at three of them, but this one is my favourite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederickoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This is an older property that has been renovated, but still has some issues that prevent it from being really comfortable. The (new, I think) lobby is very bright and very loud, even at 6 am when there is practically no one in it. My room was large, but contained an old ugly uncomfortable sleeper sofa, clearly left over from before the renovation - leaving no seating options besides the bed or the desk chair. As others have mentioned the heat/air system is a wall unit, which was very loud. I have mold and dust allergies and sneezed and coughed whenever I was in the room - not sure whether it was the heating unit or the old couch. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

The staff was friendly, although not incredibly competent - I requested a king room and got 2 doubles so had to switch, they put me on a floor with a huge group of unsupervised teenagers, the coffee in the room was only decaf, there was mass confusion between the bellman and the concierge trying to get a cab. No express checkout.

All in all, it wasn't the worst place I've stayed - but certainly wasn't great either.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold B, General Manager at Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Kathleen42:

Thank you for taking time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport. We appreciate your feedback.

While your stay was acceptable, I am very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Our goal is to provide the highest levels of service to our valued guests.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance during a future visit to the DC area. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with arrangements. I know that we can provide the level of service that you seek during your next stay.

Safe travels,

Harold Bassler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stay was good, Stayed in Rm 528 this past week, staff at the front desk went out of their way to fix a problem I had making my experience very pleasant. Close to Metro and downtown D/C, would suggest taking metro and avoiding any tours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJL1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold B, General Manager at Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear JJL1016:

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport. We sincerely appreciate the feedback from our guests as we continue to focus on improving our product and service levels.

I really appreciated your comments on our front office team. They are a great group of talented individuals who truly enjoy interacting with visitors to the DC area.

Thank you again for your post and we hope to see you again very soon!

Safe travels,

Harold Bassler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Crystal City recently as it was in a convenient location for my business. I was met by friendly and helpful staff and check in and out was efficient. Colleagues who had stayed before were impressed by the public rooms uplift and the bar / café area is welcoming.

The rooms are still a bit dreary. Admittedly this was not helped by the weather which was grey, very wet as well as during the government shutdown which brought an Orwellian feel to the city. None of which the hotel could do anything about. However the air conditioning units are very old and noisy which does significantly affect sleep quality. The showers are timid and the swimming pool only for the hardy, as cold and uninviting. The breakfast was average with bread being very sweet and eggs overcooked.

As a HHonors gold member I was invited to the fortnightly 'Tuesday reception' which was excellent. Good food and plenty of complimentary drinks. The event manager Michelle deserves a special mention as she was the 'hostess with the mostess'. I would stay here again and feel they are on the way to achieving the expected Hilton Standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcmjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold B, General Manager at Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear MCMJones:

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Crystal City. We do value the feedback from our guests as it allows us to focus on service and product improvement.

Thank you for the great comments on your stay. I was pleased to read that you were able to join in on our regular Hilton HHonors receptions. Michelle is indeed a personality and I will be sure to recognize her for your comments.

You did visit the area during a very trying time and your description certainly hits the mark. The shut down was a difficult time for the city. I do apologize that you ran into a few issues during your stay. Our recent renovations have brought many improvements to the hotel.

Thank you again for your post and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Safe travels,

Harold Bassler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was in town for business in D.C. and this Hilton was a great stay. Clean rooms, quick airport pickup, and first class customer service. I even forgot my iPhone charger and the night manager let me borrow her personal one until the morning! Will stay again if I come back into town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianIellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendota heights, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Staff was wonderful and helpful in everything we did. We used the laundry service and room service, it was fast, with great quality. Great location with restaurants and almost everything you would need is nearby. Very enjoyable visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Weston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport

Property: Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
Address: 2399 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
#25 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Reagan National Airport (DCA), the Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport hotel is 10 minutes from downtown Washington DC in Arlington, VA. Nearby Crystal City Metro station is your best bet to visit National Monuments, Government Agencies and Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Crystal City At Washington Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Hilton Hotel Arlington
Hilton Arlington
Arlington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing