We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Crab cakes great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet

Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet
Ranked #76 of 850 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glebe
Transit: Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.
Description: Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Crab cakes great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Delightful earl evening visit. Beef sliders, Brie with wild honey, crab cakes , phyllo and wild mushrooms. All delicious .

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toms73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA, USA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place for wine and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great little place in Ballston. The decor and arrangement are a nice compromise between Europe and the U.S. The Moularde Breast of Duck (cooked medium) is fantastic, and following that with the wild mushroom strudel made the meal just about perfect. The jumbo lump crab cakes and Mediterranean Medley salad got great reviews from my friend. The "World of Red" wine flight is highly recommended, but you'll have to see the current menu at the restaurant as the online menu is not up to date. Street parking is sparse, but you can park across the street at Ballston Mall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrific Food, Not Just Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This small restaurant in the Ballston area of Arlington has a small but diverse lunch menu. The service was swift and the crepes absolutely outstanding. I had a chicken and mushroom one and my wife a Veggie crepe. Both were terrific. There are lots of choices besides crepes which looked equally good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food/wine, not terribly big or intimate though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is very nice for a little bistro, so don't expect a large, romantic restaurant setting here. It is very much a trendy little place to enjoy a glass after work or a casual dinner, but not some place I would say you would bring a Valentine's date or an anniversary dinner, etc. It's a good distance from a very casual place, but just far away enough from a more business casual place that you can roll in wearing jeans and a button down and fit in. The food was terrific, the roasted chicken was very tender. Did not come with just about anything as a side, aside from a few tiny pieces of potatoes. The menu is short, but good quality options. The waitress was very attentive, pouring our wine and checking on us. Otherwise, was not blown away by service. Not bad, just not wowed. I'd return again if I was in the area, but would not likely make the 40 min drive towards the city again just for the purpose of eating there. It could be bigger, with less noise (tables are close together in a small space, and near an actual wine bar in addition to the gourmet shop). Overall, a very good experience, just not what I expected for some reason.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun Wine Flights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have been here a couple of times for our "date night" and we love it. Great flights of wine offered, lots of interesting beers for him, and friendly service. They don't mind that we play cribbage for a while and chat. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Belle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing