We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ballston
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
chico,ca
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I can't see why this hotel rated so poorly. Cheaper than most of the hotels in the area. Free parking and internet. The location is Ballston, across the river from DC, hwy intersection, near the mall and in a safe area. Metro is about a mile away, but the bus stop is ajacent. A 50+ vintage renovated and clean. Pick a courtyard room (over parking lot but quieter).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catravlerChico_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    165
    59
    22
    16
See reviews for
169
54
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monee, Illinois
Level Contributor
385 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I stayed here for two nights (May 23rd and 24th) and the hotel was great. The location is great, only about 4 miles from all the major DC attractions. Free above and below parking. My room was warm and inviting and included a mini fridge and microwave. The bed was super comfortable. A free simple continental breakfast which has waffles, fruit, breads, etc is included. I didn't have any problems here and enjoyed my stay. An Indian restaurant is located on the property as well and was a very good choice to eat at. Across the street is a gas station with all kinds of snacks and alcohol available. About 6 blocks down are other different restaurants and a shopping mall. The area is safe too. I paid $89.00 a night and would gladly stay here again when visiting DC.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We had a nice room facing a quiet courtyard. Others face noisy street so ask for a quiet one. It's half a mile to Metro station, shops & restaurants which is a drag if you have to do it too often.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackheart_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Me and my 3 daughters recently stayed at Comfort Inn Ballston. I found the rooms spotless. I loved the inside access to rooms. Great free parking, good breakfast, loved the waffle maker. We felt safe in this location. Free Micro and Fridge on request. Staff was very helpful. About 1/2 mile to Metro, we drove to Mall and parked in garage, only $1.00 to park all day, the garage had security, and felt safe, only a short metro ride into DC. This was a great motel, with a great price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stedbo2
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

The Comfort Inn Ballston is a good choice for someone who is looking to save money but still be in a good location. The hotel was much better than I thought it was going to be. The lobby, hallways and rooms were decorated nicely and were generally clean. The hotel had lots of free parking. The breakfast was decent with a wafflemaker, toast, english muffins, whole fruit, cereal, oatmeal and hard-boiled eggs. The few pitfalls were an iron mark in the carpeting, the rooms having full sized beds instead of queen sized ones and a missing ring on the shower curtain rod so that the shower curtain did not close completely. Another pitfall is that that the one door from the stairwell to the outside had to be pushed closed. If people didn't push it closed then anyone would be able to walk up the stairs into the hotel without having to go past the watchful eye of the front desk. Overall, the Comfort Inn is a good deal for the rest of us who want to stay in Arlington, but can't afford the high prices of similarly located hotels.

  • Liked — Good value for what you pay, updated decor
  • Disliked — The full size beds
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stedbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed their for business for 20 days and paid for 11 people in 7 rooms. Did not get any help or discount for that. The General Manager was arrogant and rude. Rest of the staff ok, the best are the Arabs on night shift. Rooms not cleaned very well and many days only at noon or later. Small space for lobby seating because of big rental car counter. Rented several times the conference room, always had ask repeatedly for water and ice. Myself or others got stuck almost daily several times in the elevator, which was never repaired over the whole period. Since they are almost always fully booked, they can afford to give minimal service.An advantage is plenty of free parking.

  • Liked — free parking
  • Disliked — poor service, lack of cleanlines
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HilmarZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Card key would not work to different rooms. Programming problems. Clerk was clueless on what to do. Comfort Inn corporate was not helpful. Hard to believe they do not a manual override (like a real key) to let people in rooms. Have waited over an hour after arriving at 2:30 am. and a long day traveling from the west coast. Still waiting at 4 a.m. as I write this. Horrible experience.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank tborr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#28 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#9 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Pentagon City
Comfort Inn Pentagon City
#41 of 50 in Arlington
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
2.3 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Property: Comfort Inn Ballston
Address: 1211 N Glebe Rd, Arlington, VA 22201-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing